We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic, Gorgeous, Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Amsterdam Canal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Amsterdam Canal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Chic, Gorgeous, Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at the Amsterdam Canal Hotel for Christmas week (2013.) It was a pleasure. Right after I booked the room, I received an email from the hotel asking me if I had any requests, concerns, or questions about Amsterdam, along with directions on how to reach the hotel! The staff was so wonderful-- they went over and beyond for us throughout the week, and never hesitated to help us. We checked in way early the first day and unfortunately our room was not available but the staff gave us a map, and information took our luggage and got us all checked in When we returned, they had already moved our luggage into our rooms and had everything prepared for us, all we did was pay and we walked into our room. We greatly appreciated the service and the smiles in the mornings during breakfast too! Speaking of breakfast, best EVER since we have been to Europe. It was a nice spread of scrambled eggs, cereal, pastries, cold meats, cheese, fruit, coffee, and fresh juices. The hotel is decorated very chic and stylish, and had a personality-- but not in a gaudy overbearing kind of way that you would find in other places. We stayed in room number 11-- the blue room (and YES the pictures REALLY do look like the rooms) and did not hear too much noise, occasionally we could hear our next door neighbors coming into there rooms, but other then that, there was nothing that would impede our stay there again. The beds in the hotel were very comfortable, and we had a great nights (albeit late) sleep each day!! The minibar is free with water and soda, and we greatly appreciated that after the late nights coming in from dinner, and drinks out on the town. Great location too, right near a tram stop that runs through the main portions of town, and not a bad location to visit the Rijksmuseum which is a few blocks away. About a 10 minute tram ride (take the #4) straight down the road and you are a few blocks over from the hotel-- very easy to find, if coming from the train station- on #4 make a right. 15-20 minute walk from the main squares and shopping and red light district. All and all, the hotel was absolutely wonderful, the staff was top notch, and we look forward to seeing you guys again this spring for the Tulip festival!! Thank you for the wonderful time!

Room Tip: Beware of the steep stairs, if you are out of shape, or have any injuries it could be a little rough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    33
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
51
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff there had the best service I've ever had in any city, especially Ervin, he was more than helpful. Me and my girlfriend loved the breakfast in the mornings and the free mini bar was great. The internet was super fast and the jacuzzi tub was a welcoming surprise. At first I thought the room was a bit small but after 5 minutes I got used to it and it was extremely cozy and nice. Though it isn't in the center of the city, everything was accessible with tram stations right outside the hotel or a quick 5-10 minute walk in any direction to restaurants, bars, or shops. To compliment the staff again, they were extremely helpful by recommending us where to go and what to do around the city. I would definitely recommend people to stay at this hotel and we'll be sure to come back to this hotel the next time we're in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: For the elderly or pregnant women, do not book a room higher than the 1st floor. The stairs are like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is in a good location and renovated with imagination so that the rooms are basic but smart and very comfortable. On the road side the trams kept us awake and you have to like stairs to reach the third floor but we changed to a more expensive room facing the canal, which was peaceful.That was until guests arrived during the night. We were told that improvements to noise insulation are about to happen. You can walk to most places of interest or take a choice of trams that run close by. A City pass is the best way to see lots of museums if you are so inclined, because entry is expensive to each one. The buffet breakfast downstairs was really good. All the staff were extremely pleasant.

Room Tip: Choose canal side rooms that are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 5 nights,the hotel was lovely the staff friendly and very helpful, You could hear street noise in the subterranean room but it wasn't excessive and the breakfast was wonderful. If we go back it Amsterdam we would definitely stay in the hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are immaculately clean, quirky and canal views, if you choose to pay the extra for them, are just great. Friendly service, delicious breakfasts and free minibar are the plus points. The location is also good, as you can walk to pretty much anywhere, and the immediate surrounding area is lovely, with good restaurants. The only low point is that the walls appear to be made from cardboard and the people in the next room sound like they are in YOUR room! I would still recommend this hotel, though!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you once again for staying with us during your visit in Amsterdam. It was a pleasure to welcoming you in our hotel.

Thank you for your suggestions, we strive to improve our product and services every day, and thanks to your review we can do!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in future again!

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is relatively new (it only opened at the beginning of this year) so I had not come across it before on previous trips to Amsterdam, however it will be on my list as one to return to. The location is good (tram 25 from the station takes you straight there) and it is surrounded by lovely little streets which are quintessentially Amsterdam. The hotel is in it's infancy so there were a few wee wrinkles. We lost the power a couple of times and our room was quite narrow which meant we had to enter the bed from the bottom but despite this every thing was done with charm and staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

Altogether, a very pleasant stay and one definitely to be repeated.

Room Tip: Go for a canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, General Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review on tripadvisor.

It was a great pleasure to host you in the Amsterdam Canal Hotel. On behalve of the complete we would like to thank you again for staying with us.

With your suggestions we can improve our product and our services. It's very important for us to get your feedback, thank you for this.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in future!
You can contact me directly to make your reservation.

All the best, with kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Modern,clean hotel in a good location. Staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Breakfast was good and there was plenty choice.
The rooms are small and i did miss a bed side table but other than that no problems.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: choose a canal view on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCanal_Hotel, General Manager at The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review!
It was a pleasure to host you as one of our guest.

On behalf of the complete we would like to thank you again for your stay!

If you would like to return to our hotel, or need any help, please contact me directly.

With kind regards,

J. Ligtvoet
General Manager (gm@canal-hotel.nl)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Amsterdam Canal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amsterdam Canal Hotel

Address: Weteringschans 253, 1017 XJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Amsterdam Canal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3-Star Amsterdam Canal Hotel is located on two beautiful canals and provides a warm welcome in a historic building which appeals to a broad spectrum travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsNL, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and EasyToBook so you can book your The Amsterdam Canal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Amsterdam Canal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.