We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a perfect stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Almost a perfect stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Overall a very nice hotel. Fantastic location minutes walk from central station, very trendy and chic, excellent selection for dinner (even for vegetarians) made to a high standard and presented nicely, immaculately clean rooms, mostly polite staff, reasonable selection for breakfast including à la carte options. Free in room amenities include a wide range of elemis products, a large bottle of water, two packets of crisps and a packet of healthy living nuts. The hotel has a gym and swimming pool, I was not able to use the facilities and so cannot comment on these. Of course, from any city centre hotel you expect the noise of trams and youths roaming the street late into the night and early morning. Ensure you select a courtyard facing room if you are a light sleeper! It's a shame a few things let this hotel down and I think I've been generous with my score. The biggest disappointment is that the wall connections to the TV did not work (laptop to TV via HDMI) in my room, I was informed they did not work because "the media centre is down" this was a lie, as the connections worked fine in my colleagues room. I asked to switch rooms but my request was not accepted. To be fair to the hotel I was provided a VGA projector the following day, however my laptop only supports HDMI so this was not useful. A simple change in room would have resolved my problem, especially after seeing there were room available. Second issue, I ordered dessert - a chocolate moose with coconut ice cream. My coconut ice cream was entirely melted, so did not arrive as an ice cream. The dessert was served instantaneously which makes me believe it was plated for somebody else who decided they did not want it anymore, it was very disappointing! The final complaint is that you have to pay a €2 supplement for a glass of apple juice, fresh juice or not this is unacceptable! Every other hotel in the world includes apple juice with their breakfast! Finally, with my Carlson club membership I am entitled to a room class upgrade and every other hotel part of the Carlson group upgrades me. Here I was informed my membership tier is not eligible for upgrade, this is another lie, as on the Carlson website it's clearly stated my tier is eligible for upgrade. I'm in Amsterdam until September and tempted to give the hotel another try before picking my regular hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear RKK1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We like that you mentioned it was (almost) a perfect stay.

We understand the issues you had with the media hub we promise that for your next stay we will have them solved!

We look forward to welcoming you for a second time so we can make your almost perfect stay a perfect stay.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    82
    22
    7
    2
See reviews for
44
189
13
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The art otel is a fabulous hotel and we found as soon as we arrived the staff were on top form and very friendly, the concierge showed us around the hotel and took our bags To our room. The hotel itself is very model with some quirky art pieces.
The room was spacious and modern and the bathroom was amazing only one thing the shower used to leak out by the basins so maybe this should be looked at.
Food was good and reasonable priced and breakfast was good too with a wide selection.
Central located and would defiantly stay at the art otel again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Katylayla,

Thank you for your lovely review! Great to hear that you had a fabulous time in our hotel with the quirky art pieces :) We are already looking forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We had a brilliant time at this hotel, so close to central station and the surrounding areas. The staff were very riendly, we never got shown round hotel but it was very easy to find everything. The room was amazing, very comfy bed. Pillows were too hard for us but they were still comfortable. If we were to return to Amsterdam this would be our choice of hotel without a doubt. I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear laura-iain,

We are thrilled to hear that you had a brilliant time in our hotel! Just let us know when you are coming back, so we can make sure that you still receive a complete and interesting showround through the hotel including an explanation of our art pieces!

We are already looking forward to see you again!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had an amazing time staying at this hotel.
Great, central location. This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and always provided excellent service. The rooms really are amazing, big comfy bed, English channels on the television, wonderful waterfall shower.
There was a wide choice of breakfast, very good quality, well presented. We will defiantly be returning to this hotel and would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: We stayed in an art room and found it amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Vickie E,

We enjoyed reading your wonderful review. Being name as one of the best hotel you have ever stayed in is a big compliment for us, so thank you! We hope to welcome you as a guest once again soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

This hotel exceeded our expectations, from the moment we arrived the staff made us feel special and that nothing was too much trouble. Yes, the lifts are a little on the dark side but that does not detract from the overall experience. The proximity of the hotel to the central station is very convenient and it is no distance on foot to the centre of Amsterdam. Trams and canalboats on ones doorstep (but not obtrusive). Great restaurants nearby, the hotel staff are only too happy to advise, also the bar and food at the hotel were good and the breakfasts were superb. We will be going back.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor at the front, overlooking the canal basin and the station/tram terminal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Stotty007,

We are very thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expectations! It was our pleasure assisting you with your travel plans; to make sure you have seen the best places that Amsterdam has to offer!

Great to hear that you will be back; we are already waiting for your arrival!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

A fabulous hotel, staff so friendly and helpful. Room was gorgeous,roomy with such comfy beds, enormous flat screen tv with UK channels. Restaurant welcoming with first class food. Facilities superb, this chic hotel is in a brilliant location just across the way from the Centraal rail station. We will definitely be staying at this hotel again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear EilsnDave,

Thank you for your beautiful words! That you described us as a fabulous hotel, with first class food and superb facilities, must mean that we were able to exceed your expectations!

Let us know directly when you are coming back, so we can make your next stay as personal as this short break!

See you soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Enjoyed our stay at the hotel, excellent rooms, bar and reception area. All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. The only negative point was that breakfast on one of the mornings and some of drinks we had in the bar took a while to come. Small details like checking in over a drink ,an informative reception area all added to a great hotel experience

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Matthew7509,

Thank you for sharing your positive words! It was our pleasure to make your stay enjoyable and we could turn your stay into a great hotel experience!

Come again when travel brings you back in our capital city! We are already looking forward to it!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.