We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty, friendly and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ten Katestraat 45H, 1053 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 2623880
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Himalayan Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #387 of 2,485 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dear guests,We warmly welcome you in the Himalayan Kitchen restaurant. Our restaurant has been named after the highest mountains in the world.The Nepali and Indian kitchen relies on the age-old art of mixing herbs and spices. Just as ancient are the strict preparation criteria that vary according to climate, products available in a certain region, religion, and culture.Besides the written and unwritten laws of the Nepali and Indian kitchen we try to also let you encounter the unique taste of our own kitchen. We developed this taste over the years we have already been working in Amsterdam. Our chef cook has an exceptional culinary talent and uses fresh ingredients, unique and refined spice combinations, and an impeccable preparation manner to provide you with a freshly-prepared meal that.You can indicate your desired spice level and our cooks will be sure that the dishes are prepared accordingly.We do everything to accommodate your wishes, and we hope that you will feel at home here and enjoy your meal.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Tasty, friendly and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This was really good compared to the South Asian cuisine generally on offer in Amsterdam. The service was a bit slow, but it only mattered because we had cinema tickets, and they made up for it with friendliness! It's a nicer atmosphere than you might think from the photos. A good nearby option if you find the Foodhallen is too busy to sit down!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Feels at home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

This family run restaurant is a nice place to have dinner. It is much cheaper and yet way tastier food than any equivalent restaurants that we have been to in Amsterdam. It is a warm and cozy place where staffs treat their guests like a family. We were even more pleased to talk to the chef cook, who owns the business.
We tried different verities of food but I personally loved the Nepali daal-bhaat. I recommend all my friends to visit the Himalayan Kitchen when there are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Amazing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

We were staying around the corner at Hotel Dehallen (see my upcoming review) and were looking for a resto that was close by. We had booked at another Indian before leaving Canada but as we rolled into our hotel saw the red sign. It was completley full and on that basis asked the hotel about it. They gave it the thumbs up so went the next evening. The food is excellent. Had the mixed Tandoor and a Prawn Jalfrezzi both really good.
Very good value and the staff was charming. It is not the mose elegant of places but the food and service makes up for that!

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“friendly restaurant with fingerlicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2014

The chefs working in the himalayan kitchen have very good hands in making the food n they have very friendly nature with the customers and among themselves too. Staffs here are very highly skilled. So i suggest its a must try restaurant. good food with homely environment
<3 Chopender Malla

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurstville, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
“Excellent service and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

I recently visited the restaurant on my Europe trip and find this place, to be very outstanding in terms of the cost and delicious food, taste of home in abroad for me..

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.