We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Save Saved
You added Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% Discount
Ranked #147 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Barlad, Romania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

It's a fine hotel in a excellent place.The rooms are small but very clean ; is well furnished but would require a hanger(coat rack) for wet clothes or umbrellas .The lighting in the bath are very poor.The staff are very friendly and helpful.The breakfast was good.
I will ,certainly, stay at this hotel again when I visit Amsterdam;for the same money(good value for money).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    79
    33
    11
    2
See reviews for
42
58
15
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during a business trip. It was initially supposed to be a single room but we upgraded to a double. We ended up with a room on the 3rd floor with a nice view of the canal.

Pros:
The room itself was tiny as the bed took up most of the space but it was a nice and comfortable bed. Everything was very clean and room service did a good job during our 3 night stay. The shower was good though I wish it was a bit bigger. Breakfast was probably my favorite part as they had a wide variety of everything - eggs always freshly made, meats, cheeses, breads (including amazing croissants), cereals, yogurt, fruit, really great coffee, juices - pretty much everything!

Cons:
I did not like the fact that the lighting in the bathroom was very poor as one of the light bulbs was out. There are no adequate mirrors in the room. It has one large mirror, however, it is tinted and awkwardly placed; I had a hard time getting ready for work in the morning.
The phone did not work and it was not even plugged into the wall.
Finally, very, very, veryyyy slow elevator. It's also very small but that was not an issue for me.

One thing I found annoying but is not uncommon is that everything is controlled by your keycard (lights and tv). So you need to remember and remind anyone staying with you not to take the key card out when leaving (especially if you happen to be in the shower!)

I would stay again and recommend this place to others as the location is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

When we first walked in to our room we were a little shocked at the size, however, as we were visiting Amsterdam for the weekend the room was perfect- and very clean.
The Hotel is in a great location- very quiet and very close to the 'Heineken Brewery'. We did find ourselves sneaking in to the hotel at night as the floor boards squeak and noises travel 'well'.
The breakfast had something for everyone and it seemed all the guests were enjoying the food.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a 'cheap' place to stay for the weekend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This small, chich hoel right on the canal couldn't be more delightful. I was able to walk conveniently everywhere I needed to go. Ellen and Omar at the front desk were most helpful and always with a smile. The decor is very chic. Unfortunately no bathtubs but I survived. The weather was gorgeous. A bit of rain which cooled things off, but it is a very humid city so forget about looking like you just stepped out of Vogue! The city is amazingly convenient with trains, buses, trams, bicycles. It never ceases to amaze me why America can't be like this! Oh yeah, Huge oil corporations!!! Anyway, loved every minute of the stay. Even our topsy turvy boat trip. What fun! And don't forget to eat at Pata Negra! The best tapaps in the city!

Room Tip: No complaints here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cityville
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location was excellent - it's a little bit out of town but in Amsterdam that means a 10 minute tram from Centraal. It is near some really nice markets, not far from the Museumkwartier and the Heineken Experience, in what feels almost like a residential area, and which is very quiet. Weirdly, it is right next door to another Ibis hotel, so just make sure that you know which one you have booked yourself into!

The hotel itself is nice enough. Not the most comfortable Ibis I've stayed in, and the rooms were particularly small and felt a bit old, but some of the rooms were being renovated whilst I was there so I assume that eventually it will feel a lot newer. That said, it was comfortable enough and you won't be unhappy with it, especially if you actually get out and see the city! The rooms were air conditioned which apparently is very rare in Amsterdam but was a godsend during what I'm told has been one of their warmest summers in a while. My only real gripes with the hotel were the lift, which was incredibly slow and sometimes refused to open its doors even when you could see through the door that it was sitting on your level, and the internet, which was free but too slow to even maintain a skype voice call.

The staff were very friendly though, and always said hi without making you feel as though they were prying, and they all seemed to speak English quite well. They were very welcoming and helpful, and I would probably stay there again just because of that!

Over all, I would definitely recommend this hotel - it is no 5-star hotel by any means, but it is comfortable enough and in a very nice, safe location, and it was fine to stay in even for almost 2 weeks!

Room Tip: I actually liked having a room higher up, but beware that the lift is very slow. Also, it does not g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel

Address: Stadhouderskade 131, 1074 AW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, HotelsNL, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Amsterdam Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.