We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing from start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing from start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Staying here ended up being one of the best stays we have had around the world

Location: the location across from central station means it is so easy and cheap to get from the airport. Also an easy walk or tram ride to all areas of Amsterdam

Rooms: we just had a basic room which was still great, spacious, clean, quiet and well designed even though we were on lower level facing street. Room has connection panel which has become a necessity for me.

Restaurant: included breakfast doesn't have huge variety of choice however things they do have of high quality. You can also buy other things from the menu at a reasonable price. We ate dinner there one night and the tapas style menu was ok, unfortunately the service was very slow. The bar area is really cool, and we could also sit in the art gallery area to watch the football which was a nice touch.

Service: everyone we dealt with was super friendly

All in all an excellent stay we would definitely stay here again if in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Rhirhimelbourne

We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your stay so much!
Thank you for your kind words.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    85
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
196
15
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is situated very convenienty facing the central station. That ensures access to good public transport and bike rentals etc. The hotel is very well designed (modern) with great spacious rooms with all you would expect in this class of hotel. I loved the very nice bathroom with a large shower and plenty of space. The bar is very nice also with some good advice for cocktails or simply a beer. Nice indoor pool, good fitness and great sauna to relax after a day of walking or biking around the city. And a good desk to work at in case you have to. Only breakfast is not up to standards compared to other hotels of similar quality. Nice fresh omelettes on order but little other choice for the healh or gourmet breakfast fans.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamartotelamsterdam, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear AntwerpDirk,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our hotel facilities and staff so much.

We appreciate your feedback about the breakfast experience. We will use it for future improvements.

Come back and visit us again when you are in Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We are frequent travellers and used Carlson points for a weekend getaway. Worth noting most rooms don't have a bath. Additionally, the room we were given had a faulty fridge that made a very loud noise. We insisted on moving rooms - they tried to charge is an extra €150 for the privilege. The manager then spoke with us and they sort ed out a suitable room. The bar was nice but pool v small and taken over by children (it was a weekend so this is not surprising). Overall, great location, nice staff but highly stylised and maybe lacking a little substance. It will be interesting how it will look in a year or two...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Segbird,

Thank you for your review.

I regret to hear that you experienced a faulty fridge with loud noise while staying with us. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. I can imagine that being a frequent traveler that you are very well know with hospitality and great service. I hope that we were able to fix this issue before your departure?


If ever you travel back to the area, come and visit us again for sure!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

have stayed in Amsterdam several times in the past and have always been very impressed with the hotels. However, this was by far the best. Genuinely friendly and extremely helpful service; Great food; Wonderful rooms; Intriguing and unique decor. Have already booked our next stay.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the hustle and bustle of the station etc on the second floor and yet it wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear TheOutfit,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your time so much that you already have your next stay set up.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This is my partner and I first visit in Amsterdam. We have booked Art’otel Amsterdam after all those great reviews on Tripadvisor. I have to say that those ratings do not disappoint. Staff was extremely friendly from the reception to the valet. The location is right in front of Central Station, so easily accessible from the airport by train. Museum quarter is about 25 minutes of walk and Dam Square about 10. You have everything that you need around the corner, grocery, drugstore, shopping, restaurants and coffee shops. Breakfast in the morning is perfect and served in the chic 5&33 restaurant at the lobby. Furthermore, the hotel is attached to a gym including a sauna and gym, which is pretty practical since it seems it seems to rain often in Amsterdam. Overall, this hotel is a jewel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear ChangMtl,

It has been a while since your stay, but nevertheless we would like to thank you for your kind review.
We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the service and location of the hotel.
When you are back in the area we hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We started our European Vacation in Amsterdam and were fortunate enough to have booked the Art'otel - WOW - what an amazing place to stay. Right in the centre of town - 5 minutes from everything. The staff were outstanding - we arrived at 9 in the morning and even though check in was not till 2pm - they had a junior suite available for us - and what an amazing room it was - slick, cool, modern - it was crazy cool - we loved it. The conceirge were OUTSTANDING - they had that town covered and thanks to them - there was nothing that we missed out on…… we had 3 days in amsterdam and we packed it all in. I can't thank the team at Art'otel enough for being so friendly and making the start of our trip a fantastic one - HIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone looking for a very cool place to stay right in the heartbeat of this fun city. THANK YOU

Room Tip: our junior suite was AWESOME
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Kodyandko,

It has been while since your stay, but nevertheless we would like to thank you for your kind words.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and looking forward to welcome you back.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for a midweek trip for my birthday and was treated like royalty! Directly opposite Amsterdam Centraal Station it's a perfect location. (Trains run to and from the airport every 10mins and takes around 15mins, single fare was €4 per person). On arrival we were greeted with extremely friendly staff. As a surprise, I received a beautiful cake for my birthday via room service from the staff, which was amazing!! For the evening, we were offered complementary drinks from the residents bar, which every guest receives on arrival.

The room was very funky and comfortable, although very little time was spent here we did enjoy the space.

The fitness suite is great, quite a small gym, but has everything you need, including a Personal Trainer.

We dined in the restaurant on one night and it was a very lovely experience and atmosphere, the menu is in the style of tapas, which is nice for a change. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choice.

All in all, this is a fab hotel, which is in an excellent location. The staff are one of the friendliest I have come across, extremely helpful, cheerful, accommodating and genuinely lovely...a rare find these days. Highly recommended, we'll absolutely, definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Jonjefur,

Thank you for your kind words.
We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt special on your birthday.
When you are back in the area we hope to welcome you once again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.