We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Design” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Design”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

LIked design and atmosphere alot. Inside you find yourself like in contemporary art galery.
Thank for personel for sighthsing reccomendations and free room upgrade. Great value for it´s price. Would like to get back there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Zac K,

Thank you for sharing your positive words! Good to hear that you enjoyed the design and atmosphere, it’s quite unique don’t you think?

Let us know when you are arriving again, so we can advise you on other must sees!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    75
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
170
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great location - directly opposite the train station. Friendly staff - very attentive. Free drink on arrival and bags taken care of while room was prepared.

Room was lovely - clean and bright with robes, slippers and toiletries in the ultra-modern bathroom.

My only slight gripe was that instead of a 'king size' bed, we actually had two singles pushed together, which came apart, and also two duvets, so it wasn't quite as nice as it could have been.

Breakfast was lovely. We opted for room service and had everything we wanted. Coffee machine and complimentary crisps are also available in the room.

We booked using our Club Carlson points so not sure what the room would have cost but we enjoyed our stay and would recommend :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear SarahDKHunt,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience! It is a great opportunity to use the points you earned to stay at our hotel, isn’t it?

We hope to see you back soon! Let us know directly when you are arriving again, so we can make up a comfortable king size bed 

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The hotel has a great location and proved to be the perfect base to visit Amsterdam for a city break. The interiors are modern and very well appointed. Our room was striking, spacious, immaculately clean and the bed very comfortable. The best feature of this hotel were the staff. Everyone was incredibly nice and professional. It was impossible not to feel welcome. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Christian J,

“It was impossible not to feel welcome”; perhaps one of the best compliments to receive! Thank you very much for your beautiful words.

We are already looking forward welcoming you back! Contact us directly, so we can make your time in Amsterdam even more personal!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had read all the great reviews for this hotel on Trip Advisor, so my expectations were very high. They were all met or exceeded. It is truly a beautiful hotel with an outstanding staff. The staff did everything to ensure that our stay was perfect. The concierge in particular was extremely nice and helpful. The hotel and rooms are spotlessly clean (a very important consideration for me). The location is right across from the main railway and just a few minutes walk from Dam Square, the heart of the city. The breakfast is fantastic – I haven’t had a latte so good outside of Italy. Even the beds and pillows were perfect! Overall a flawless experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear travelbugDC88,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are thrilled to hear that we even exceeded your high expectations! And what a great compliment that we served you the best latte you have tasted outside Italy..!

We hope to see you soon again when travels bring you back in the area!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I read reviews and thought it'd be difficult to match the hype. This hotel is everything you'll ever need from a city break. Great location and the Service, rooms and food were all impeccable. I will definitely be returning to this fantastic hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Justo80,
Thank you for your nice review! Great to hear that we met your expectations and that we were indeed the hype you were looking for :-)! See you soon! All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Overall, the Art'otel is located VERY close to the main railway station, and easy to wheel your luggage there after arriving on an international or regional train. We stayed there over new year for three nights.

Quirky art is scattered throughout the building, including a "sperm sculpture" in the internal court yard and a disemboweled baby in the lift area on the level we stayed on.

The good: Breakfast is excellent - included in our package, but served as if al a carte. Reception staff are fantastic and readily able to assist with all your queries. Restaurant and bar staff also excellent. Wifi is available throughout the hotel.

The bad: incredibly dark inside the hotel, especially in the lift. This is really disconcerting; your eyes need to adjust to lighting as dim as a single candle in a large room. It becomes quite silly in the bathroom, where the lighting is insufficient to confidently apply makeup. There was a loud noise from the disco/bar, but this may only be relevant to New Year's Eve.....

Room Tip: Ask about the bar/disco noise and for a room protected from this noise if relevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Marjolein B,
The breakfast that we serve is home made, so we are delighted to hear that it was an excellent start of your day! We are thrilled that you named our staff fantastic and excellent as well, since they are of great value for us. Did you know that we provide make up mirrors upon request? Just ask one of our team members and we will be happy to install it in your room!
Hope to see you next time again when travels brings you back to Amsterdam! Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We've just had a fabulous weekend in Amsterdam, and staying in this hotel was the icing on the cake. Our room was very comfortable and on the whole very quiet apart from sound from the music in the bar on Friday evening. We loved the quirky pieces of art scattered throughout the building and some of the lighting installations were amazing. We didn't have dinner in the hotel, but the restaurant seemed very busy every night. If the breakfasts are anything to go by, the food should be excellent. It's also in a really convenient spot. We arrived late on Friday night and could see the hotel from the station. Very helpful and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room (2027) was inward facing, so we heard no noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kees N, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear AAM2014, what an honor that our hotel was the icing on the cake after your fabulous weekend in Amsterdam! You should try out our restaurant next time, since it is definitely worth coming back for! All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.