We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Crown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We spent one night here at the end of a 5 day journey in the Netherlands. From previous reviews we were very excited and the standard of accommodation lived up to the hype. Angelo, the host, helped us up with our luggage and then made us a coffee whilst explaining the various tourist locations nearby and taking time to show us them on a map. He was extremely friendly and made the stay seem as though we were staying in a friend's house and not a nameless hotel.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, and they are currently renovating the lower floors of the B&B.
The B&B is 5 mins from the station and close to the main locations of Amsterdam.
Would definitely recommend staying here - the only issue we had was with the stairs as my mum suffers from vertigo and a fear of heights. The stairs are steep and winding but the problem was that she could see through the gaps. Other than that we have no issues. Also the showers are a work of art with body sprays, and a rain shower.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
53
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I loved everything about this place. I felt safe, the rooms were clean and a good size and I liked the location. Angelo is an amazing host and even takes the time to point out the various tourist destinations. The location is close to the train station and close to restaurants, coffee shops and museums. People complain about stairs but they are pretty much the same everywhere I've been in Europe. Angelo even brought them up to our room. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: Each room has a different décor/theme so check them all out before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Only spent 1 night here but were glad we picked this b&b.
A 5 minute walk from central station and easy to find.
When we arrived we were met by Angelo who took us up to the breakfast room ,sat us down with a map and took time to find out what we wanted to do and then marked of places of interest, restaurants and tram stops.
The room we had was at the front of the b&b. The room was a good size with a very comfortable bed and nicely decorated. Bathroom was a good size with a good shower.
Even being at the front overlooking the road we were only woken once during the night and that was due to a very noisy motorbike.
Breakfast is help your self affair with a selection of juices ,meats ,cheese, eggs which
you cook your self and various breads, cereals and fruit everything most people could need. and there is a very good coffee machine
Even though we had tea and coffee in the room Angelo informed us if we wanted any juice, water or more coffee to help our selves from the breakfast room at any time
We were also able to leave our bag during the day and collect it later before we went to get the ferry home.
The stairs up to the b&b are very narrow and steep and not suitable if you have mobility problems.
WE would recommend this b&b and look forward to our next visit

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Me and my wife made Crown B&B our last stop before going home. After a 12-night-cruise (in a tiny cabin) and our main experience regarding room sizes from our previous trips to Europe, we have very low expectations. Anyway, after a short walk (that felt like a 42k distance) with a broken-wheel-luggage from the port to the hotel (that is conveniently located near the central station) and climbing the very-very-narrow-stairs to get into the B&B (it is located in the last floor) we were speechless when we found this unusual, amazing, huge room! that was awesome! everything was perfect, really clean, everything in order and decorated with a really good taste.

But to be honest the best part came with the service provided by our host, Adam. He gave us all the information that we needed and made us feel like home. Kudos for that!

Pros: Great host, huge rooms, all the amenities that you need.
Cons: The stairs, but anyway, that´s how every building in central Amsterdam might be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We spent only one night in this B&B in Amsterdam and we only whish to stay longer.
Perfect location, nice clean and big room, great various B Fast and friendly staff, Thanks Angelo for your Hospitality and friendship, we will come back for sure.

Room Tip: if you are quickly awake maybe ask for a back side room, streets room might be sometimes noisy, Amst...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Crown B&B has a brilliant location, a short walk from Centraal Station but on a quiet road. Great choice of cafes, bars and coffeeshops within a 5 minute stroll. Adam, Angelo and Nicki were great hosts, welcoming and happy to help. Our room, a luxury double on the 3rd floor, was huge, stunning and even had a Jacuzzi, such a treat after a day walking round! We had a sofa, dressing table, tv, kettle and fridge in our room and even with the superking bed and cupboards we had plenty of space - it is more a suite than a room! The breakfast in the beautiful kitchen/breakfast room was laid out continental style and offered plenty of choice - we popped up to the kitchen when we got home at night for a snack and coffee. This B&B is great value for money if you are after something a bit special for your visit to Amsterdam! The only drawback for us was the steep and winding Dutch staircase which was more to do with our dodgy knees than the design - but Adam kindly took our bags up and down for us.

Room Tip: The luxury double on the 3rd floor is made for a romantic weekend!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Our room and bathroom were very big ( not what you usually find in Amsterdam) clean, very quiet and comfortable, with a small refrigerator and TV in the room and a fresh orchid!!! Angelo received us and carried our luggage up the stairs!! He was so nice!!!! Very patient and kind. He gave us recommendations for restaurants and more… he made us feel at home. The breakfast room and kitchen are very nice with table cloths beautifully set and a great coffee machine. The breakfast was good (fresh eggs that you could make the way you want), bread, fruits, yogurt, ham, cheese…. You just need to be fit to climb the stairs!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. We stayed in the deluxe room that faces the back and was very quiet. It had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.