We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Pizza and Lasagne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Argentijns Steakhouse La Gouch

Argentijns Steakhouse La Gouch
Geldersekade 1, 1011 EH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 (0)20 620 56 76
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,429 of 2,541 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Argentinean, South American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Neighborhood: Centrum
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious Pizza and Lasagne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Besides being a steak house the La Gouch also serves Italian fare including lasagna, spaghetti, and pizza. I ordered a "mozzarella pizza" (Mozzarella cheese and tomato sauce) and my wife ordered the lasagna..

The flavors on the pizza were very good and combined with a nice thin crust, it was reminicent of pizzas I've had in northern Italy - delicious and plenty of food.

The Lasagna was also delicious and fresh baked.

For the two of us our lasagna, pizza and two soft drinks the total was 29 Euros.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    20
    7
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious steak, but beware of the extra cost”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a delicious meal here on the first night of our stay in Amsterdam, and I really fancied a steak, so that is what I ordered. However, aside from the salad, if you want anything else (including chips), you have to pay an extra 3,50 Euros. Still, that didn't stop me enjoying the meal, accompanied by a carafe of red wine, and followed by a delicious apple tart.

Would recommend sitting outside when possible, like we did, because as soon as we stepped inside, we were confronted by very loud music!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Argentinian Beef may just be the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited many restaurants in Amsterdam and thoroughly enjoyed the Argentinian steaks at this restaurant. We were outside looking at the menu when the owner? came out and coaxed us in to eat the best beef in the world. He was right! I have enjoyed steaks at a number of restaurants and bbq's but I believe this was the best steak I have ever eaten. We found the service to be excellent and the balance of the meal very tasty. It was a bit annoying yet comical to watch the owner trying to coax other potential customers into his restaurant and the meal was one of the most expensive we had in Amsterdam but I would go back if I was ever in Amsterdam again. The décor (western) was quite unexpected but we soon discovered it was a common theme in the Argentinian steakhouses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not the best food or service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We visited this restaurant during our Amsterdam visit. The lamb we received was raw and had to be sent back. It wasn't the best lamb either, barely had meat on it.
The vegetable skewer was pricey (about 6-7 euros) and was very small (corn, mushroom, etc...)
I ordered the pizza, which was OK.

We ordered garlic bread which they totally forgot about and just brought us the main course.

I usually feel uncomfortable leaving negative comments, but I would have expected from an Argentinian meat restaurant to at least nail the meat section...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argentijns Steakhouse La Gouch also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Argentijns Steakhouse La Gouch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Argentijns Steakhouse La Gouch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.