We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Distance from centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (De Pijp)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great location with clean rooms & friendly staff. As said before, lift is not the best and stairs are steep but not really a big problem. Good breakfast too. Very good for the price, exactly what you want from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Firstly - excellent location with easy access on the doorstep to everywhere by tram (including NS Station RAI) and easy walk from Leidesplein and Rembrandtplein bar areas (as well as being in the funky Oud Pijp area.

It's a typical Styles design too. Funky, arty, modern but suffers perhaps from being a conversion of one of those old Amsterdam canal side mansions. Nicely-appointed modern rooms with a decent breakfast but space is quite tight in the public areas, there are steep, creaky stairs, dodgy plumbing (pulsing hot then cold in my shower) and the free wi-fi kept dropping out. I am a huge fan of Accor but would I stay again? If it was really cheap. Only then.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ybyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

It's great for a hotel of its category. I loved it! The view from the windows, the breakfast :) , the rooms... The only problem is the extremely slow elevator... But apart that it's fantastic! The zone in which the hotel is located is great, too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottersum
Level Contributor
119 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hotel ibis styles Amstel, stadhouderskade 131, amsterdam is a completly renovated hotel in the city centre about 15 minutes by foot from the Stedelijk Museum and the Rijksmuseum. Be aware that here is another Ibis Styles hotel at number 135, so this review only concerns Ibis Styles Amstel. The hotel was reopened in (December?) 2013 after it is placed in the management of the Accor Group. It is located opposite one of Amsterdam’s many canals and in short distance from the river Amstel. There is a good connection with the Central Train station (tram number 4, two minutes from the hotel) and with other important places to visit. You enter the hotel via a short staircase (I am not sure that there is an elevator). In the lobby you will find a drinks vending machine and the desk. There is only a breakfast room downstairs, so you cannot have lunch or dinner which does not matter at all because there are several restaurants nearby. There is a small parking near the hotel.
Check in/check out went very smoothly and staff is very kind and helpful.
We asked for a quiet room and we got one (105). It is a medium seized room, very well decorated and it has a double bed with excellent mattresses. Opposite the bed there is a large LCD TV with a lot of channels in different languages. There is a linen cupboard with a safe in it, and a long work surface with tea/coffee facilities on it. A small negative point is the poor lighting of the work surface. The room has textile floor coverings. There is no fridge or minibar, but a very well working air-conditioner. The room is very well soundproofed and our room had a view on the small parking place. The bathroom is not large but very well equipped (soap, shampoo, hairdryer) with an excellent working shower. There even is a safety grip at the wall. Although not necessarily, towels are changed every day. Room and bathroom are impeccable clean.
The warm and cold breakfast buffet is very good and is included in the price of the room. There are several kinds of bread, meat and cheese products, fresh fruit, Greek yoghurt and cereals. Coffee is really good.
We were able to take advantage of a special offer (118,65 euro for two nights including breakfast), but even at the normal rate, the hotel is very recommendable because of its good quality.
Personal note: as this is my 100th review on Tripadvisor, I am glad to offer you a positive one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We have stayed 5 nights at this hotel in October 2013.
My spouse and I really enjoyed the location. Although it
is on a busy thoroughfare, it remains outside rush hours a very quiet
pleace to be. The room was perfect and clean. The tram #4 is almost next door and with the Iamsterdam card, we were able to travel all around. It is walking distance from the Utrechtsestraat where you can find all kind of very good restaurants. The breakfast downstairs is very good and it starts well a day of walking!! One very negative aspect: the staff. Apart from one lady, you feel like you disturb all the others!!!. No welcome, just hi or hello !!!! very cold minded staff at the front desk. Even on the verge of being arrogant I would go back because of location but I hope they change all their staff !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Watchermontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibis_Styles_Amstel, Front Office Manager at Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear ,


Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us,
We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your time in the hotel and in Amsterdam.

I'm sorry for the less experience you had with the staff,
we always have high standard to make the guest feel home.


Kind regards
Jolet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
Ibis Styles Amsterdam City
#193 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 682 reviews
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#127 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,050 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,610 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#128 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,149 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel V Frederiksplein
Hotel V Frederiksplein
#133 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > De Pijp , Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Venere, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing