We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heartwarming and Cozy (Gezellig!!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Biercafe Gollem

Biercafe Gollem
Raamsteeg 4, 1012 VZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 2,470 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Bar, Pub
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Late Night
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Heartwarming and Cozy (Gezellig!!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Maybe at first it seems as a funny header, but it is indeed the case. Having crazy number of beers is not very rare in the Netherlands thanks to its own beer culture and its proximity to Belgium, the so-called beer heaven. So what makes this bar exceptional in my regard is its coziness, the people in it. I have been there twice and each time met new people and had very nicel conversations. Today, I wanted go there in the afternoon but then said well maybe I shouldn't dispel its cult, maybe this time I won't meet a new one. But Gollem disproved me once again, I met a nice dutch guy at the bar again and he engaged in conversation, I wasn't looking around the talk to sb. So whenever I feel distressed or lonely, my destination is quite certain if I am in Amsterdam. And on top of that, the wide selection of beers yeahh, also ask the bartender he is quite good at guessing what you need.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    33
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“THIS WAS MY FAVOURITE PLACE OF AMSTERDAM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

find nh city centre hotel it is on the next alley on from there. this place is delightful and homely and 200 selection of beer absolutely delightful delicious beer . i wanted to come here every single day. you are made to feel very welcoming and cosy and i wish there was places like this in my home nation

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Amazing beer selection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is VERY difficult to find. But, if you can locate the Amsterdam Museum, you are very close. The bar is very small, but quite authentic and comfy. The selection of beer is incomparable!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beer heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A little gem. Amazing atmosphere, amazing selection of beers, great service. Check out the Gollem Blonde. Lovely! - That's a beer by the way! I could have stayed for hours. Unfortunately, I don't think my legs would co-operate after several beverages!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Fantastic range of beers, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This place is a real find. The range of beers is simply amazing! 14 draught beers and over 200 bottles. The guy serving was a mind of information, happy to give out tasters of the beers and very happy to talk you through the range.
Even the "weak" beers are about 6%abv so don't expect to be able to try too many!! They do offer a €10 tasting selection too which is a great idea.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Biercafe Gollem also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Biercafe Gollem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Biercafe Gollem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.