We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican food at a good price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Vino

El Vino
51 Lange Leidsedwarsstraat, 1017 NG Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 330 0093
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #409 of 2,470 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $32
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Are you looking for a real Maxican & Argentinians Restaurant? Would you like to be welcome to a family Restaurant. Please feel free your more then welcome. Come and join us we will be more then happy to have you here with us.
Pune, India
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food at a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I went to this restaurant with a couple of friends on seeing a couple of people sitting outside and seemingly enjoying their meal (other restaurants in the viscinity were sort of deserted). The restaurant was not too big, the ambience was ok and I had some problems with my chair because of thick skirting along the floor. I was actually extremely surprised to see a large number of items on the menu, some of which I had never heard of before. The waitress / server was extremely courteous and helped us with the menu. The food was excellent, well prepared and properly spiced and seasoned. The wine was also quite good. Quantity wise, one portion was more than enough for one person. The final bill was also not too high. Full value for money! Definitely recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozazai, Manager at El Vino, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the fresh food and that you are happy with the service provided to you by our staff members. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

We look forward to your next time.

kind regards,
Mo.zazai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    50
    14
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I have been in these restaurant several times and always the stuff is friendly and the food is excellent. There is also a mexican music and you can take photos with sombreros and ponchos :))

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozazai, Manager at El Vino, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the fresh food and that you are happy with the service provided to you by our staff members. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

We look forward to your next time.

kind regards,
Mo.zazai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, quick with serving, decent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

It isn't the best Mexican restaurant in Amsterdam (that crown goes to Los Pilones), but they have a greater food selection than LP, and the portions were very generous. We had a Groupon, which is the main reason we decided to check this place out, and unlike other places where they treat you like garbage when you come with a Groupon, they were very responsive and friendly. Drinks were decent enough, we got a shot of tequila with our Groupon which I appreciated. All in all, a fine place. If they get a happy hour menu together, I'd be inclined to return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozazai, Manager at El Vino, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the fresh food and that you are happy with the service provided to you by our staff members. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

We look forward to your next time.

kind regards,
Mo.zazai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Pseudo Mexican”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

A sort of watered down Mexican restaurant.
Waitresses were Greek and Italian,don't know where the chef was from.The area around here has every type of restaurant imaginable and I reckon this place is filling a gap in the market.
We did enjoy our meal, nachos and chicken and steak.
Nothing to rave about.
I see some adverse comments about toilet facilities and while I didn't use them,I wasn't too enamoured with the whiff coming from them ,which I noticed when leaving.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozazai, Manager at El Vino, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the fresh food and that you are happy with the service provided to you by our staff members. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best service.

We look forward to your next time..

kind regards,
Mo.zazai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Can't believe these ratings!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I dont know where to begin. In the first place they needed 30mins to serve the WRONG drinks. When we asked friendly for the right ordered drinks the waitress moaned at us. One of the worst part was when she came with the starters and asked "Who ordered Soup?". "No we ordered meat balls" we said, "ah ... yeah thats here the same" she answered. After this we thought it couldnt get any worse. FAIL. For the main course we got cold fajitas and the main dishes were not serverd all together. Even the guys behind us, were getting seriously pissed off because of the bad service. They even had to get their own drinks at the bar.

To make it short: We went there because of the excellent ratings, but it was a nightmare. We are quite sure they wrote the ratings themselves, mhhh maybe thats why they needed so long to serve our food!!!

Worst choice ever!!!! We paid 200 euro for 5 people ....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mozazai, Manager at El Vino, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our restaurant. We regret to hear your dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have passed on your comments and concerns to our food & beverage department so they may address this situation with the team and ensure that we deliver outstanding service and presentation.

Kind regards,
MoZazai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Vino also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to El Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Vino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.