We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressive...superb accommodation with excellent service!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Very impressive...superb accommodation with excellent service!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Sophisticated "hip" hotel with every amenitity. Great staff. Excellent restaurant/lounge/part of the atmosphere! Very central. Quiet rooms. Beautiful historical building. Lucky you, if you get to go!!

Room Tip: If you wish to book, consider paying in advance to reduce your rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear HJK61,

Thank you for your review and your kind words.

Come back to visit us whenever you are in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    75
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
170
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Wow! Design wise this hotel is different from any other I have ever stayed at, but the real wow is the staff; they are simply amazing. Receptionists, doormen, breakfast staff and waitresses all did a fantastic job. They really went out of their way to make our stay memorable. The art ranges from quirky and bizarre to overly sexual, but hey, this is Amsterdam! Rooms are comfortable and quiet, but a little on the dark side. The bathrooms could definitely do with better lighting. The hotel in general is rather dark, but that really is my only complaint. This place is brand new and very modern. Great bar and areas to hang out in the evening. Perfect location!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Hildeanv,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed our staff and your time at the hotel so much.

We appreciate your feedback in terms of the look and feel of our rooms.

If you ever return to the area, we hope to see you back at the hotel!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Hofuf, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Amazing 5 star hotel, stylish of its kind and gives relaxing feelings with its beauty and iconic internal decoration. Perfect location at Amsterdam city center, close to famous shopping malls and many restaurants and attractions. Hotels’ staff are friendly, cooperative and helpful as well as with good knowledge. Rooms located at high floors provide spectacular views. Breakfast was average with no varieties and very limited selections.

Room Tip: Perfect location at Amsterdam city center, close to famous shopping malls and many restaurants and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Adnan-Almuslem,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel so much. Great to hear also that you loved our staff and art!

If ever you come back to visit the area, we hope to see you back at the hotel.

Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We loved this hotel. It's stylish, modern and in a great location. The rooms are excellent with large comfortable beds and all amenities. The place is very quirky and the staff are friendly and helpful. We ate one night in the hotel and thought the food and tapas concept worked very well. Everything was perfect except for the service at breakfast which was very haphazard. The breakfast itself was excellent but you had to wait ages for coffee or tea and then there wasn't enough. Not enough waiters and random service. A shame but they could easily get it sorted out with a bit of organisation. They definitely need coffee more readily available!

Room Tip: Go for the quiet rooms at the back. Great blackout!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Gill,

Thank you for your lovely words! It was our pleasure making your stay memorable. We appreciate your feedback in terms of the breakfast so that we can work on improving this aspect of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again when travels brings you back to the area!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Rock, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We thought we would have to adjust expectations for a more European-style hotel (smaller/older rooms, questionable bath, potentially reluctant service) and were amazed to find ourselves at a hotel superior in quality, service and style. We arrived after an overnight flight and were welcomed to an invaluable early check-in. Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable (none of those two twin beds pushed together to make a queen), the bathroom full of amenities (great shower!) and technology up-to-date and fully functioning. The included breakfast was extensive and satisfying, even after 4 days of it. Unlike other places striving to project a modern, artsy vibe (which can sometimes translate to inaccessible or bizarre), the hotel feels sophisticated, sexy, cozy and like a friend with a sense of humor. Speaking of friendly and having a sense of humor, all of the staff, from the front desk (which doubles as concierge) to the restaurant staff was simply amazing. They were patient, welcoming and sincerely helpful with every request. We hope the hotel understands that it has something special in employees like Jan and Joris.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Takemeaway,

Thank you for your review and your lovely words. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

We look foward to welcoming you back when you come and visit the area again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed for a week. It was very comfortable. The staff are excellent. Hard to say anything wrong - although the wines in the restaurant are all ordinary. The meals also vary in quality and size presumably depending on the chef who is on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Busyprof,

Thanks you for your lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately there were also issues such as the restaurant quality. I am sorry that we let you down on this. We hope that this was not too much of influence on your experience.

We hope to see you soon again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Lovely modern hotel with great room and just across the road from the train station. Staff are fantastic, nothing is to much trouble and the complimentary breakfast and little extras in the room are a great touch! would defiantly stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor offer a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Wilsonberry,

Thank you for you lovely words! It was our pleasure making your stay memorable. We are already looking forward welcoming you again when travels brings you back in the area!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.