We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner in The Lobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lobby Restaurant and Bar

The Lobby Restaurant and Bar
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 758 5275
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 2,445 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: The Lobby: a unique location in Hotel V Nesplein where Amsterdammers and internationals can meet and converge, featuring a restaurant (breakfast, lunch & dinner), a gorgeous open wood fireplace, a terrace overlooking the Nes square, and a small stage for events. The emphasis is on high quality dishes and drinks served in a unpretentious manner by funky staff who want to make your stay memorable.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great dinner in The Lobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The Lobby is part of a hotel (Hotel V). In Amsterdam, locals don't normally go to hotel bars/restaurants for dinner or drinks but the place already caught my eye a couple of months ago and after a couple of nice evenings at the bar, I decided to host a little suprise dinner for my partner there. It was a great success..

What I liked:
- Staff, Staff, Staff: These guys show passion for their work: friendly, have knowledge about their food & wines, paid good attention to what was going on at our table without being intrusive
- Menu & Quality of the food: They have a very nice menu (don't remember exactly but 8 starters, mains and 6 dessers) and 3 course meal for 33 Eur (and you choose from all starters, mains and dessters) and the quality of the products they use is very good
- Interior & Location: the place is located on a small street and has a nice big terrace on the adjecent square: when the weathers good ourside you can have dinner there and when it got too cold, they had a table for us ready inside. The look of the place is very warm, fireplace, wood, cool bar..
- you get water without having to beg for it. Unlike a lot of other places in town where they "don't have tap water", here you get it without having to ask for it.

What I don't like:
- reservation process online was a bit vague..
- that it's probably going to be very busy soon...

Summarized: this is an excellent casual restaurant in the center of Amsterdam that offers great value for money

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your meal at The Lobby! Even though you are local, we love that you decided to give us a try, because that is really what we are aiming for- a nice mix of locals and visitors to Amsterdam. So thank you for giving it a shot!

And for your min points:
- reservation process online was a bit vague.. <- I understand. Will pass this on to the website manager. For the next time, you can also reserve by emailing thelobby@hotelv.nl Maybe that is easier?
- that it's probably going to be very busy soon... <- Aaaah! :) Can't help you there, because this is what we hope for!

See you again some time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    38
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We 'found' this restaurant when we stayed at the Hotel V Nesplein, and enjoyed our afternoon drinks and snacks here between daytime sightseeing and nighttime entertainment. We enjoyed it so much, that we took a train from our overnight hotel at Schipol Airport back into Amsterdam to come and have dinner here on our last night. The menu is trendy and the service is great. Highly recommend darting down Nes Street from Dam Plein to come and try it out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Wow, that is such a compliment! Thank you so much for your patronage, and hope to see you back in Amsterdam one day soon!

Until then,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skovlunde, Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Highly underrated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

This little "Gastropub" was supprisingly cheap considering what we got to eat.

Great flavours, great wine, excellent service.

I had some trouble finding the right wine, so the waiter let me taste four diffent wines befor choosing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your meal at The Lobby. We are so happy that you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you again one day soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Abu Dhabi, UAE
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very creative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very creative menu, with a dutch touch. Nice ambiance, staff friendly and professional.Good as the hotel

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review!
See you again one day!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stumbled upon this little gem and had a great meal, I was so impressed that I instantly booked the restaurant for a group of 7.
When dinning there the first time we came in really late but the waiter asked the kitchen and they where willing to serve us even though they where official past kitchen closing time. That was a great start of a great meal. We thought we could only order a main as the kitchen was closing down but it was fine to order a starter too.
Service was great, very swift and efficient. I thought it might be because it was late and not so busy but when eating there on a busy weekend with a large group the service was just as good.
A few days later I met up with friends on a busy Saturday. We first had some drinks at the bar and everyone who came in was given a glass of water and instantly helped by the barman, our glasses where never empty and drinks where pored with a smile. I expected to get less service as it was busy and it is always more difficult to please a whole group but I was pleasantly surprised by the staff. Amsterdam restaurants do not have great reputations for service and staff but the staff here was really outstanding. Very professional, not mixing up orders, friendly, cheerful and alert.
They have a great menu and all the things I had where really tasty and well balanced. The whole group was very very pleased with their chosen dishes and some of the people are normally quite hard to please. Next day several people from the group contacted me to say they had a great meal and loved the location.

The menu is original but not for a moment does the originality stand in the way of flavours. Sometimes new places try too hard and fail cooking exciting but well-balanced dishes. The quality of the ingredients and the balanced flavours was really good and there was enough food on the plate as well.

The interior is very cozy, well lit out and comfortable with brown and retro looking furniture. The bar is great if you just want to have a drink although it would be a shame not to eat there as well.
I hope they will keep this level of cooking and service up when this place becomes more popular as I am sure it will do.

All in all a real gem, great place for a lovely meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for the very kind and very thorough review! We are so glad you liked it enough to come back immediately for a second time!
We will work hard to keep this up for you, and everyone else that will be visiting us in the future.
Thanks again, and see you soon.

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobby Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to The Lobby Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lobby Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.