We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Wonderland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penthouse & Garden Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Penthouse & Garden Suites to your Saves list
Penthouse & Garden Suites
Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A True Wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We just spent a family vacation--14 of us, ages 10 to 71--in three of Charles's apartments for 10 days. I agree fully with Lisa B. Charles has created a wonderland, everything is terrific and the garden is spectacular. My wife and I were in the Garden Suite, where both the bedroom and the living/cooking/dining room open onto the garden with its fish pond, arbor and beautiful plantings. Like BaronLab, I've never written a review before, but this place is too good not to rave about!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you John for taking the trouble to write this great review ! As I said before, I felt like being part of the family. You gave good karma to the house and it felt great that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the combination of garden outside and apartment inside. I treasure your kind gifts, they make me remember you each day. Please do return again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I do not usually write reviews but this is an exception. We have just returned from our second visit to these apartments - staying in both the Penthouse and the Garden Suites. They are both nicer than any 5 star hotel room you will find.The rooms can only be described as luxurious, with great attention to the finest detail. The beds are super comfortable , the bathrooms are huge and indulgent. There are magnificent fresh flowers everywhere and great pieces of artwork .The location is perfect, right on Vondelpark in a beautiful part of the city - easy to walk or ride everywhere. What makes it so special is Charles (the owner) - he has created a beautiful place where you can truly relax and feel spoilt.
The gourmet kitchen is stocked with a huge selection of treats - from fabulous wines or cheese to the best granola muesli we had in Europe !!! Fresh croissants and home made cakes appear discreetly on your doorstep. Many thanks to Iggy (one of the discreet staff )- who had some lovely desserts waiting in our room for us .There is a list of where to go and what do which which is full of great restaurants etc. You will not go anywhere else once you have stayed in these apartments - there is no where like them.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write this great review ! As I said before, I felt like being part of the family. You gave good karma to the house and it felt great that you were able to appreciate and enjoy the combination of roof terrace and apartment inside. I treasure your kind gifts, they make me remember you each day. Please do return again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

I do not write reviews as none have been worth the effort. The penthouse is the exception. I have stayed in wide and varied accommodations in North America, Europe, Asia, South-east Asia and Australia. From the Ritz to B&B. The hospitality, care and comfort is a full 5 stars. There is enough food and beverages stocked up to last you easily a few days. You may find nice surprises left for you by Charles too. The space is large with high ceilings. There is a staircase within your accomodations that leads to your own decked roof terrace that is comfortably furnished with ample seatings (and not just an empty concrete roof). There are sweeping views of the city from the roof terrace. We gave up a hotel to try the Penthouse and are glad we did. I have to add that Iggy sat down with us on the first day with a map of Amsterdam and explained and marked down the areas of interests and food recommendations very well. It was my fourth visit to Amsterdam and he explained and marked it better than any hotel concierge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlesvanbattenberg, Owner at Penthouse & Garden Suites, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
your visit was too short but I feel happy to hear you had such a very good time. you both make a wonderful couple and it was fun to see you took good advantage of all the in-outsde features of the apartment, garden / lounge area. Please return again and try to visit at least a day longer :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Honestly speaking, this place has exceeded my expectation. Location is perfect, close to everything, very nice and comfortable rooms, fridge is full of all sorts of fresh food, and I do like the fully equipped kitchen a lot. 

Special thing is that it has a very lovely garden with beautiful plants, and we surely enjoyed the sound of the running water, very rare to have such soothing feeling in the city. Another sweet thing is that Charles (the owner) cooked delicious apple pie and quiche for us. Have to say that the effort and care to the guests can be so clearly felt that it is the best I felt so far.

Anyway, wonderful experience, worth to write a recommendation at 8am, first thing to do at work :-P

Philip, Amy

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You can't go wrong with this property. The location is fantastic - you walk to everything. The unit is stunning, bed super comfy, bathroom very nice. Loads of extra touches like the fully stocked fridge including wine, beer a good variety of breakfast and lunch foods as well as cheese and meats to have as an afternoon snack before heading out to a restaurant. Charles and Iggy (think that was his name) made great restaurant recommendations and then on top of that made the reservations for us. Charles sends you a list of the best restaurants long before you arrive - and some require reservations well in advance so do pay attention to it. Plus the added touch of fresh baked pie one day and then freshly baked croissants outside our door on our morning of departure just made for a perfect stay. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Penthouse & Garden Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penthouse & Garden Suites

Address: Vossiusstraat 15, 1071 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PENTHOUSE and GARDEN SUITES are spacious top-luxury design suites all inclusive food, drinks, snacks and services. GREAT LOCATION in the city centre near major museums and within minutes walking from the canals, bars and restaurants. ALL Amsterdam’s attractions are within walking distance. Enjoy the comfort of 2 separate bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and free food, drinks, snacks, wines, internet, fireplace, bathrobes, slippers, fresh flowers, orchids, private roof terrace or garden with heated lounge area and another fireplace. Get inside information on special places to go and get assistance with restaurant reservations and how to move around in and outside town. Look at the reviews and be assured that your stay at PENTHOUSE and GARDENS SUITES will is guarantee for a unique and most comfortable stay in Amsterdam ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Penthouse & Garden Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Penthouse & Garden Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.