We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel - walking distance to almost everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Amsterdam Canal Hotel to your Saves list
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel - walking distance to almost everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Pleasantly surprised by this lovely boutique hotel. From check in, breakfast to check out, staff were friendly & helpful. The hotel is a good 30 min walk from the central station but well worth the time to really appreciate Amsterdam, the canals & architecture. Breakfast was good with small selection of cheeses, smoked salmon, ham, fruit & juices. Rooms were nicely furnished with pretty comfy beds. A place we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    61
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
92
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Gorgeous place, very clean, good location, with a very nice breakfast and a awesome staff. Simply the best receptionists.
We liked everything! The bedrooms were very nicely decorated, the breakfast was great and, most of all, the staff was very kind and helpfull (one special word of apreciation to the recepcionist (Sasksa??), 'cause she really did everything to make our stay a special one. It is a bit far from the center, but the public transportation is good, so it's not a problem. If you want to be in the museum area, than it's perfect.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel for Christmas week (2013.) It was a pleasure. Right after I booked the room, I received an email from the hotel asking me if I had any requests, concerns, or questions about Amsterdam, along with directions on how to reach the hotel! The staff was so wonderful-- they went over and beyond for us throughout the week, and never hesitated to help us. We checked in way early the first day and unfortunately our room was not available but the staff gave us a map, and information took our luggage and got us all checked in When we returned, they had already moved our luggage into our rooms and had everything prepared for us, all we did was pay and we walked into our room. We greatly appreciated the service and the smiles in the mornings during breakfast too! Speaking of breakfast, best EVER since we have been to Europe. It was a nice spread of scrambled eggs, cereal, pastries, cold meats, cheese, fruit, coffee, and fresh juices. The hotel is decorated very chic and stylish, and had a personality-- but not in a gaudy overbearing kind of way that you would find in other places. We stayed in room number 11-- the blue room (and YES the pictures REALLY do look like the rooms) and did not hear too much noise, occasionally we could hear our next door neighbors coming into there rooms, but other then that, there was nothing that would impede our stay there again. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, and we had a great nights (albeit late) sleep each day!! The minibar is free with water and soda, and we greatly appreciated that after the late nights coming in from dinner, and drinks out on the town. Great location too, right near a tram stop that runs through the main portions of town, and not a bad location to visit the Rijksmuseum which is a few blocks away. About a 10 minute tram ride (take the #4) straight down the road and you are a few blocks over from the hotel-- very easy to find, if coming from the train station- on #4 make a right. 15-20 minute walk from the main squares and shopping and red light district. All and all, the hotel was absolutely wonderful, the staff was top notch, and we look forward to seeing you guys again this spring for the Tulip festival!! Thank you for the wonderful time!

Room Tip: Beware of the steep stairs, if you are out of shape, or have any injuries it could be a little rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff there had the best service I've ever had in any city, especially Ervin, he was more than helpful. Me and my girlfriend loved the breakfast in the mornings and the free mini bar was great. The internet was super fast and the jacuzzi tub was a welcoming surprise. At first I thought the room was a bit small but after 5 minutes I got used to it and it was extremely cozy and nice. Though it isn't in the center of the city, everything was accessible with tram stations right outside the hotel or a quick 5-10 minute walk in any direction to restaurants, bars, or shops. To compliment the staff again, they were extremely helpful by recommending us where to go and what to do around the city. I would definitely recommend people to stay at this hotel and we'll be sure to come back to this hotel the next time we're in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: For the elderly or pregnant women, do not book a room higher than the 1st floor. The stairs are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and renovated with imagination so that the rooms are basic but smart and very comfortable. On the road side the trams kept us awake and you have to like stairs to reach the third floor but we changed to a more expensive room facing the canal, which was peaceful.That was until guests arrived during the night. We were told that improvements to noise insulation are about to happen. You can walk to most places of interest or take a choice of trams that run close by. A City pass is the best way to see lots of museums if you are so inclined, because entry is expensive to each one. The buffet breakfast downstairs was really good. All the staff were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose canal side rooms that are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights,the hotel was lovely the staff friendly and very helpful, You could hear street noise in the subterranean room but it wasn't excessive and the breakfast was wonderful. If we go back it Amsterdam we would definitely stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are immaculately clean, quirky and canal views, if you choose to pay the extra for them, are just great. Friendly service, delicious breakfasts and free minibar are the plus points. The location is also good, as you can walk to pretty much anywhere, and the immediate surrounding area is lovely, with good restaurants. The only low point is that the walls appear to be made from cardboard and the people in the next room sound like they are in YOUR room! I would still recommend this hotel, though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you once again for staying with us during your visit in Amsterdam. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, we strive to improve our product and services every day, and thanks to your review we can do!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in future again!

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star Amsterdam Canal Hotel is located on two beautiful canals and provides a warm welcome in a historic building which appeals to a broad spectrum travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.