We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Satisfaction” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norling Restaurant Amsterdam

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Reguliersdwarsstraat 23, 1017 BJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
+31 6 14345433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,580 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Asian, Diner, Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Tibetan Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“100% Satisfaction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Excellent variety, budget friendly, great flavors. Very friendly staff. Simple well decorated space but bold flavors abound. We walked by on the first pass down the small gay street, but we are glad we stopped in. Thank you ver much.....we will sure visit again....

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    133
    26
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were part of a large birthday celebration dinner at the Norling, and all thought that the food was superb. Most of the party opted for the experience banquet (our waiter explained the set up prior to us ordering along with the history of the restaurant), and the amount of food served was plenty!
Vegetarians are well catered for (having spent a lot of time in Tibet, the food choice here was a very pleasant surprise), and the service and attention from our waiter was fantastic. Many big cities with mainly tourist trade (never to be served again) don't really bother, but everybody at Norlink made us fel very special, so we can only recommend it

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything was very good, but nothing was 5 stars, not sure about the uber high rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We fly in and out of Amsterdam a few times a year, and we love exploring the city for new restaurants.

On our last night, we narrowed our choices down to 3 restaurants in the top ten from Trip Advisor. Norling was the only place with a table available, so choice was made.

We had to wait 5-10 mins because the table wasnt ready(the previous party stayed later than anticipated). We waited outside, bit, chilly, but the owner brought out two glasses of vino (on the house!) and we were happy, no worries.

We had apps and curries, and a bottle of red. Everything was very good, nothing was bad or average. However, nothing was 5 star excellent. I would definitely go back, and I will try different items, and if they hit the mark then I will revise upwards! :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We loved everything about that place. The food was delicious and there was a lot of it in our portion. We only had to order one rice to share for the two of us and it still was more than enough. You could taste how fresh the ingredients were. I think it was said something about them priding themselves on that.
The waitress was such a nice girl. She was genuinely friendly and made a good food suggestion. Absolutely the best place to try Tibet cuisine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We tried the lamb curry, chicken curry and a side dish of lentil stew. The three were divine! The house wine is an award choice from 2011, delicious as well!
An amazing discovery you must try!
The inside is cosy and intimate, the service is very kind as well!
A MUST DO!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norling Restaurant Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.