We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Nepalese restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Himalayan Kitchen

Himalayan Kitchen
Ten Katestraat 45HS, Amsterdam 1053 BX, The Netherlands
020 2623880
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #605 of 2,147 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Indian, Tibetan, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery
Description: Dear guests,We warmly welcome you in the Himalayan Kitchen restaurant. Our restaurant has been named after the highest mountains in the world.The Nepali and Indian kitchen relies on the age-old art of mixing herbs and spices. Just as ancient are the strict preparation criteria that vary according to climate, products available in a certain region, religion, and culture.Besides the written and unwritten laws of the Nepali and Indian kitchen we try to also let you encounter the unique taste of our own kitchen. We developed this taste over the years we have already been working in Amsterdam. Our chef cook has an exceptional culinary talent and uses fresh ingredients, unique and refined spice combinations, and an impeccable preparation manner to provide you with a freshly-prepared meal that.You can indicate your desired spice level and our cooks will be sure that the dishes are prepared accordingly.We do everything to accommodate your wishes, and we hope that you will feel at home here and enjoy your meal.
Lahti
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Nepalese restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spotted this place from TA when wondering where to eat on our first ever visit to Amsterdam. Luckily it was also very near to our hotel. It's approximately 15 minutes tram trip from Central Station and next to a small market place. We visited Himalayan Kitchen on Friday evening about 5pm so we were the first guests of that evening. We were served by a very, very friendly young waiter who spoke excellent English. We had samosas for starters and mixed tandori grill and chicken tikka sarabi. Orders came quickly enough and all were very good.

So over all a nice, peaceful place serving lovely Nepalese food with a great service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    19
    5
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Hello Nepal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Excellent food, excellent service, what else can we say. It felt like being in Nepal like 14 years ago. Nepal malai man parcha.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent, Excellent,Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the first time we visited Amsterdam and we loved the city. This was our last night here and we found this wonderful restaurant Himalayan Kitchen.
The food wad the best Indian food I have ever eaten, the mixed grill I ordered was sooooo tender and juicy. The saag paneer was FABULOUS and I have eaten, and it is my utmost favorite..........ever. The service is so personal and attentive we felt like royalty. This restaurant is a must for Indian food in Amsterdam!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Best Nepalese restaurant in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The food was excellent, the staff were very friendly and accommodating - overall a very pleasant surprise and a recipe for a very enjoyable evening. We'll definitely be coming back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value, tasty food and a very warm welcome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely meal here after searching TripAdvisor for a nearby Indian restaurant whilst staying in Amsterdam. Overall the restaurant is very simple and basic yet the service and quality of food was fantastic! We were offered a very warm welcome by staff who also took the time to ask us about our trip. The food was served quickly and piping hot. Everything was full of flavour and appeared to be homemade. With food and drinks for two(including some extras on the house) we were pleased with the value for money at just over 30 euros. Definitely worth a visit! :-)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Himalayan Kitchen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Himalayan Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Himalayan Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.