We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Norling Restaurant Amsterdam

Norling Restaurant Amsterdam
Reguliersdwarsstraat 23, Amsterdam 1017 BJ, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)
+31 6 14345433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 2,231 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $20 - $41
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Rembrandtplein
Description: Please enjoy our simply delicious Tibetan Cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stopped by this place on a Sunday night with no reservation and were asked to wait about 20 minutes. We went to a nearby bar and came back about 30 minutes later and were seated straight away.

The service was great, and the chicken curry was really good. Certainly worth waiting for.

A meal for 2 with starters, mains and a couple of beers was only about 40 euro, and definitely worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    176
    75
    12
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Great staff. Great food. Great value. Would definitely reccomend this place to anyone visiting Amsterdam

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dry beef curry and small portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We looked for this place after seeing some really amazing reviews on Tripadvisor. Generally, we do our research online before finding a place to dine. 9 out of 10 times the reviews are very helpful and accurate. Unfortunately, the reviews of Norling were not the case, and were overrated.

The location and decor was great - easy to find, clean and nice atmosphere and music. The staff were generally friendly and very attentive.

The menu however was hit or miss. The main draw card - beef dumplings were succulent and juicy. But the vegetarian dumplings were very average and lacked flavour. Moreover, the beef curry was a huge disappointment. The meat was so dry that it was difficult to chew and required more drinking. The flavour of the curry sauce lacked complexity and the usual aromatic smell of spices. As a huge curry lover - this was not impressive. Finally the portions were quite small for the price tag.

Verdict? Try it if you want something different, but not a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Share Everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Everything is made fresh and you will want to share and try as many different dishes as possible. The vegetable dumplings were exceptional. Provide time as they make everything from scratch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, brilliant service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I had no idea what to expect from Tibetan cuisine but had read great reviews about this restaurant. I was not disappointed! The food was delicious (in my top 5 favourite meals of all time!), the service courteous and friendly and the atmosphere relaxed. I would highly recommend Norling.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norling Restaurant Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Norling Restaurant Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norling Restaurant Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.