We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in a Crown!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Zug, Switzerland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Gem in a Crown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Back after little less than a year, and again, looking forward to my next trip to Amsterdam,
and of course Crown B&B... Brilliant! Clean, Central, Friendly genuine people, Helpful staff,
and all the added FREE amenities, even drinks, coffee 24hours a day, and a good array of dishes
for breakfast just make this B&B far better than most hotels I have stayed in. Home away from home indeed.

Room Tip: All rooms are big and spacious, and if you're traveling as a group or family, their two bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
76
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked the Crown B & for a group of 14 of us, celebrating my friend's hen doo.

I couldn’t have been happier with our choice – it was perfect for our trip!

Communication with the hotel in advance of our trip was superb. They arranged airport transfers for us which were reliable and reasonable.

The team at the hotel were lovely. Really welcoming, helpful and nice.

The hotel isn’t what I would call a luxurious hotel, but for the price, it wowed all of our group and without a doubt exceeded our expectations. It was super clean, had a cute Indonesian feel to the décor, the staff were lovely, the location is ideal, and, each room has its own private pre-stocked breakfast bar (either in the room or in a private kitchen area) which is such a nice touch! You also have access to drinks around the clock too (juices, water, teas and coffees) which was really impressive. The attention to detail at this hotel is better than some of the plush hotels I have stayed at, and you really are made to feel so welcome and well looked after.

I would defo recommend this hotel and defo stay here again. If you are the sort of person that appreciates the little touches, you’ll love it here!

Room Tip: If you are in a group, book early as the hotel only has a few rooms. If you're lucky, you'll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Crown B&B for a short break over Easter, great place to stay location is very central. Our attic room was fab, quirky with low ceilings, lots of stairs but worth it and the roof terrace was a good extra to sit in the sunshine and rest your legs after all that walking around sightseeing. Would recommend The Crown B&B to anyone visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are just back from our trip to Amsterdam. Full marks to Crown BnB. Angelo is a great host.. a soft spoken young man, he was so helpful, looking after our every need and going out of the way to see his guests are comfortable. The place itself is in a great location.. about 8 mins from the Centraal. It was extremely clean and very spacious. We were in the second floor which was recently renovated. The bedrooms were big and kitchen was ultra modern. We reallly enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back to Crown, if we go to Amsterdam. Would recommend this place whole heartedly for others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Crown bed and breakfast for 3 nights at the end of March. It was our first trip to Amsterdam. We made our booking due to all the good reviews about Angelos' hospitality. We were not disappointed.
It is a very short and easy walk from Central Station and on our arrival we were greeted by Angelo and given coffee while he sat down with us and marked out all the sights on a map. He made us feel very welcome.
In typical Amsterdam style, the building is very tall, old and has no lift so I would not recommend this place to anyone who has trouble with stairs. We were on the 4th floor but we had packed light and had no problems.
Our room was exactly how it looked on the website and our towels were arranged as an elephant on the bed which was a lovely touch.
The breakfast room was self service with a good selection of continental type breakfast foods.
Location wise, it is spot on. You can walk everywhere from the b&b. We were very lucky with the weather but there are also plenty of tram stops nearby.
Angelo is available as little or as much as you need him so if you just want to be left alone this is the place for you.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay and would definitately recommend this place and go back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family and I stayed here for four nights in April. We had the perfect set up for us (two couples and one single adult). We had two private rooms (with private bathrooms) and one large couch to pull out. The rooms were recently renovated and gorgeous. The kitchen and bathrooms were also huge and modern. Angelo was super nice and helpful. He is a wonderful host. Every day he asked if we needed more breakfast supplies. He also gave us new breads daily. Our room also came with a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch!

The location was perfect; you can walk anywhere from the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Everyone has already said everything so I'll be brief - location perfect for everything, easy to find from Central station (5 minutes walk with great directions supplied by hotel), Angelo brilliant and helpful, breakfast set up different but superb. Building and rooms are what you imagine Amsterdam to be like, not like the huge corporate (impersonal) hotels.

Lots of steep stairs - no problem to us but could be for some. Only one problem - drunken people shouting/laughing loudly on their way home from the many stag/hen nights - one night it went on and off till around 5am.

Not the hotel's fault so five stars it is. Would definitely stay here if we go back to Amsterdam, and probably will :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.