We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel & Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel & Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed here for a midweek trip for my birthday and was treated like royalty! Directly opposite Amsterdam Centraal Station it's a perfect location. (Trains run to and from the airport every 10mins and takes around 15mins, single fare was €4 per person). On arrival we were greeted with extremely friendly staff. As a surprise, I received a beautiful cake for my birthday via room service from the staff, which was amazing!! For the evening, we were offered complementary drinks from the residents bar, which every guest receives on arrival.

The room was very funky and comfortable, although very little time was spent here we did enjoy the space.

The fitness suite is great, quite a small gym, but has everything you need, including a Personal Trainer.

We dined in the restaurant on one night and it was a very lovely experience and atmosphere, the menu is in the style of tapas, which is nice for a change. Breakfast was delicious with a wide variety of choice.

All in all, this is a fab hotel, which is in an excellent location. The staff are one of the friendliest I have come across, extremely helpful, cheerful, accommodating and genuinely lovely...a rare find these days. Highly recommended, we'll absolutely, definitely will be back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Jonjefur,

Thank you for your kind words.
We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt special on your birthday.
When you are back in the area we hope to welcome you once again.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    82
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
189
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

art'otel is described by it's name, it is fully designed with modern art pieces and the concept is that the whole hotel can act as an art gallery. each room has a an exclusive art piece and books related to it and the artists that did the hotel.
rooms are spacious and service is up to 5 star standards. quite unconventional and a new experience, from the room lighting sequences to the lobby and the sitting areas.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear K B,

Thank you for your review.
We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and its concept.
We look forward to welcome you back when you are around.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

So central its ridiculous.. Our room overlooked the canals and train station.. Tram stops very close... Everything inside the hotel is really nice-breakfasts are very very good. We'll stay here again !

Room Tip: Choose a corner room with balcony -totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear WWtraveller007,

Thank you for your kind words.
We've enjoyed reading how much you enjoyed your stay and the location of the hotel.
We look forward welcoming you back once you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Huge and stunning rooms, contemporary decor, excellent staff who are not too over-the-top or overly present, stunning views, incredible interiors and art everywhere. The only downside is the price but you get what you pay for. One of the best night's sleep I have ever had on a business trip, in one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept it. Definitely recommended and I will be back for my next work trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front for nice views. All have excellent sound insulation so you won't be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Dear Markyharry,

We are pleased to see you had such a good night sleep and that you enjoyed your time in our hotel. we look forward welcoming you again in the future.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

I've just enjoyed my first stay in an Art'otel and what a pleasant experience it was.
The staff were particularly impressive, the best I've ever encountered in my regular hotel visits. They were really friendly without being overbearing and extremely helpful.
I really like the artistic theme, there's been real imagination and creativity invested in developing something different.
It's not all style with no substance though, the food was very good and the location's excellent, just opposite the station. I'd love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear OBL69,

Thank you so much for your kind words. Wow what a great compliment to hear that you'd love to come back: you are always very welcome to come and stay with us!

Great to hear also that you thought our staff was very impressive: I could not agree more to be honest:)

If ever you travel back to the area, come and visit us again for sure!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Every member of the staff we interacted with genuinely wanted to help and was authentically kind and friendly. Every one. We slept in an missed breakfast. It was 2 p.m. ( it's vacation). We were kind of hung over and in the mood for eggs so the hostess in their sunny restaurant asked the chef if he would reopen all the breakfast foods. He said sure no problem and made us an awesome breakfast. When I asked where the gym was, the security guard insisted on giving me a personal tour. The gym is very good for a hotel and he was proud to show me around. Room service breakfast was included ( we got up on time the other 2 days). It was truly outstanding. The room was a very pleasing and functional contemporary design and the beds were comfortable. The location is dead center of the canal district. That means there are alot of tourists around but you have the best of the canal district at your doorstep. Art 'otel was one of the best hotels I have stayed at in my life. I am 50.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Markus99s,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you loved our service with a smile so much! Of course we want to make sure that you get everything you need when you need it most, for instance the late breakfast:).

If ever you travel back to the area, come and visit us again for sure!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A very good hotel right opposite Centraal Station.Though there are literally hundreds of hotels and hostels in the Centrum, this one is definitely classier than all others. I would recommend this hotel if the budget can stretch that far. The location is outstanding with walking distance to most places and the main tram and bus station right opposite.

Also a word of appreciation for the staff - They are very attentive and look after your needs very well indeed.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maaike S, Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Shankar V,

Thank you for your review.

Great to hear that you loved our staff so much. We can not agree more that they are all about exceeding expectations:)

If ever you travel back to the area, come and visit us again for sure!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.