We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit as good as the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Crown Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This wonderful B&B has been open for less than a year and is going from strength to strength. It's in a good location, easy to find and is only a short walk from Centraal Station. The welcome afforded by both Adam and Angelo was wonderful and I felt 'at home' immediately, possibly helped by the fact that this was my second visit here but I'm sure every guest here would feel the same. The accommodation is delightful and comfortable with all needs being catered for. There is a lovely buffet breakfast with a good array of coffee (Nespresso, yeah!), tea and juice, in fact everything a body could want! I wholeheartedly recommend the Crown B&B despite the steps, it's well worth the climb. Go on, book it, you know you want to!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
62
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alloa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Tamara, 26 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at the Crown B&B. The location was fantastic - only a few minutes walk from Centraal Station and surprisingly close to all of the sights. Angelo, who was more like an old (or new!) friend, was a fantastic host - showing us how to get to all of the places we wanted to go and advising us where to eat and drink along the way. He was there 1st thing in the morning to see how our day had gone and what our plans were for that day, offering suggestions and route advice. Breakfast was a help-yourself affair with everything you could possibly want available on covered plates in the huge fridge. We were also invited to help ourselves through the day/night to a selection of fruit juice, iced water and Nespresso (yum) coffee. The room was absolutely gorgeous, biggest bed, bedroom and bathroom I think I've ever stayed in when on holiday! The decor was very bohemian (loved it) and the bathroom was wall to wall (& floor) marble with a huge spa bath and separate shower area. The room was very warm but Angelo had already put a big fan in the room which we just left on all day and night; he's apparently getting air-con put into the rooms soon which will def make a positive difference for some but I didn't mind being warm as it added to the homely feel and we just slept on top of the covers! For all of these reasons (inc twisty Amsterdam stairs) I would def go back as I prefer to feel that I am experiencing the city I am visiting instead of staying in a cold, impersonal, sterile, corporate designed hotel. Well done Angelo - we loved our stay and thank you for being a fabulous host!
The traditional Amsterdam staircase (open, wooden, twisty) is not for everyone, so if you're scared of heights or have any mobility issues you will struggle. For me - it just added to the charm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Crown earlier this month, it’s a really nice B&B I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Amsterdam.
The owners have gone to great lengths restoring this traditional old building, it’s in a central location close to all the main tourist attractions and a 5 minute walk from the train station.

We stayed in the room adjacent to the dining area it was nice and quiet, spacious and clean, the breakfast is self service with a wide variety of choice to suit everyone.

Angelo is a perfect host he greeted us on arrival, made us a drink, spent some time recommending restaurants places of interest etc and even provided us with a complimentary bottle of wine.

I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in June and had a wonderful stay . We felt very fortunate to have chosen the Crown B & B . We were welcomed by Angelo and given a very helpful introduction on what to do and see . He was in no hurry and gave us plenty of time and help to settle in . Our room was excellent and quiet . The breakfast is set in a lovely dining room and there is plenty of food . It is a self serve , which is a great idea . Plenty of juice , meats , cheese , cereal , eggs , yoghurt , tea and coffee . We were able to help ourselves to the wonderful coffee machine at any time of the day .
Great free wifi on site . We used the dining room on many afternoons to write or have a wine or beer . Angelo was always around to chat or join us to offer more information and enquire about our day . A fabulous host . The property is in a excellent location , close to train , restaurants and walking distance to all the attractions . I can not offer more praise for this property or its owners . It felt like being with friends .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I visited Amsterdam just few days ago. I stayed in this lowely bed an brekafast 3 nights. It was a nice experiance. The location is right in the heart if this crazy city. My room was on the third floor, very big with jacuzzi and huuuge bathroom. Clean, comfortable. Breakfast was included in the prize and was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this exceptional B&B. Our room was huge and very nice decorated. The bathroom is stylish and has got a raindrop shower. Angelo was very helpful and the kitchen/breakfast room provides a homelike atmosphere. There are a few steps to climb up, but Angelo did the hard part and carried the big suitcase up for us. Thank you for the great time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have visited Amsterdam many times and stayed in other places around Old Town and decided to go for this newer B&B that had just opened recently. I wanted the experience of the old Canal House charme and sure got it. Yes, the stairs... folks, ... this is Amsterdam, that's how they are built, you will have to lug your suitcases a grueling narrow and winding staircase but the owners will help gladly help you with all. But if you're not used to this... watch your step, lol, especially after a long night out *hint*. Felt like staying with family. The breakfast area is cozy and the breakfast had quite a variety. You can access the room 24/7 , there is always something to snack on. My friends and I spent quite some time up there, chatting with the super-friendly owners over coffee. They were too nice, at one point I had issues with my just purchased sim card and he let me use his cel phone to call a number that charges per minute, to resolve my situation -just goes to show how awesome these two are. The room was very cute and comfy, I booked the Double Dutch and it was bigger than what I 'm used to in Amsterdam , example: I stay usually in Hotel Estheria ...it is by far pricier but way smaller rooms...Everything was footsteps away. What we did not know is that we are in the ...whatchamacallit... borderline gay red / pink light district... whatever it is... it's interesting to walk back to your B&B at night =) . But no worries, very safe and awesome location. My first days I spent solo in Amsterdam as a single traveling female, so I can assure you, it is absolutely safe to walk around at all times. Make sure to pay attention to detail prior arrival in terms of the B&B, there is no sign outside the B&B, just watch for the red shutters, because it's easy to miss. And make sure to work out your arrival time that it coincides with the owners present, so you get access, as the heavy wood door is locked during all times and the office is upstairs and you will first need a key. That is only an issue if arrive in the middle of the night and have to ring the bell, which would wake everyone up, lol, but like I stated, the owners go out of their way to make sure your stay is enjoyable and trouble-free. I highly recommend Crown B & B.

Room Tip: I had the Double Dutch Room for myself, cute and cozy, watch that shower though. It is spacious enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Bed & Breakfast

Address: Spuistraat 78, 1012TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new Stylish and Luxurious Bed & Breakfast in the heart of Amsterdam. Our specious, tastefully furnished and decorated rooms will make your stay in Amsterdam a real treat. You can count on a perfect location and always helpful and friendly stuff. So don't hesitate and book your room today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Crown Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.