We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic hotel with superb service! Very good location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Artistic hotel with superb service! Very good location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Wow, what a superb experience staying here! We stayed for 2 nights and could only say it's one of our best-loved hotels. The room is spacious with artistic furnishing! They actually provided FREE chips and nuts and a bottle of water in the room, how surprising in a big European city when everything costs a bunch! The check-in staff was extremely friendly, patient, courteous, and helpful. The bar had a amiable atmosphere, and we loved the decoration a lot, especially those giant stand lamps! The breakfast was tasty--they got chefs to cook for you on the spot, oh my god what can beat this? The indoor gym, swimming pool, and sauna just added extra sparks to this wonderful hotel.
The bathroom was quite spacious as well and came with a egg-shaped tub and a separate shower, the only thing that bothered me a bit was--there's no door for the toilet! I personally like some privacy while... anyways, it's just me.
Another plus is that this hotel is just across the train station, which is so convenient to get access to the transportation, restaurants, museums, everything!
However, in order to get a quieter room, you have to ask a room that's not facing the street, otherwise it's very likely to be bothered by the tram running on the street that chimed all the time...

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask a one that's NOT facing the street to avoid the noise from the tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Alex_Loves_Traveling,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very happy to hear that you loved your stay so much!

We are very appreciative about the tip you give to our future guests in terms of noise.

Come back and stay with us again, when you return to Amsterdam. We'd love to welcome you as our guest again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    82
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
189
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fortrose, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

if you are ever in Amsterdam for an overnighter or weekend, this hotel is a must. I'm writing this review and I haven't been her overnight yet.
From check in, to room inspection, impressive performance. I had to send room service away whilst I was soaking in the huge eggshell bath when they were trying to deliver a complimentary large goblet of brandy. Got it on second attempt- thank you Artotel!!
Dinner in dining room was unexpected - more an up market tapas offering rather than standard dinner.
I have not slept here yet but am sure the nights sleep will be great. NO noise from Centrum square.
Now my FAVORITE hotel

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Bryan S,

Wow, thank you so much for your kind words and pointing us out as your favorite hotel in town!

If ever you come back to Amsterdam, we'd love to welcome you as our guest again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in artotel early August for 2nights having stayed in the artotel in cologne Germany many times and I must say this was a far better hotel with much friendlier staff who helped us so much with parking,Restraunts and bars.the breakfast was lovely and the rooms wonderful and I even got a lovely elemis gift on my pillow each night and I can't wait to go back for my Xmas shopping in Amsterdam and definitely staying at the artotel..

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Shazimodo,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our concept so much!

We'd love to welcome you back in December when you will be here for some Christmas shopping.

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed here in March for our first time to Amsterdam. Hotel is very modern and has an alternative interior design. Staff were super friendly and rooms new and spacious with all mod cons.
Location is unbeatable, right opposite the train station, with everywhere in walking distance!
Must stay here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 20, 2014
Dear Chloe M,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved your stay so much!

If ever you are in the area again, come back and visit us.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Stayed at the Art early August 2014 and cannot praise the experience enough.

The staff were extremely professional, personable and attentive without being overly fussy.

The hotel itself was very contemporary but not cold, sculptures dotted around making one feel as if you were living within an art gallery, (without the hordes of people and the totalitarian benches of course).

The bedroom was superb, great view although the "iconic" term used by so many hotels today was slightly stretching the point. Bathroom was beautifully presented, modern, light and a choice of shower heads. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was the perfect size. The only downside was that I was unable to play my iPod as the multi media player was not operational for this function. I was supplied with speakers the next day but as I had emailed specifically about the availability of an iPod docking station, the fact it did not work did irk me.

The breakfast was fab, table service of course and I could not fault the OJ, eggs and so forth. The waiting staff were just so helpful, nothing was to much and they were an absolute pleasure.

Overall the experience was just so great, the hotel is beautiful in so many facets, the staff, the food, the ambience, the list goes on. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay at a hotel that does not need to strive but just attains near perfection.

Abbas

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Abbas,

Thank you for your kind words.
We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed every moment of your stay at our hotel.
Especially the modern arty twist with great service that we want to bring across.
Hopefully we will see you soon when you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I'm going to run out of adjectives to describe how great this place is! It would be 5/5 if not for a few small issues described later on.

Superb hotel, extremely trendy and very well decorated. Location is superb and offers near instant access to train station and trams. The room is tight but well though out with great toiletries, linen and coffee maker - aircon is very effective! The free breakfast is excellent - a choice of buffet and cooked items, free hot drinks and juices and a great start to the day. The fitness centre is bigger than pictures show, adequate pool, gym and sauna. The art and books throughout the hotel is a real joy.

Staff are knowledgable, agreeable and very friendly - I'm not sure I've ever been treated so well at a hotel. On my Birthday without any prompt or mention they delivered a free brownie and bottle of wine - really made the stay feel special.

The negatives and why it wasn't a 5* review; the noise. If you're staying street side then the constant noise from the trams is unrelenting - I didn't have a single decent nights sleep despite ear plugs. Noise between rooms travels far too easily too - paper thin walls. Likewise room keeping (whilst extremely friendly and polite) woke me up every day at 5am with banging and a cart was continually outside our room (as mentioned by other reviewers). Also only one bottle of water for a 3 night stay - for a 5* hotel offering free breakfast this would be a small cost for customer satisfaction.

I would definitely stay again but insist on a quieter room.

Room Tip: Don't go street side if you're anything but a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Alex,

Thank you for your extensive review.
We are happy that you felt special on your birthday and of course enjoyed the rest of your stay as well.
Sorry to hear that your night rest was not as expected.
Hopefully we can make this up to you when you return when you are around.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

I stayed at art 'hotel for two nights and enjoyed it immensely. Some very good food at 5&33, a great gym, and very friendly staff. Perfect location across from Central Station and walkable to most interesting spots in the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Park Plaza Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Nan,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your nights and dinner with us.
See you next time when you are around.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.