We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine - Falang style thai restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Butterfly

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai Butterfly
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 160, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,215 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
UK
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“A fine - Falang style thai restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I have eaten here a few times, being a lover of Thai food. Whilst the food is not authentic, this is usually the case in Thai restaurants outside of asia-pac.

What I can say is service is excellent and the food is very well cooked, just not quite like you would expect in Thailand.

Being just off the red-light district, this restaurant is a little more hidden away than those in Dam Square, but it is well worth the 5 mionutes walk.,

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    2
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Murcia, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend really enjoyed the authentic Thai food we had here. The price is reasonable for the area, nothing to complain about!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A revisit and still good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We love Thai food, and visited this restaurant three years ago quite by accident. It was very quiet on our first visit, but the food was good and we enjoyed being spoiled by the staff. On our previous visit we were disappointed to find that it was closed. It re-opened recently under new management and is just as good as ever. It is not easy to find as it is tucked away. Walk up Damstraat from Dam Square, you will cross one canal, and in front on the left will be a large three storey Chinese Restaurant, which is always busy but expensive. Keep on to the next smaller canal and on the right about fifty meters, before crossing the canal, is the Butterfly Thai. This restaurant has good clean inexpensive food, the wine list is excellent, and the service good. It is clean and well appointed and is very close to the night-time attractions of Amsterdam. We will definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tease your taste buds.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

After feasting on mainly European fare for the previous weeks we were delighted to find this little gem! Great atmosphere backed up with attentive staff and delicious food. Reasonably priced and open late.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, service, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a wonderful meal. Clean restaurant. Well presented and very tasty food. Would definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Butterfly also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Thai Butterfly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Butterfly, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.