We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Umami Amsterdam

Umami Amsterdam
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 161, Amsterdam 1012 RK, The Netherlands
+31 20 420 8080
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #309 of 2,144 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $3 - $19
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Fusion, Asian fusion
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Netherlands
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Fresh food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Used a NS coupon last sunday at Umami Amsterdam, just meters from the dam square. It consisted of seaweed and cucumber salad, 3 chili prawns, pork, white rice and a courgette/tofu stir fry and a drink, all for 9.95 per person. There was so much delicious food, I couldn't finish it and I was very hungry. The service is friendly ,fast, attentive and efficient. Will go again, even at full price. It was a great offer but the 'normal' prices are not high at all for the location and the quality of ingredients.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    18
    10
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great place, great concept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

You get 3 menu concepts to choose from. Good food in a great place!!! Not the best sushi, but we loved the king crab, chinese bacon, chiken with orange and porc with honey.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We were walking around for a place to have lunch and it called our attention this place.
What an unexpected surprise!!! The place was just perfect, the atmosphere and decoration really neat and clean.
Food delicious, well presented, perfectly cooked and tasty.
Staff really helpful and kind.
Affordable value considering the price of the rest of the restaurants.
Definitely one of the best places that I´ve been in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent money value restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Excellent value, the restaurant is very well decorated creating a very elegant treat that serves as starter for an experience to come. The service is impeccable along with a very tasty food that is beautifully presented. Let be guided by the staff and allow yourself a little oriental treat with a twist. Definitely will be back and I´d love to have this establishment closer to visit it more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A gem...wish I could take Umami home with me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

I am not a big reviewer but had to write about this place. I can heartily echo the positive reviews below, and add that I would rate this place up there with David Chang's restaurants Momofuku and Saam Bar in NYC. Seriously. An absolutely incredible value in terms of the price for what you get. Fresh, innovative, wonderful presentation--we will be back next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umami Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Umami Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Umami Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.