We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, great value, and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun, great value, and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Hotel V for 7 nights in July and had a very pleasant experience. Staff was very accommodating, friendly, and even made recommendations on restaurants and activities during our stay. Hotel is very close to Dam Square and public transportation, which we never even used because it was still a comfortable walking distance from historical sites like the Rembrandt museum and Anne Frank house. We reserved a suite since we were staying for a week and wanted to be comfortable, and we definitely felt we got our money's worth on space, especially for a hotel in Europe. The hotel restaurant food was good, and the atmosphere outside the courtyard was really fun. On any given day you could see an impromptu Jazz concert or just enjoy the mild and cool July weather. We even watched a few world cup games while we were there and it was great interacting with the Dutch locals.

There were only two major drawbacks to this hotel: one, the lighting was very dark and needed mild updating decor wise, but I think it is supposed to fit the overall "antique" image of Hotel V. The other is that after a day of sightseeing in Amsterdam, neither one of us felt like staying out late and found late night activities at the hotel limiting. The restaurant closes at 11 and there weren't any English language movie channels that weren't saturated with commercials. That part might be beyond the hotel's control, but that is the first time I have stayed outside the US and had so few cable options. Some of the channels were out of service. Just to keep in mind for those who are not into the late night bar or nightclub scene. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable experience and would definitely stay at Hotel V again on our next trip to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: During slower traveler seasons, would definitely recommend a corner suite, even though we got a grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your week at Hotel V Nesplein!

I will pass on your feedback about the lighting and the movie channels. I think we can do something about the movie channels, but as far as the lighting you are correct- it works with the atmosphere that we are aiming for.

Thanks so much and hope to see you again one day!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    138
    24
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
277
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel decided to give our prepaid reservation to another family because our train was delayed so we arrived a little later that thought and their argument was "how were we supposed to know you were coming?" And instead of kicking the new reservation out and respecting their initial agreement with us they gave us back our money and asked us to go to another hotel.

Nice place but that kind of service is unacceptable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We are sorry you feel this way, unfortunately you arrived a day late around 19:30 pm, after not showing the first night.
The hotel had held your room all night and almost all day for the next day.
After which we rented the room to a former guest with her children returning from the airport due to a cancelled flight.
When you did show up all we could do was kindly help you find another hotel and refund the night.
Sad to hear you feel this is terrible service.

Kind regards,

Hotel V Nesplein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed with my family at V nesplein for 5 days in June. location is very good, in a quiet small street very close to Dam Square, Lobby is very small , check- in was delayed a little bit, staff at the reception were nice and helpful. Decor is dark and different of most hotels I have seen. Would prefer more light. Room V superior is spacious and good if you are traveling with family. It can easily fit an extra bed and a baby cot. We booked breakfast in advance for 10 euros pp. breakfast is a la carte. You choose one of four plates, In addition to bread,coffee and croissants. Good quality food and just enough to start your tourism in Amsterdam.
Hotel is a bit expensive like every thing else in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
"And to be different is great. You don't want to be the same."
- Kristen Johnston, actress.

We couldn't have said it better ourselves!
Thank you for the review!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Hotel V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I came looking for something to eat late when most restaurants had closed their kitchens. The place was fun, with some elegance too.
I sat at the bar and while they said that the kitchen was closed, they could still make me some 'flammkuchen'.
Basically it was a thin crust pizza, the crust being crackly and tasty. I chose a topping of spicy pork. It had some other things on it which I do not remember but it was excellent! The servers were very friendly, and chatty. Even though they were cleaning up to go home and moving very quickly they never made me feel that I should eat up and get out. If I come back to Amsterdam I will look into staying at the hotel and hope it too is as good as the restaurant and bar.

Room Tip: I did not stay, only ate in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed with my wife for a conferece for 3 nights at the end of June. Amsterdam is super busy at this time, but we found a very good spot with the V Nesplein! The pricing is reasonable for the level of service and room sizes you get.

With this hotel it is mainly "location, location, location" and you are in walking distance of all great sights in the city. The square next to the hotel with 2 restaurants and a cafe will give you the diversity for food and drinks, if you desire.

The hotel itself is a good 4* hotel. The rooms are big (which is unusual in Amsterdam) and have fast WiFi, desk, etc. to get some work done.

We had 2 different rooms, both very big and clean. No carpets, which is a big plus for my dust allergies! There is no minibar, which I did not miss. You can order drinks from the bar up to your room or just take them yourself.

Style, impression and "vibrations" are right. The staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms quiet and right. So "nothing to complain about" is a 5 star rating here!

Room Tip: Upper is better here, Amsterdam is just busy and noisy if you like to sleep with open windows (but t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel v Nesplein! Lovely to hear that you and your wife had a good time, and thank you for the five star rating! : )
Hope to welcome you back one day soon.

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the superior room for two nights last month as a relaxed ending to an Interrail trip.

First off, the design scheme was really cool and harmonious but I can definitely see why "too dark" would be a problem. If I remember correctly, the corridors had dim lighting and navy blue velvet walls with matching carpet which made running into a wall totally possible. The Victorian wallpaper was a bit creepy for my taste but it works well with all the dark wood and the vintage, industrial interior design. Hotel V Nesplein is basically that unapproachable and offensively cool but not cheerleader-cool girl from high school.

The rooms were exactly how it looked on the website; stylish and spacious. If anything, our room was actually a lot bigger than expected. Adorable packs of gum were left on our pillows on arrival, along with bathrobes and complimentary boxed (!!!) water. The bed was large and comfortable, with fluffy white duvets and two fat pillows for each person. The TV had internet and YouTube access so you can end your day by dimming the lights and watching a nice movie.

The bathroom was also generously large, with a massive bathtub that was perfect to relax in at the end of a long day and a rainfall shower. The type of surface they have in the bathroom made it a lot easier for water to dry...spotlessly? I can't quite describe it, but basically if you drenched the whole floor with water and left it, it would be impeccable within 2-3 hours. This was perfect for my fixation with bathrooms, which is normally a huge deciding factor when it comes to hotels.

Aside from the design, security and customer service were also on top. The key cards were scanned rather than swiped, and you needed to get past a locked door to enter the corridors on each floor. We actually misplaced two keys and when we finally plucked up the courage to call the front-desk, the loveliest receptionist called us down to get them replaced for no charge.

My only complaints (if you can even call them that):

1. The first receptionist we spoke to came off a bit condescending. We were a group of three teenage girls who needed to pay in cash and we had issues with the credit card used to book the room. He was still very kind and laid back, he just looked like he pitied us!

2. The bathroom lock didn't work. Again, really not a problem in a room for 2-3 people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent two nights at this funky hotel in central Amsterdam. The room was huge with a big comfortable bed, bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities (upmarket teas and a Nespresso machine), huge bathroom with a double shower.

The reception and restaurant staff were excellent - welcoming and helpful and always smiling.

They send laundry out and offer a next day service for this. A huge bagful cost us 15 euros. They also offer a flat rate taxi drop off to the airport for 45 euros (many taxis will charge up to 60 euros for this).

V is very central (just around the corner from Dam Square) and easy walking distance to many attractions, beautiful shopping (such as the Magna Plaza) and restaurants.

We loved our stay here despite our time in Amsterdam being marred by the MH17 disaster

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.