We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard to your Saves list
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #81 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel - clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stay in Amsterdam on business regularly- this hotel is modern, with comfortable beds and good sized rooms. Breakfast is always fresh and well stocked. Staff are friendly and helpful. There is no food in the evening but there are plenty of restaurants within a 5 minute walk so not an issue.
Would recommend for both business and pleasure( there are trains to the centre next to the hotel)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your recent comments and your reccommendation! We always strive for the best service and facilities, and your feedback really motivates my team in keeping doing so! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    224
    74
    17
    12
See reviews for
106
156
20
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went for city break with group of friends. We been staying in hotel for two days. When we arrive they gave us room on the ground floor, instead of request for higher floor. We ask Reception staff if there is available room on higher floor and we receive rude answer that hotel is full. It was 9am when we arrive. As we arrive to meet friends and enjoy time in Amsterdam we didn't complaint anymore first day. In second morning we decided to enjoy our breaksfast instead of that we found dry and cold bacon, and there was no any eggs or sausages. Rest of the breakfast was ok.

Hotel is located near by Underground and overground station, easy access to public transport.

Overall, i wouldnt recommend hotel at all, but if you are in city break and using hotel just for sleep, then it is ok. Price for hotel was quite normal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience on TripAdvisor. As I would love to receive more feedback regarind the attitutde of my team, I have sent you a private message.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as were attending the mtv awards. The standard of the rooms was very good. Clean and modern with a large open plan shower complete with toiletries. We stayed on the 1st floor, our room over looked the breakfast area which was very busy.

Only 1 small negative with the room was that it was only half cleaned. There were still dirty cups floor towel and the coffee hadnt been replenished.

There was a good selection of both hot and continental breakfast, though the coffee came via a vending machine and wasnt very nice. it had also run out of milk... so no latte for me!

The hotel is in the arena area very close to the station, ziggo dome and concert hall. It cost us 4.80 euro return into central amsterdam. There are bars and food halls about.

All in all though very reasonably priced I definitely recommend a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
I am thankful for the fact that you have shared your feedback with us. I am sorry that your room was not cleaned the way you can expect from us! I do hope you will consider us booking the next stay you are in Amsterdam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

this stay was for us a weekend away from home … close by … 10 min from here

hotel: very new
room: clean / great beds / big windows floor to ceiling / nice view
shower: not so great … not a strong or wide water shower…

breakfast:
generally…nice breakfast … but we thought it was a DISASTER !!!
the hotel was fully booked and hardly no breakfast staff …
even 1 girl from reception was helping out ...
this was really unprofessional: … no clean tables / there was no bread / people were waiting for bread and coffee and eggs / bacon was not as bacon should be …scrimpy ! …..the staff was not working very hard to clean the tables for other quests … they were doing this in there own paste so…..more staff …!!!!
( I think when you know your fully booked: get more staff !
not really Hilton standard we thought!!! )
also they told us at check in that the hotel was fully booked so come b4 or after a certain time for breakfast other wise it would be packed … so with this knowledge telling us they probably experienced this situation b4 …. so get more staff … it s that simple and think about ur guest experience … and so many people need a job!!!
TIP's for the management:
- Look at the Disney hotels around the world with hundreds of people having breakfast at the same time !!!
- get cars where guest or staff can put there breakfast stuff on once there ready when your fully booked
- or AGAIN get more staff …!!! really !!! don't say; because of staff cost …
we saw people angry and frustrated … not a great day as guest to start your day …
other than these 1,5 negative point… ( also the shower ) a REALLY A NICE HOTEL …

location:
- really close to train/metro/bus station 50 steps …
- close to cinema complex: Pathe Arena
- a local shopping centre
- music concert Halls
- soccer stadium: Ajax

Room Tip: definitely book it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I'll start by saying I'm a Hilton Diamond member. That just means I spend a lot of time in Hilton properties around the world and I think this may be the best Hampton Inn. I just don't give 5 stars because nothing is perfect but in its price class this is pretty darn good.

The hotel staff is superb, very friendly and willing to help. The hotel is clean and the rooms, while typically European small, are well appointed. The WiFi is free and speedy enough. I think this may be the best free chain hotel breakfast offerings I've experienced. While not cooked to order to is a fresh, full buffet. If Hilton's Hampton and Embassy Suite properties in the U.S. could perform as well, including their breakfasts, I would stay at Hilton properties more frequently then I already do.

A word about the location. If you are a first time tourist and dreaming of a locale in the middle of a quaint neighborhood this isn't it. The Arena area is a planned mixed use community of retail, entertainment and residential. But the hotel is literally across the street from the Bijlmer Area Metro station. #54 route brings you directly to Amsterdam central in about 15 minutes so it is convenient to all the things you will wish to see and do. There isn't much nightlife in the area I could see even on a Saturday night but I had a decent meal next door to the hotel in the Hoekenrode restaurant.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thanks so much for your great words! Looking forward welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Good points first, nice clean hotel , comfy beds.
Thats all !!
Bar was mobbed on Wednesday night, over 100 people....2 STAFF
over half an hour wait for a drink, the barman was slopping out used plastic glasses in the only sink full of dregs, detergent & dirty water, most glasses had a bit in the bottom when he poured half full glasses.
He then broke the beer attachment so no more beer could be poured.
Had to go to neighbouring restaurant to buy decent beer & bring back into hotel.
In the morning they had 6 STAFF on duty???
the place was dead, who organises?
there was a rude senior person on the night before & she blamed everything on her manager, whom she said was lazy & was never around when it was busy
LOYALTY??

Room Tip: stay here, but eat out
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor_van_der_Knaap, General Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you very much for reviewing your stay on TripAdvisor. I apologize for any inconvenience caused. With respect to safety rules and regulations we have decided to serve beverages in special glasses during footballgames instead of the Heineken glasses you might be used to. This is done with our best intentions to serve all our guests in the best way. I hope you will consider us again in the nearest future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard

Address: Hoekenrode 1, 1102 BR Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard 3*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of Amsterdam Zuidoost - the most dynamic entertainment area of Amsterdam, the Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Arena Boulevard hotel is within walking distance of the Amsterdam ArenA (home to AFC Ajax), The RAI Convention Centre, Ziggo Dome and one of the biggest IMAX cinemas in the Netherlands and many cosmopolitan restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.