We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just gorgeous!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penthouse & Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Penthouse & Garden Suites to your Saves list
Penthouse & Garden Suites
Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Klosterneuburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just gorgeous!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I am writing to express my appreciation for the quality of service that Charles offered us during our stay in Penthouse .I enjoyed the peace and quiet I needed,offered in all the facility of your gorgeous penthouse.
I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family, and I’m sure I’ll be back on vacation. I hope to get the same quality of service when I return. Thanks again Charles, see you soon.

M.M
27 June 2014

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
10
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elverum, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Vossiusstraat 15, in the top floor.
It was just like the pictures and in good condition.
There was the roof top veranda where you can wiew all the city from above.
Charles could not do more to make our stay perfect, he was really following up with the food, drinks etc.
Ask him for anything and he would do whatever is possible to make it happen.

Absolutely recomended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

What has been positively written before is most definitely correct here. The Garden Suite is perfect for two - if I were to be critical it would only be to say that there was just far too much for our stay. The fridge was absolutely full of various foods (Cheeses / Meats) & drinks (Wine/Beer/Soft Drinks).. plus teas/coffees/various breads/crackers (etc etc) in other cupboards.. so much so, that we could not manage it all ... Plus all the 'surprises' from Charles of wonderful apple-pie & flan... Plus the morning breakfasts of croissants / bread etc ... Wow - I put on a few pounds in my weight staying here (Thank you for looking after us & for spoiling us each day). Your information about Amsterdam was very worthwhile too, including the use of a named local taxi to/from the airport. Even a walk around the Vondelpark opposite was very worthwhile & allowed us the opportunity to chill on the balcony watching the world go by.
My only suggestion is for anyone wanting to enquire about the rooms would be Charles direct if possible as he is so helpful. Clearly I would be very happy to recommend Charles & Menno to anyone thinking of staying in Amsterdam. DONT miss this place it is so good & just so close to all the city has to offer & also very quietly located. This home & owner genuinely deserves its plaudits ...

Room Tip: We used the Garden Suite which is located at the back of the property overlooking the garden & p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a fantastic week at Vossiusstraat 15 Garden Suite!! The apartment is really amazing, a fantastic example of good taste, deserving to appear in decoration magazines such as AD!! Attention to minimum details of comfort and the special treatment Charles and Menno offered us made our stay in Amsterdam unfforgetable! Thank You.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spectacular! Everything about our weekend in Amsterdam was coupled with the exceptional apartments belonging to Charles on Voiusastraat.

As a group of 11 ladies, we wanted somewhere central & accomodation which we could only hope to blow our minds.

From the moment we arrived until a very kind late departure for leaving, we were made so welcome & at ease in our new home. Olga kindly checked us in & showed us around, along with a welcome glass of wine each.

We split ourselves between the Garden Suite, Studio & Penthouse Apartment and couldn't have expected more. The garden suite had a Balinese / Buddha relaxed feel to it, with a wonderful pond filled with fish, an outdoor table & soft seat, complete with foot heaters & a gas fire.

The studio downstairs was adequate for 2 people & had a lovely stocked fridge with beers & drinks.

The penthouse up (7 flights) of stairs blew us away with its 360degree roof top terrace! The artwork on the way up the stairs left the journey exciting to see what the next painting had in store.

This is without doubt the best accomodation we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We have been spreading the news to friends & family since we came back to Ireland.

Everything you read is true. Spectacular. The service we received was outstanding & the next time we visit Amsterdam the apartments will certainly be on our hit list.

Charles gave us some wonderful recommendations & could not have been more helpful. Finishing touches such as a warm apple pie left in each of the apartments made us decide the overall stay was sufficent to announce as 7star quality!

Book! Book! Book!

We sincerely doubt any accommodation in Amsterdam would come close to this amazing experience we cannot wait to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It is difficult to add anything else when you read all the other comments. If you are after the 5*+ experience, you need to choose on of these apartments. You can pay top bucks for the best hotel and some disgruntled employee can destroy your experience. Charles is the owner on site and makes sure every single detail gets taken care off. Absolutely fabulous, we are coming back in the summer time.

Thank you Charles!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Milos, thank you for taking time to write your most kind comment. It was fun to see you around in the house and sure, I am much looking forward to welcome you again in summer time. At that time you'll have full advantage from the private garden. Thank you once again for your kind comment. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Our default hotels are Peninsula, Rosewood & Four Seasons, but they are not in Amsterdam. As European hotels generally have small rooms and we were staying for 9 days, we decided on an apartment. We stumbled into The Penthouse, unbelievably everything that you read in these reviews is true. Spacious, modern, full of light, and the service offered by Charles & Iggy make this an extraordinarily comfortable place to enjoy your holiday.

Charles - our stay was Purr-fect!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,788 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#16 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#11 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,391 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#41 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penthouse & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse & Garden Suites

Address: Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 195 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENTHOUSE and GARDEN SUITES are spacious top-luxury design suites all inclusive food, drinks, snacks and services. GREAT LOCATION in the city centre near major museums and within minutes walking from the canals, bars and restaurants. ALL Amsterdam’s attractions are within walking distance. Enjoy the comfort of 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and free food, drinks, snacks, wines, internet, fireplace, bathrobes, slippers, fresh flowers, orchids, private roof terrace or garden with heated lounge area and another fireplace. Get inside information on special places to go and get assistance with restaurant reservations and how to move around in and outside town. Look at the reviews and be assured that your stay at PENTHOUSE and GARDENS SUITES will is guarantee for a unique and most comfortable stay in Amsterdam ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Penthouse & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penthouse & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.