We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great week in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penthouse & Garden Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penthouse & Garden Suites to your Saves list
Penthouse & Garden Suites
Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great week in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a fantastic week at Vossiusstraat 15 Garden Suite!! The apartment is really amazing, a fantastic example of good taste, deserving to appear in decoration magazines such as AD!! Attention to minimum details of comfort and the special treatment Charles and Menno offered us made our stay in Amsterdam unfforgetable! Thank You.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Spectacular! Everything about our weekend in Amsterdam was coupled with the exceptional apartments belonging to Charles on Voiusastraat.

As a group of 11 ladies, we wanted somewhere central & accomodation which we could only hope to blow our minds.

From the moment we arrived until a very kind late departure for leaving, we were made so welcome & at ease in our new home. Olga kindly checked us in & showed us around, along with a welcome glass of wine each.

We split ourselves between the Garden Suite, Studio & Penthouse Apartment and couldn't have expected more. The garden suite had a Balinese / Buddha relaxed feel to it, with a wonderful pond filled with fish, an outdoor table & soft seat, complete with foot heaters & a gas fire.

The studio downstairs was adequate for 2 people & had a lovely stocked fridge with beers & drinks.

The penthouse up (7 flights) of stairs blew us away with its 360degree roof top terrace! The artwork on the way up the stairs left the journey exciting to see what the next painting had in store.

This is without doubt the best accomodation we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. We have been spreading the news to friends & family since we came back to Ireland.

Everything you read is true. Spectacular. The service we received was outstanding & the next time we visit Amsterdam the apartments will certainly be on our hit list.

Charles gave us some wonderful recommendations & could not have been more helpful. Finishing touches such as a warm apple pie left in each of the apartments made us decide the overall stay was sufficent to announce as 7star quality!

Book! Book! Book!

We sincerely doubt any accommodation in Amsterdam would come close to this amazing experience we cannot wait to stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It is difficult to add anything else when you read all the other comments. If you are after the 5*+ experience, you need to choose on of these apartments. You can pay top bucks for the best hotel and some disgruntled employee can destroy your experience. Charles is the owner on site and makes sure every single detail gets taken care off. Absolutely fabulous, we are coming back in the summer time.

Thank you Charles!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi Milos, thank you for taking time to write your most kind comment. It was fun to see you around in the house and sure, I am much looking forward to welcome you again in summer time. At that time you'll have full advantage from the private garden. Thank you once again for your kind comment. Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Our default hotels are Peninsula, Rosewood & Four Seasons, but they are not in Amsterdam. As European hotels generally have small rooms and we were staying for 9 days, we decided on an apartment. We stumbled into The Penthouse, unbelievably everything that you read in these reviews is true. Spacious, modern, full of light, and the service offered by Charles & Iggy make this an extraordinarily comfortable place to enjoy your holiday.

Charles - our stay was Purr-fect!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Amazing!! Wow!!! Outstanding!!! Doesn't come close to describing our stay at the Penthouse in Amsterdam. We have stayed in other apartments in Europe as well as five star hotels, nothing has come close to the experience we had at the Penthouse. From the time the reservation was made Charles could not have been more accommodating! The emails with sightseeing information and restaurant suggestions were so helpful as we like to plan before we arrive. When we arrived and walked in to the apartment we were totally blown away. The apartment itself is spectacular. Every attention to detail is met, we felt at home the minute we walked in. From the gourmet kitchen being stocked beyond our expectations, to the bed being so comfortable, to the heated towels and floor in the bathroom to the state of the art TV/video system, and then the rooftop!!! Not to mention the location, close to the museums and a very easy tram stop. One of the special touches, was coming back from a long day of sightseeing and having a special treat prepared by Iggy with a lovely note waiting for us. My only disappointment was having to leave!! This was truly a "heaven on Earth" experience. We can't wait to plan a trip back so we can stay again at the Amazing Amsterdam Penthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just spent a family vacation--14 of us, ages 10 to 71--in three of Charles's apartments for 10 days. I agree fully with Lisa B. Charles has created a wonderland, everything is terrific and the garden is spectacular. My wife and I were in the Garden Suite, where both the bedroom and the living/cooking/dining room open onto the garden with its fish pond, arbor and beautiful plantings. Like BaronLab, I've never written a review before, but this place is too good not to rave about!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you John for taking the trouble to write this great review ! As I said before, I felt like being part of the family. You gave good karma to the house and it felt great that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the combination of garden outside and apartment inside. I treasure your kind gifts, they make me remember you each day. Please do return again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I do not usually write reviews but this is an exception. We have just returned from our second visit to these apartments - staying in both the Penthouse and the Garden Suites. They are both nicer than any 5 star hotel room you will find.The rooms can only be described as luxurious, with great attention to the finest detail. The beds are super comfortable , the bathrooms are huge and indulgent. There are magnificent fresh flowers everywhere and great pieces of artwork .The location is perfect, right on Vondelpark in a beautiful part of the city - easy to walk or ride everywhere. What makes it so special is Charles (the owner) - he has created a beautiful place where you can truly relax and feel spoilt.
The gourmet kitchen is stocked with a huge selection of treats - from fabulous wines or cheese to the best granola muesli we had in Europe !!! Fresh croissants and home made cakes appear discreetly on your doorstep. Many thanks to Iggy (one of the discreet staff )- who had some lovely desserts waiting in our room for us .There is a list of where to go and what do which which is full of great restaurants etc. You will not go anywhere else once you have stayed in these apartments - there is no where like them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this great review ! As I said before, I felt like being part of the family. You gave good karma to the house and it felt great that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the combination of roof terrace and apartment inside. I treasure your kind gifts, they make me remember you each day. Please do return again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Penthouse & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse & Garden Suites

Address: Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENTHOUSE and GARDEN SUITES are spacious top-luxury design suites all inclusive food, drinks, snacks and services. GREAT LOCATION in the city centre near major museums and within minutes walking from the canals, bars and restaurants. ALL Amsterdam’s attractions are within walking distance. Enjoy the comfort of 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and free food, drinks, snacks, wines, internet, fireplace, bathrobes, slippers, fresh flowers, orchids, private roof terrace or garden with heated lounge area and another fireplace. Get inside information on special places to go and get assistance with restaurant reservations and how to move around in and outside town. Look at the reviews and be assured that your stay at PENTHOUSE and GARDENS SUITES will is guarantee for a unique and most comfortable stay in Amsterdam ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Penthouse & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penthouse & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.