We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, convenient, caring (host)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Comfy, convenient, caring (host)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed four nights at the beginning of my 2 1/2 week European trip. Arrived about 10:00 in the morning and was greeted by Angelo. He was very welcoming; even though he admitted he was a little under the weather, he took the time to chat and get to know me a bit and then walk me upstairs to show me my room as well as the breakfast area. As I was too early to check-in he went over some points of interest on a map and told me he would email/text me when my room was ready.

The location is excellent: less than 10 minutes walk from the train station, about 5 to Dam Square and very close to the Jordaan

The room itself was very clean and comfortable. The bed was soft and felt great after walking around the city all day. The best way I can describe the decor would be cozy/homely. There's a small fridge (always a nice thing to have), a flat screen TV, and a coffee maker (in case you're way too lazy to walk up one flight of stairs to the dining area). My room was on the side of the building fronting the street which seems like a quiet side street but can actually get quite noisy at night when groups of rowdy kids/drunks pass by.

Breakfast is self-serve. There were meats, cheeses, bread, yogurt, cereal, eggs, tea and a coffee maker. If you like, you can also use the kitchen to cook up an omelette or scrambled eggs. Oddly, I didn't see another guest the whole time I was there, perhaps because I was usually out the door by 8-8:30. The kitchen is always open in case you want a snack or a drink.

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
65
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We picked this B&B from the review scores on Booking.com and they weren't wrong.
The day before we flew we received an email from the owner Angelo with all the help and directions we would need.
Upon arrival Angelo greeted us and carried our bags up to the third floor and showed us around. We were staying in the room on the same floor as the kitchen which was ace because it meant we had very easy access to snacks and Nespresso coffee all day! Angelo gave us his mobile number in case we wanted him for anything during our stay - even if we were out and about.
Our room was amazing and very spacious and had a lovely view out onto the street. The bed was extremely comfy and big.
It was a help yourself breakfast with no set times (so no alarm clocks yay!) where we had pastries, breads, cheese, meats, yoghurt, juice, fruits, cereal, and eggs to cook however you wanted.
The location of the B&B is fab - near the station, near Dam Sq, tramlines and shops - couldn't have asked for better.
The only downside to the building is the stairs - they are very steep but this would not put us off going again.
Upon checking out Angelo told us about the room with a jacuzzi bath - we'll be going back for that one!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwevegem
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed at tis bnb for 2 nights.
We can confirm all the good things that haven been said in these reviews on trip advisor: location excellent, Angelo very helpful, cleanliness ok ....
Yet we had a concern about our safety. Maybe some investments should be made to allow an escape route in case of fire. There is none indicated at the present time and with a narrow very steep staircase, I would hate to think what could happen if there were a fire in the building.
Strange that this concern has not been expressed in former reviews

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We had a very quick visit to Amsterdam, and what a wonderful time we had.
Crown is exceptionally well located, within walking distance, not only from the station, but pretty much anywhere in the city.
The breakfast rack morning was wonderful and a fantastic way to start the busy days...
We've recommend Crown to Friends going over, and would HIGHLY recommend Crown to anyone looking for super accommodation at excellent prices.
We'll definitely be back!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We spent a nice weekend in Crown B&B. We accommodated on the 5-th floor, which had a nice 2-room apartment with well equipped bathroom and fantastic balcony for chilling out, smoking and relaxing. They have also a coffee machine Nespresso in the room and coffee-tea amenities. Angelo is a perfect host, who is available in his office on the 1d floor or by phone. He gave us the city-map, answered all questions and showed true hospitality. Breakfast is various, served on the 4th floor in the morning, but also you can enjoy cookie and coffee-tea during the day. I wouldn't recommend this B&B for families with small children, who travel with strollers, because of traditional authentic steep stairs. Can be a quest to get to your room:)) Also me suffered a bit without condition, but there are no conditions in such buildings in Amsterdam. But don't care about it if you don't come in the middle of summer, when the temp is above +25.

Room Tip: If the summer is hot it's better to take the room on the 2 or 3 floor (on the 5-th it can be hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

Crown B & B turned out to be the best place for staying in Amsterdam as not only was the location comfortable and convenient; the B&B in itself was everything that you would expect from a smooth stay facility. The price is also decent enough and well worth for the rooms that you get at the place. The interiors are modern and tasteful and size perfect and comfortable. I stayed there with my friends and we enjoyed both the rooms and the services at the place.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

One of my favourite places to stay in Amsterdam. Location is brilliant, very central and easy to find and only a short walk from the railway station. The building is a beautifully converted old warehouse with a superb, tasteful modern interior. It's very comfortable with all needs catered for and Angelo is a fantastic host being very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is buffet style with lots to choose from so you can have as little or as much as you wish. Coffee is Nespresso - always a bonus for me being something of a coffee addict. There is a very small terrace on the top floor where you can smoke if you wish. Beware the steep staircase - as ever with old properties throughout Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.