We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest dishes done very well” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobby Restaurant and Bar

The Lobby Restaurant and Bar
Nes 49, 1012KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 758 5275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Lobby: a unique location in Hotel V Nesplein where Amsterdammers and internationals can meet and converge, featuring a restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner), a gorgeous open wood fireplace, a terrace overlooking the Nes square, and a small stage for events. The emphasis is on high quality dishes and drinks served in a unpretentious manner by funky staff who want to make your stay memorable.
haarlemmermeer
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Honest dishes done very well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I love places like this! Honest dishes done very well and at a very decent price. Not entirely sure if I'd classify this as a gastro pub, it reminds me more of a laid back bistro.

Choices on the menu are not extensive which allows for attractive prices. Good wines starting at 29 euros and some very interesting beers from local microbreweries.

Service is warm and attentive and they all speak good English. Chilled tap water was free of charge as was a refill of the excellent bread.
I had a rabbit pate which was pretty good, roast pork which was one of the best I've ever had and a creme brule which was kept from being excellent by a little bit too much sugar.

All in all a place to visit if you're in the area but book a table. Even on a tuesday night the place was packed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    30
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great food, Great beer, Great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

An ex-colleague of mine had been recommended The Lobby, and as he then offered either this or one of the many great food/lousy service Chinese places, I was pleased that I chose correctly.
He is Dutch, I am British. We were both welcomed and spoken to the same by very friendly (but not over friendly) staff. We chose different starters and 3rd courses, and chose a pork dish for 2 as main course. 4 of the 5 dishes were wonderful. Apparently the creme brulee was very slightly below this standard.
There was only wine on the menu, and we asked about beers. We both chose a Dutch very dark beer, which we discovered was 10%. This too was great, and we managed two servings each.
OK, it's not a cheap meal. But for this quality of food, staff, and surroundings you don't expect cheap. For 4 beers, 2 starters, 2mains, 2 puddings and 2 coffees the bill came to €103. It was well worth it.
It is a popular place. We got there just before 19:00 and got a table. Within an hour it was packed solid.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

We tried to dinner at this lovely place but it was Saturday night and we didn't had a reservation... So, we went there next day at lunch, and enjoyed the ambiance and the food. We loved the fireplace, the calm music and the kind staff.
Truly recommended. Probably at dinner, it gets even better! Don't forget to book a table.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Truly amazing service and food , liked the bread that comes with 'Amsterdam Omlete', would be better if it would come with the butter

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

As opposed to our other food experience in Amsterdam, we had a lovely dinner in this place. We arrived around 20:00 without reservation and we did not wait at all, they seated us immediately (7 people). While you wait to order you can have a lovely bread and butter with mustard (don't eat too much otherwise you won't enjoy the food). Then we ordered all different things, ranging from appetizers and both fish and meat main courses, and at least five desserts. The quality of the food was really good and the service was excellent, very well timed and perfectly capable of managing a hall full of customers. The price was around 22 EUR per person including drinks (beer, wine and water). Definetely worth it and to keep in mind if you are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobby Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Lobby Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.