We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Crown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We are just back from our trip to Amsterdam. Full marks to Crown BnB. Angelo is a great host.. a soft spoken young man, he was so helpful, looking after our every need and going out of the way to see his guests are comfortable. The place itself is in a great location.. about 8 mins from the Centraal. It was extremely clean and very spacious. We were in the second floor which was recently renovated. The bedrooms were big and kitchen was ultra modern. We reallly enjoyed our stay and will certainly go back to Crown, if we go to Amsterdam. Would recommend this place whole heartedly for others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
63
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed at the Crown bed and breakfast for 3 nights at the end of March. It was our first trip to Amsterdam. We made our booking due to all the good reviews about Angelos' hospitality. We were not disappointed.
It is a very short and easy walk from Central Station and on our arrival we were greeted by Angelo and given coffee while he sat down with us and marked out all the sights on a map. He made us feel very welcome.
In typical Amsterdam style, the building is very tall, old and has no lift so I would not recommend this place to anyone who has trouble with stairs. We were on the 4th floor but we had packed light and had no problems.
Our room was exactly how it looked on the website and our towels were arranged as an elephant on the bed which was a lovely touch.
The breakfast room was self service with a good selection of continental type breakfast foods.
Location wise, it is spot on. You can walk everywhere from the b&b. We were very lucky with the weather but there are also plenty of tram stops nearby.
Angelo is available as little or as much as you need him so if you just want to be left alone this is the place for you.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay and would definitately recommend this place and go back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My family and I stayed here for four nights in April. We had the perfect set up for us (two couples and one single adult). We had two private rooms (with private bathrooms) and one large couch to pull out. The rooms were recently renovated and gorgeous. The kitchen and bathrooms were also huge and modern. Angelo was super nice and helpful. He is a wonderful host. Every day he asked if we needed more breakfast supplies. He also gave us new breads daily. Our room also came with a Nespresso machine which was a nice touch!

The location was perfect; you can walk anywhere from the B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Everyone has already said everything so I'll be brief - location perfect for everything, easy to find from Central station (5 minutes walk with great directions supplied by hotel), Angelo brilliant and helpful, breakfast set up different but superb. Building and rooms are what you imagine Amsterdam to be like, not like the huge corporate (impersonal) hotels.

Lots of steep stairs - no problem to us but could be for some. Only one problem - drunken people shouting/laughing loudly on their way home from the many stag/hen nights - one night it went on and off till around 5am.

Not the hotel's fault so five stars it is. Would definitely stay here if we go back to Amsterdam, and probably will :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our family (5 adults) stayed at Crown B & B for 4 nights in a spacious, comfortable two BR apartment, which was very recently renovated. Everything was superb - very close (but not too close) to the train station, the Dam, and many other sites. The location is great and Angelo, the owner, was extremely gracious and very helpful. He brought us fresh bread, eggs, cheese and yogurt for breakfast and made sure our stay was totally satisfactory.

I very highly recommend Crown B & B (and the city of Amsterdam).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here in April 2014 for 2 nights on a city break. We booked a Double room. Before arrival we received an email and txt from the owner Angelo to confirm our arrival time and offer to store our luggage if we were early for check in. This was a nice personal touch we have not had from other hotels. The hotel is situated a short walk from Dam Square and Central Station. On arrival Angelo greeted us at the door and welcomed us in. He presented us with a city map, enquired about what we were interested in and marked our map with anything we required. He had a great and enthusiastic knowledge of the city. Having visited Amsterdam many times before we asked about good places to eat. Angelo marked several personal suggestions on our map and even booked us in to a prime table at a popular restaurant where we were greeted as special guests by the staff. Another nice touch. We were then given a tour of the building. It is a traditional Amsterdam house with steep stairs. We had a room on the 4th floor. It was beautifully decorated and bright with large traditional dutch windows and at large flat screen tv and free wifi. We have stayed in Amsterdam several times and this was the biggest room we have ever had. Angelo informed us it was in fact the smallest room in the hotel which was a shock! Cant imagine the size of the other rooms. The breakfast room was well equipped. You basically help your self to breakfast. There is a selection of bread, cold meats, cheese, fruit, yogurts jams ect. There is a toaster, coffee machine and a cooker and pans if you want make your own eggs, which we enjoyed doing both mornings in the beautiful bright breakfast room. Once we had checked in we were given front door and room keys. There is no reception as such but Angelo made sure we knew how to contact him if we needed anything at all. It really felt like having you own apartment in the centre of Amsterdam. We will definitely be staying here on our next visit to Amsterdam and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone looking for something a bit special in a great city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Arrived this morning and upgraded by our host, Angelo, to a splendid apartment, light and spacious and elegantly furnished with all we need in a great location! We're thrilled! It's just made our vacation!

Room Tip: Book early because this is a gem, a real find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.