We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“1 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Arrived early, able to check in but room not ready. They stored our luggage for us handed our welcome drink voucher and then text us when room was ready. Rooms very comfortable, though front facing towards Centraal on 1st floor meant road noise was noticeable. Tea/Coffee available, coffee in a nespresso-sque machine as a espresso shot. Bathroom was interesting/funky - blue mood lighting throughout. Don't peer too hard through the glass. Shower was great, option for normal or a rain shower - very relaxing. Only complaint, itty bitty towels. Though I note someone saying robe and slippers - we only had slippers, so perhaps our room wasn't "complete". We didn't ask, just made do.
Helpful staff at 5am though when I wanted to go to the gym and couldn't get in with the room card despite "24/7" status of gym.
Breakfast really good, cooked items on request which is nice

Room Tip: Higher floor likely means less noise from street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Megel,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

We appreciate your feedback very much in order to improve our standards.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    82
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
189
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived at the Artotel on April 11th and can honestly say all aspects of this hotel are just fantastic. The location is just across the road from Central Station, Amsterdam, and very central to all the City's attractions. The staff are always helpful and smiling. They are all very highly trained in the art of looking after you. The rooms are ultra modern and this hotel is worthy of its 5 star rating. As a room tip, ask for a room on the fourth floor as this is quieter. The full breakfast is superb with a great choice and is included in the room tariff. We are both looking forward to returning to this hotel in the future. Sue & Ian, London.

Room Tip: go for the iconic view rooms on the 4th floor if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Ian,

Thank you for your review and your kind words about the hotel staff that have the Art of looking after our guests!

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Excellent hotel in Amsterdam highly modern, with impeccable staff (exceptionally helpful and warm). The room and the bathroom are very elegant, stylish and comfortable. Coffee and tea making facilities, such as robe and slippers, were also provided in room. Perfect location, very close to the Central station

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Zvika H,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Expected far less than we got. Everything about this hotel exceeded our hopes. Supremely comfortable, clean and stylish. Staff were perfectly hospitable in every way. Location is fantastic, opposite the main train station.
They do take 75 euros a night to cover any extras, but it is a pending transaction and the difference, after local taxes which are unavoidable, was credited back two days after check out.
We will definitely be using this hotel again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Paul B,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Come back to visit us for another massive surprise whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Be aware noise from the live dj/music on Sat & Sun nights may effect your ability to sleep. Apart from that, all round very good. Staff were all pleasant, courteous and helpful. Check in was painless. Bar and restaurant staff knowledgable and efficient. Hotel rooms and general decor very modern, arty, but not prententious. Gym is well equipped and spacious for a city centre hotel. The breakfast included in the room prices was more than sufficient and always appeared freshly cooked or replenished on the buffet. Overall a very nice hotel, and had it not been for 2 late nights waiting for the music to finish would likely have been 5 stars - I would def recommend tnis hotel, especially if you want somewhere that is close to the train station, a little different from the norm and good value.

Room Tip: Request a room as far away from the bar to ensure a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear MRAW2011,

Thank you for your review and your kind words. Please accept our apologies for the noise disturbance.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

They say first impressions are everything: they were here. "Sorry, your room isn't ready" , the young lady said (it was after the check-in time). Some 45 minutes later, after the free drink they gave us, it still wasn't ready. Just our bad luck ? Well, maybe not, as we heard this refrain on more than one occasion as we passed through reception on other days. And when the room was finally ready, another young lady with a rather strained smile left us to take our own bags up to the room despite the fact that the previous guests were helped. The quiet room we had requested as we were staying for 5 nights turned out to be at the 'wrong' end of the corridor and right next to the lift shaft. The housekeeping theme continued into Day 2 and day 3: on Day 2 we returned to our room at 6pm: room not made up; on Day 3 it was around 5pm when we found them still making making up the room. As I said, managerial issues.
So you may be wondering why even three stars at this point ?? Well, the decor of the hotel is striking in the modern dark (=gloomy to some, perhaps) , dramatic fashion ( we stayed in a similar type of hotel in Barcelona) with large fibreglass sculptures although you may be a little troubled in the room , where form seems to triumph over function. What do I mean ? Well, in very liberated fashion, there is no bathroom door to close when you are sitting on the toilet and the smaller black cupboard doors in the passage outside can be hazardous if left open as they blend into their background worryingly well. And if you have small children and are not quite so liberated, you may need to think up a convincing explanation of the metallic (and completely undusted) sculpture above the bed.
The restaurant also had managerial issues: nobody seemed to be assigned to particular tables and during the same meal you might be served by three or four people, thus not knowing whether to repeat the same request or not (on one occasion the ordered dish never arrived at all) Nevertheless, the food was seriously good at times: breakfast dishes were well cooked and the hams and cheeses of fine quality. Dinner, with its small(ish)-plate tapas-like concept, was even better: try goat's cheese ravioli, ox cheeks, casereccia with veal ragu - you will not be disappointed , I promise. The bar and sitting area are also very pleasant albeit with the same haphazard service.
The location near the station is ultra-convenient if you want to use the trains (which are cheap and punctual !!) but it is a fairly long but very pleasant walk down the canals to the museum quarter. The staff are (almost) uniformly very friendly and would do even better with a little more organisation. A hotel has to be able to deal with busy times.

Room Tip: at the far end of the corridor away from the lift is likely to be a good idea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear SimonRLondon,

Thank you for providing us with your review.

We appreciate your score and that you enjoyed the interior of the hotel.

We do apologize for the problems you had during your stay, we have worked very hard on resolving the issues and they are now largely resolved.

For your next stay, most of our rooms do have toilet doors. So feel free to ask one in advance and we will have it ready for you when you arrive.

We hope we can welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We booked a long weekend for the end of March 2014. This is probably one of the best hotels that we have stayed in in Europe - air conditioning that actually worked, free internet that didn't involve having to get 4 hour log in sessions from reception and a great breakfast that was included in the room price. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a great experience. We are definitely planning a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear EggsBenedict62,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.