We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly trendy hotel with laid-back staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly trendy hotel with laid-back staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friends and I stayed in the superior room for two nights last month as a relaxed ending to an Interrail trip.

First off, the design scheme was really cool and harmonious but I can definitely see why "too dark" would be a problem. If I remember correctly, the corridors had dim lighting and navy blue velvet walls with matching carpet which made running into a wall totally possible. The Victorian wallpaper was a bit creepy for my taste but it works well with all the dark wood and the vintage, industrial interior design. Hotel V Nesplein is basically that unapproachable and offensively cool but not cheerleader-cool girl from high school.

The rooms were exactly how it looked on the website; stylish and spacious. If anything, our room was actually a lot bigger than expected. Adorable packs of gum were left on our pillows on arrival, along with bathrobes and complimentary boxed (!!!) water. The bed was large and comfortable, with fluffy white duvets and two fat pillows for each person. The TV had internet and YouTube access so you can end your day by dimming the lights and watching a nice movie.

The bathroom was also generously large, with a massive bathtub that was perfect to relax in at the end of a long day and a rainfall shower. The type of surface they have in the bathroom made it a lot easier for water to dry...spotlessly? I can't quite describe it, but basically if you drenched the whole floor with water and left it, it would be impeccable within 2-3 hours. This was perfect for my fixation with bathrooms, which is normally a huge deciding factor when it comes to hotels.

Aside from the design, security and customer service were also on top. The key cards were scanned rather than swiped, and you needed to get past a locked door to enter the corridors on each floor. We actually misplaced two keys and when we finally plucked up the courage to call the front-desk, the loveliest receptionist called us down to get them replaced for no charge.

My only complaints (if you can even call them that):

1. The first receptionist we spoke to came off a bit condescending. We were a group of three teenage girls who needed to pay in cash and we had issues with the credit card used to book the room. He was still very kind and laid back, he just looked like he pitied us!

2. The bathroom lock didn't work. Again, really not a problem in a room for 2-3 people.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    102
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
204
16
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent two nights at this funky hotel in central Amsterdam. The room was huge with a big comfortable bed, bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities (upmarket teas and a Nespresso machine), huge bathroom with a double shower.

The reception and restaurant staff were excellent - welcoming and helpful and always smiling.

They send laundry out and offer a next day service for this. A huge bagful cost us 15 euros. They also offer a flat rate taxi drop off to the airport for 45 euros (many taxis will charge up to 60 euros for this).

V is very central (just around the corner from Dam Square) and easy walking distance to many attractions, beautiful shopping (such as the Magna Plaza) and restaurants.

We loved our stay here despite our time in Amsterdam being marred by the MH17 disaster

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two great nights at this hotel and will be back one day!

From the minute we were greeted by the humble, friendly and hipster dude at the front desk we were happy.

Clean, smartly designed rooms with more space than expected. Air con perfect. Beds and pillows super comfortable. Great toiletries, water pressure and water temperature in a luxurious rain shower x 2!

Breakfast we thought was good value for the quality - eggs Benedict, lovely juice and coffee. Gluten free bread too! Yay.

We had lunch there two before leaving, which proved unforgettable - best burger and handcut fries we have had in Europe...

Thanks to the great team at Hotel V for making us feel at home and for leaving nothing to chance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great welcome from reception started our stay. Wonderful lobby and bar area which looks timeless and sophisticated and emaculately clean. Our room was well maintained and clean and the walk in shower was incredibly welcome as we visited on the hottest days of the year.

Would strongly recommend the hotel and would always find it onn my shortlist if I was visiting Amsterdam agaIn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel had a great atmosphere.. its funky & different, and we love those kind of places! The resturant in the lobby is great! The room was nice & the bathroom was really nice! Location was excellent, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I especially liked the atmosphere. It's warm, it's different and it's luxurious. The bed was the best I ever slept in and the shower felt like a hot waterfall. The design is something I've never seen in magazines…a weird combination of trends of the last 30 years. Even some ugly details look good! Location is excellent, personal treated me friendly and the restaurant leaves nothing to be desired. I intend to stay there many more times!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Vank you voor the review! ;)

Between you and me, I also raised an eyebrow when I saw the interior plans when this hotel was being built. And then it opened and everything made sense and worked beautifully together! (That is my own opinion of course!)

Glad you also appreciated it! Hope you make it back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked this at the last minute at a fair price. Probably worth more than I paid.
This hotel goes the extra mile. Room amenities were superior. They do not skimp on anything.
Very cool, eclectic, contemporary decor. Excellent restaurant on the premises. Well located but
a very long walk with luggage if you are coming from the train station. Take a taxi. However, you can walk to all areas in the old city area(without luggage)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.