We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every Euro!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norling Restaurant Amsterdam

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Reguliersdwarsstraat 23, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 6 14345433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,591 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $27
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Tibetan Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worth every Euro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Apart from the excellent location, Norling Restaurant's interior decor really compliments the modern and authentic Tibetan cuisine it had to offer. I was astound at how fresh and fast they prepare their meal from scratch. The dine in experiment made me feel at home- very comfortable and at ease. The staff were very friendly and helpful with the menu items. They seemed happy to explain food items from their menu. I would definitely go back because it worth every Euro!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    119
    20
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Holland Province, The Netherlands
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hi Norling. Thank you very,very much for your Delicious & Fresh food. and kind and nice service too.We really enjoyed our lunch at your restaurant. Your restuarant is at good loaction which is called City Centre easy to visit too. I also enjoyed beautiful and relax Tibean music as well as some parts of Tibetan traditional styles. That is amazing too. Good Luck Norling !
Surely we will see you again as soon.

Makesang with friends

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The service was really friendly and helpful, while the food was extensive, tasty and traditional. We were also told that the food was all made fresh on sight, so not even a spring roll was pre-prepared. Highly recommend!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Food was DELISH!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

While traveling across the world, my husband and I have tried many Tibetan food, but nothing like in Norling Restaurant in Amsterdam! The restaurant was very original, prices were affordable and the menu was versatile. Norling Restaurant has exceeded our expectations and the best part about it was the food was amazing and flavorful!!! Although we're traveling back to Switzerland tonight we will definitely stop by at the restaurant again in future. Thank you for a great service and the food. I strongly recommend it to all and go make a reservations early hand. Enjoy!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Do not trust other reviews, Norling is not what it seems.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We just recently returned from a trip to Amsterdam and wanted to eat out at a nice restaurant to round off eating so much fried foods. I was looking for something well regarded, fairly priced, and intriguing. None of us had tried Tibetan food before and Norling met all of our criteria. We were especially interested in the fact that they claim to use all fresh ingredients. So we made a reservation and went.

-We arrived and the restaurant was completely empty at 815pm in the middle of summer. Bad sign.

-We were intrigued that the website does not list the menu as it alluded to a rotating or changing menu. Upon seeing the menu we realized the only reason it is not listed on their website is it has barely anything on it, it is very "normal asian" food, and in no way would intrigue someone interested in tibetan cuisine.

-We ordered 2 starters, spring rolls and dumplings. When they arrived it was plain to see that they were not homemade as indicated on their website. We received 4 small waterlogged dumplings and 2 spring rolls.

-The main courses were acceptable, that is to say much better than what we expected from the appetizers. However, they still were fairly uninspired.

-I dont want to claim that the reviews for this restaurant are not "real," but I find it quite odd that there are so many absolutely RAVE reviews for this restaurant with the experience we had.

-I will give them credit as their website is great in terms of advertising the type of restaurant they want to be, but are not.

In short...avoid going here. Seriously, it is not worth your time or money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norling Restaurant Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.