We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Art'otel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Art'otel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Art'otel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 15%
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hip and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was by far the nicest hotel we stayed at in Europe. The staff was over the top helpful and the hotel was clean, hip and modern. When we arrived we were welcomed with welcome drinks at the bar. They had a DJ with a sax player who was amazing! The location was great, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and modern. The only complaint would be that it was a little bit loud on Saturday night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Crystal S,

Thank you for giving us the honour of being the best hotel in Europe you stayed in! That's really good to hear! Next time you visit us, please make sure to let us know if something bothering you so we can try and solve it for you.

We're really glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to the next time you're staying with us!

Have a lovely day!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    84
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
44
194
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Central, cool, trendy and friendly! Brand new designer hotel with excellent restaurant, bar and fitness facilities on top of the rest you expect of a great hotel. Would recommend for both business and romance weekends. No buffet for breakfast so make room for extra time

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Cato L,

Thank you so much for you lovely review!
We're looking forward to your next stay with us :-).

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Israeli-owned Art'otel chain has just opened in the heart of Amsterdam. Just get off the train at Centraal Station, walk across the square and you are ready to check in. While the art may not be your cup of tea (definitely not ours), the quality of the staff and the restaurant are world class. We found the entire staff welcoming, warm and professional and, thanks to a supremely talented Italian chef, the cuisine was inventive, superb and charmingly served. Our only "negative" was the mediocre bed linens in our otherwise well designed and comfortable room. Goose down comforters would be a start.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Barbara S,

Thank you for your review.

We're really glad you enjoyed our quality of staff and our 5&33 venue! The fact that you found our staff to be welcoming warm and professional is a real pleasure; this is exactly what we are aiming for.

Please note that we have goose down comforters available upon request. We’re sorry we did not tell you this.
Please don’t hesitate to ask us anything next time you visit us, we are more than happy to help you!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

For me the number one priority when staying in hotel has to be the quality of sleep, followed by service. Unfortunately the Art'Otel was really disappointing in this respect. Location opposite the Centraal station is excellent.... until you notice the tramlines right outside the hotel. These go at least every 30 seconds around the building and are incredibly noisy to the point where the room shakes. I had a terrible night's sleep here and based on this alone would not choose to stay here again. I am amazed no other reviewer has mentioned it. Given I live in the middle of a city at home, believe me street noise has to be bad for me to notice.

Noisy trams aside, the hotel looks good, smells nice and the rooms are chic if rather dark and forbidding and definitely not on the big side. I have to say the light switches were the best design I've seen, actually saying what they were for eg. bath, read, mood, sleep - how many times have I fumbled trying to turn lights off and on at hotels!

Other than that, these guys are trying to do service a bit 'differently' which was excruciating and actually annoying. When we arrived we had to shake hands and introduce ourselves to first the doorman and then when she turned up the receptionist. I just want to check-in speedily and efficiently! They took ages to do anything useful eg. advise on whether we needed a taxi to a nearby restaurant (we were then taken to the wrong one by the taxi) and when I responded my stay wasn't that great said 'That's great and didn't ask why!'. The doorman who I assume is the owner/manager was wandering around my floor talking very loudly and again intrusively wanting to greet me as I came and went. Nobody told us, and there is nothing in the room to say how wifi works and it didn't need the password they told us when we finally called up. The coffee machine did not work.

Best hotel service is discrete, quick and efficient. These guys need to get the basics right before they try anything else. For the noise alone I won't go back when I next travel to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear tripgeek01,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry that you got disturbed because of the trams. We are a very centrally located hotel which has a lot of advantages. Some people might find it annoying, other find it lovely being in the city centre and the possibility of hearing some of the noises of the city.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the light switches and you thought the hotel looked good.

At art’otel amsterdam we do things differently. An important part of this different concept is to treat our guests with exceptional service. We’re very sorry to hear that you thought this was annoying, this is definitely not the feeling and message that we want to give to our guests.

Your comment regarding the coffee machine and the fact that there was no description about the Wi-Fi we followed up upon.
Most of our guests enjoy the rooms with the iconic city view, however please know that we have fully sound proof rooms as well facing the courtyard.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in newly opened hotel 11-13 October and have nothing but praise. The design is funky and fun, the staff are exceptional and apparently chosen for their character, yet the hotel provides all the comfort you could want. There is a great library area with the art curtain (moving images), a comfortable bar and lovely lounge - in addition a well equipped gym, sauna and pool (although of the plunge variety rather than lengths). The rooms are well designed and have all interactive tv as you would expect at a top end hotel. I love walking for hours round the city but when the rain poured being located opposite Central Station and the tram stops meant we could get anywhere by public transport. All in all a great experience and recommended.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear FamilySherpa,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are really excited to hear that you had such a good time in our hotel and in Amsterdam.

Hope to see you again soon! :-)

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, CA
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked his hotel while in Munich on vacation because we decided to hop on over to Amsterdam at the last minute. Art'otel had only been open for a day or two when we rolled up with our luggage. First impression was that this place was beautiful and it didn't take long before we knew it was much more than eye candy. Rich with Art and hospitality, this hotel was just what my husband and I were looking for. We got a personal tour and were greeted with a complimentary drink. The rooms were large and comfortable. The restaurant was delicious and the signature cocktails were great compliments to our meal.

It is also worth noting that art'otel is located across the street from the Centraal Station and Hop on-Hop off bus tours are literally a stones throw away and also across the street. Location wise, this hotel is perfect if you are looking to stay where all the action is as well as close proximity to the train station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Tkt4Two,

First of all, we would like to thank you and your husband for staying at art’otel amsterdam.

Taking the opportunity to write such a positive review means a lot to us. It is really good to hear that art’otel amsterdam was just what you were looking for and that you loved the combination of art and hospitality. This is exactly what we are aiming for!

We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Art'otel from the 29.09.13 to the 01.10.13
this was a last minute booking and I was quite worried, but I need not have worried.
The location is across the street from Central Station. The hotel is very, chic, trendy, cosmopolitan. Art work is located around the hotel. You are welcomed with a glass of proseco
and check in is done quite easily by ipad. The room I stayed in was large, very clean and modern; Wonderful shower and Elemis products. A coffee machine is provided, but I must admit I tried everything and could not get it to work. There is a mini bar which is locked, a safe in the room which is free, and snacks in the draw. You can eat the crisps and nuts for free, only the chocolate bar is chargeable. A bottle of water was also sent to the room. Free breakfast buffet. The bar area is very trendy with comfy chairs. Cocktails are priced as if in London.
The restaurant is amazing, and the food is outstanding.
I would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aam33, General Manager at Art'otel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share our first review on Tripadvisor!

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel. We're sorry you couldn't enjoy the coffee machine. Next time please ask any of our staff we will help you to you to make a lovely cup of coffee! :-)

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the art'otel next time you visit Amsterdam!

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Art'otel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art'otel Amsterdam

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 33, 1012 TM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Art'otel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit art'otel amsterdam, a Unique Design Art Hotel in Amsterdam City CentreOffering an innovative blend of design, art and upscale hospitality, art'otel amsterdam stands as one of the premier destination hotels in Amsterdam. Our city centre hotel is located just across from Amsterdam Central Station and within walking distance of the Royal Palace, canals, Jordaan district, Dam square and other popular attractions. Art'otel amsterdam features high-speed, wireless Internet access, an on-site restaurant, access to a Fitness Centre with pool, 300m2 of multipurpose event and exhibition space, as well as a beautiful collection of original works by our hotel's signature artist. Immerse yourself in the distinctive atmosphere of this art'otel and experience the fusion of life and art.This design hotel is the first of a new generation of art'otels, offering enhanced services and amenities. Providing a seamless fusion of art and life, art'otel amsterdam creates an inspirational setting in which to share ideas, enhance your knowledge of art and immerse yourself in a culturally rich environment. The work of Atelier Van Lieshout permeates every corner, a spectacular 12-metre art curtain displays emotive footage and a 300-square-metre art gallery hosts a varied programme of exhibitions from emerging and established artistsChoose from an art room, an enhanced art room iconic view or a spectacular masterpiece suite. Each of the 107 guestrooms features a unique piece of art, ultra-comfortable beds with a choice of pillows, mood lighting and a generous selection of Elemis guest amenities. The bathrooms boast rain showers and luxurious bathrobes and slippers, while an illy espresso machine, stocked minibar, bottle of water and breakfast on us all add to the welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Art'otel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art'otel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.