We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ibis Amstel was a great stopping place for us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Ibis Amstel was a great stopping place for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

On our way home from a River Cruise we had 3 days in Amsterdam. This hotel, altho pretty basic with small rooms. was a good place for us to explore Amsterdam. It is in more of a neighbourhood, but close to everything. including excellent tram service and about a 5 minute walk to the Hop-On-Hop-Off tourist bus. A short block away we found the Albert Cuyper market, and a little further we walked through a family neighbourhood with a large park. Our room was small but clean, beds not the most comfortable, but the staff were helpful, breakfast was included and fairly well laid out. We ate at two nearby restaurants, one of them, the White Elephant had wonderful Thai food.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are less subject to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyjazzwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

nice place with friendly staff,,,, great location.only thing problem is car park,no more space at all.that is for my own experince for this hotel ibis,break fast included for the price, thats all i can ,say.

Room Tip: just walked around to get the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronie1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The greatest thing about this Ibis, is that it's close to everything without being in the middle of everything. That way you can feel the city's atmosphere, without being surrounded by tourists all the time. The hotel and rooms are renovated, extremely clean, very modern, with nice views. It would be best to require a room on the second floor: that way you can get the view and make sure you avoid any street noise. Coffe and time are complementary both in the room and the lobby. Breakfast is rather basic.
Reception staff was great, providing maps and tips, indicating bars and things to do, wifi was very fast. Overall it was a nice stay. Would suggest this hotel to anyone who doesn't need anything super fancy or super romantic, but seeks a nice urban stay in a modern hotel.

Tip: There's a nice bar (Hutspot) with a local crowd around the corner and a coffee shop around the other corner. You can also give a try to the M. Heinekenplein square (right behind the Heineken Experience Building). Its five minutes from the hotel and full of life!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maria p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel great location between red light and museums . All with in walking distance great choice of places to eat locals bars and restaurants . The hotel is clean and the staff excellent . The breakfast is a continental one with a buffet which is constantly topped up .
The rooms are cleaned daily with fresh towels changed daily if you desire . The rooms are fresh and functional we stayed for five nights and they we comfortable and secure ( safe in every room ) . The air con was a blessing . A tram stop is very close for central station. The Albertcyup market is just round the corner and is well worth a visit for gifts and all sorts of tasty treats .

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mdbnjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Took 20 minutes of waiting for check-in because hotel personnel did not have correct information. No real airport shuttle (32 euros for special hotel service) It does not pick up. Carpets need to be cleaned.... Mattress was old and hard. Does not meet up to Ibis standards.

Good breakfast and Good channel selection!

Room Tip: This hotel was just 2 miles south of the Centrum with good tram access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Birmingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The hotel is a bit of walk out from the train station in the centre of Amsterdam I would recommend anyone to get the tram only a couple of euros plus their quick and frequent and will save you a good 25-30 minute walk. The location is good however for the Heineken factory and the Rijksmusuem about a 5 minute walk to either.

The hotel itself is average it was a last minute purchase of mine and I hadn't studied it like I usually do when booking a trip away. The reception was as you'd expect just a formality hand over passports sign this pay city tax etc etc… I got the keys to the room after going in the lift to the 4th floor (by the way the longest lift ride ever sure there was a hamster on a wheel making it move) it's a bit awkward to find your room as you get off the lift as they don't go in numerical order but not an issue soon got there. The room itself was on the smaller side but big enough for one night the room was clean, had a tv and safe and the bathroom was idea again perfect for a short stay.

The downsides were a 3 inch gap under the door that didn't help with the noise of the hotel, the pillows on the bed were none existent had to use my coat under the pillow to make it comfortable the noise in this room and banging from other guests late at night was beyond a joke and finally I got an slight electric shock off the bedside lamp as unknown to me the switch was broken I informed the person on reception who to be honest didn't seem all that bothered.…

Breakfast in the hotel was ok we had to go down to the ground floor where there was pastries and assorted meats the usual continental breakfast limited choice but good quality food none the less. On our booking form it stated free snacks and drinks available throughout the stay this included of tea and coffee facilities in reception and some sweets on the counter… other than this the closest I came to a free snack was someone left 30 cent in the vending machine so I got a discount bueno bonus :-)

I would stay here again but only at short notice and if nothing else was available closer into the city

Room Tip: Make sure door is full length without gaps underneath…
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moses1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#193 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#128 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#133 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, ACCOR, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing