We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
laura
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in March for my partners birthday. I did mention it was his birthday when I followed up my reservation with an email to the hotel, but no acknowledgement was received when we arrived which was slightly disappointing. Another thing was we were charged a 75 Euro deposit per night, which takes up to 4 days to be 'refunded' onto your account after check out. I've had hotels take an imprint of my card before, but this hotel actually took the money from my account (they say they didn't, but I checked with my bank who confirmed they had). One last thing, we asked for an extra bottle of water and was told it'd be complimentary, took an age to arrive to our room so went downstairs to be told we'd have to have it charged to our account. Just tell us it was chargeable in the first place!

Now for the good stuff, breakfast was included which was fantastic! Location was great! Some reviews mention the hotel was noisy, if noise bothers you why not request a quiet room? We did and got a lovely peaceful room! The staff were very welcoming, nothing was to much trouble. Bed was comfy, shower was lovely.

A few glitches but overall a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Laura040,

Thank you for the review. Great to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately not everything was to your satisfaction. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this might have caused. We appreciate your feedback very much in order to improve our operational process.

We hope to see you back whenever you come and visit Amsterdam!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    54
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
126
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights...hotel very well located just across the street from central train station in Amsterdam..room very clean and beds amazingly comfortable..great breakfast at hotel restaurant. But most importantly staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Bernardan,

Thank you for your lovely words about the hotel. Great to hear that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

If you come and visit the area again, please indeed do not hesitate to visit us again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel is really new, to the point that a lot of cab drivers don't know it, located in front of Amsterdam Central Station and in walking distance of many attractions. The first impression is really wonderful because the front desk staff is young, knowledgeable and very friendly ready to help with directions, booking places or anything you need. The rooms are very nicely decorated in modern taste and fairly spacious, stocked with a nice espresso machine and toiletries. The bar and restaurant are really good, nice atmosphere and crowd with modern artsy features all around. Quality and choice of food, we had daily breakfast, were really good especially because your choices are the buffet but also a' la carte menu with freshly made omelettes and meat choices. If you can get a package with breakfast, go for it, otherwise is 25 euros per person.
Only thing that was disappointing the pool and the whole pool area were a bit cold in temperature and the sauna was not working at the time, but the 3 days stay was still perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear StellaB70,

Thanks you for your lovely words! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed the service of our hotel staff.

Unfortunately there were also issues such as the swimming pool. I am sorry that we let you down on this. We hope that this was not too much of influence on your experience.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just enjoyed 3 nights at this fabulous hotel, The hotel is in a great central location ideal for exploring the city. A very modern hotel with inspirational design ideas. The bedrooms were spotlessly clean with unusual glass bathrooms and mood lighting. We were given complimentary popcorn and water on the first night and loved the illy coffee machine. Breakfast was to a high standard with plenty of choice and all cooked fresh to order. The restaurant in the evening serves a Tapas type meal which is that good we dined there 2 nights out of three, which for us is really unusual as we generally tend to eat out when staying in hotels. This type of eating experience may not suit every body but for us made a refreshing change and all the staff are really friendly.The bar at night has a great vibe too!
As hoteliers in Llandudno North Wales we would not hesitate to recommend the Art'otel Amsterdam and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear tynedalehotel,

Thanks you for your lovely words! Since you mentioned being hoteliers yourselves, you must have experienced a lot of hospitality, which means high expectations! We are honored to hear that we were even able to exceed them!

Thank you once again for your beautiful compliments!

See you soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I was there for 3 days .The hotel is located at a very convenient place which you can reach by walking all the exciting locations in Amsterdam. The hotel concept totally different. Staff is really good and attractive. The restaurant and the bar is nicely done and the food is really y good. No doubt I will visit this place again and i can recommend this hotel for any holiday maker or the business person.

Room Tip: I was at a room in a corner. It was good and spascious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Dimu007,

Thank you for your lovely words! Our hotel concept is quite unique, isn't it? We are doing our best to combine art and hospitality in a surprising way!

Great to hear that you will visit us again without a doubt; we are already looking forward to it!

See you soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really nice modern hotel in a great central location. Directly across from central station. Rooms were trendy, comfortable and really well presented. Definitely stay here again if we go back to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Kezbomb_8,

Thank you for sharing your experience! Our location is quite unique just opposite of the central station, isn't it?

Let us know when travels brings you back in Amsterdam, so we can make your next stay even more personal!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel. Fantastic location minutes walk from central station, very trendy and chic, excellent selection for dinner (even for vegetarians) made to a high standard and presented nicely, immaculately clean rooms, mostly polite staff, reasonable selection for breakfast including à la carte options. Free in room amenities include a wide range of elemis products, a large bottle of water, two packets of crisps and a packet of healthy living nuts. The hotel has a gym and swimming pool, I was not able to use the facilities and so cannot comment on these. Of course, from any city centre hotel you expect the noise of trams and youths roaming the street late into the night and early morning. Ensure you select a courtyard facing room if you are a light sleeper! It's a shame a few things let this hotel down and I think I've been generous with my score. The biggest disappointment is that the wall connections to the TV did not work (laptop to TV via HDMI) in my room, I was informed they did not work because "the media centre is down" this was a lie, as the connections worked fine in my colleagues room. I asked to switch rooms but my request was not accepted. To be fair to the hotel I was provided a VGA projector the following day, however my laptop only supports HDMI so this was not useful. A simple change in room would have resolved my problem, especially after seeing there were room available. Second issue, I ordered dessert - a chocolate moose with coconut ice cream. My coconut ice cream was entirely melted, so did not arrive as an ice cream. The dessert was served instantaneously which makes me believe it was plated for somebody else who decided they did not want it anymore, it was very disappointing! The final complaint is that you have to pay a €2 supplement for a glass of apple juice, fresh juice or not this is unacceptable! Every other hotel in the world includes apple juice with their breakfast! Finally, with my Carlson club membership I am entitled to a room class upgrade and every other hotel part of the Carlson group upgrades me. Here I was informed my membership tier is not eligible for upgrade, this is another lie, as on the Carlson website it's clearly stated my tier is eligible for upgrade. I'm in Amsterdam until September and tempted to give the hotel another try before picking my regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear RKK1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We like that you mentioned it was (almost) a perfect stay.

We understand the issues you had with the media hub we promise that for your next stay we will have them solved!

We look forward to welcoming you for a second time so we can make your almost perfect stay a perfect stay.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art’otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art’otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. art’otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel’s signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art’otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art’otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art’otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.