We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sunrise Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A truly excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent two nights at this funky hotel in central Amsterdam. The room was huge with a big comfortable bed, bathrobes, tea and coffee making facilities (upmarket teas and a Nespresso machine), huge bathroom with a double shower.

The reception and restaurant staff were excellent - welcoming and helpful and always smiling.

They send laundry out and offer a next day service for this. A huge bagful cost us 15 euros. They also offer a flat rate taxi drop off to the airport for 45 euros (many taxis will charge up to 60 euros for this).

V is very central (just around the corner from Dam Square) and easy walking distance to many attractions, beautiful shopping (such as the Magna Plaza) and restaurants.

We loved our stay here despite our time in Amsterdam being marred by the MH17 disaster

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    106
    20
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
211
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two great nights at this hotel and will be back one day!

From the minute we were greeted by the humble, friendly and hipster dude at the front desk we were happy.

Clean, smartly designed rooms with more space than expected. Air con perfect. Beds and pillows super comfortable. Great toiletries, water pressure and water temperature in a luxurious rain shower x 2!

Breakfast we thought was good value for the quality - eggs Benedict, lovely juice and coffee. Gluten free bread too! Yay.

We had lunch there two before leaving, which proved unforgettable - best burger and handcut fries we have had in Europe...

Thanks to the great team at Hotel V for making us feel at home and for leaving nothing to chance.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A great welcome from reception started our stay. Wonderful lobby and bar area which looks timeless and sophisticated and emaculately clean. Our room was well maintained and clean and the walk in shower was incredibly welcome as we visited on the hottest days of the year.

Would strongly recommend the hotel and would always find it onn my shortlist if I was visiting Amsterdam agaIn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel had a great atmosphere.. its funky & different, and we love those kind of places! The resturant in the lobby is great! The room was nice & the bathroom was really nice! Location was excellent, we will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I especially liked the atmosphere. It's warm, it's different and it's luxurious. The bed was the best I ever slept in and the shower felt like a hot waterfall. The design is something I've never seen in magazines…a weird combination of trends of the last 30 years. Even some ugly details look good! Location is excellent, personal treated me friendly and the restaurant leaves nothing to be desired. I intend to stay there many more times!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Vank you voor the review! ;)

Between you and me, I also raised an eyebrow when I saw the interior plans when this hotel was being built. And then it opened and everything made sense and worked beautifully together! (That is my own opinion of course!)

Glad you also appreciated it! Hope you make it back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I booked this at the last minute at a fair price. Probably worth more than I paid.
This hotel goes the extra mile. Room amenities were superior. They do not skimp on anything.
Very cool, eclectic, contemporary decor. Excellent restaurant on the premises. Well located but
a very long walk with luggage if you are coming from the train station. Take a taxi. However, you can walk to all areas in the old city area(without luggage)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

NO WAY! This hotel could not have been less helpful. We made reservations for my family of five months in advance. After an overnight flight we arrive and Jamie at the front desk told us that they had cancelled our reservations. Then they said they would help to find a different hotel. You know what Jamie did? He showed me Hotels.com. Are you kidding? I don't speak Dutch, I am exhausted, in a new city and he shows me Hotels.com. Big frigging help. Jamie finally did get us a reservation at a sister hotel and you might think he could have paid for a taxi across town, but nope...we were on our own. This hotel took zero responsibility for a problem that I believe was at least half theirs. Amsterdam has tons of hotels, find a different one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear mr. Archie,

Unfortunately you forgot to mention your credit card was not valid and your phone number and e-mail address not correct. We tried contacting you, but we really had no means at all, our only option was to cancel the reservation as the rooms were not guaranteed.
When you arrived in the hotel, the hotel was fully booked and we booked alternative accomodation in our sister hotel.
We are sorry you feel we couldn't have been less helpful.
It would really help if you use the right contact and credit card details to avoid this in the future.

Kind regards,

Hotel V Nesplein
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.