We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, friendly and wonderful hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stylish, friendly and wonderful hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here during a recent business trip to Amsterdam. I was pleased when I discovered that the hotel was both central and near to the office that I was visiting but that was just the start! I soon discovered what an individual and stylish place this is and a fantastic place to stay.
After a friendly welcome and a very efficient check-in process (the room had already been paid for so I just had to provide ID) I took the lift to my room and my jaw dropped! I stay in a lot of hotels and this is only the second time I've bothered to write a review. I had a very large room and a large, comfortable bed and a very large TV. The style of the decor is modern and individual - something quite different from the standard hotels and gives the hotel a very distinctive personality.
The location of the hotel is a perfect base for exploring central Amsterdam and it is open 24 hours so you can be out as late as you like. Don't be fooled into thinking you won't sleep, though! I've stayed in several hotels in Amsterdam where noise can be a big problem but not here. Located in a side street you have the best of both worlds of location and peace.
Breakfast the next day was in the Lobby restaurant, a large modern place sharing its sense of style with the hotel. Staff were very friendly and the food was great. I had ignored advice to eat there the evening before, which I thoroughly regretted.
All in all a wonderful, stylish and friendly hotel and I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: From what I have seen all the rooms are great, just different sizes, but even the smallest are far f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    103
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
50
205
16
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights on our first visit to Amsterdam, and I loved it from the minute I walked in. The staff are very welcoming & friendly and will assist you however they can.
The room was the perfect size for us, with gorgeous industrial decor, super comfy beds and a huge shower head which I loved. This hotel is walking distance to the canals with cute shops & cafes and everything you need.
We had a delicious breakfast every day, and I honestly had one of the best meals EVER for dinner - the farm fowl with chimmichurri. YUM. It was amazing.
I highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting this beautiful city.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Good clean place with very helpful staff. Comfortable beds. Good bathrooms. Nothing to complain about. Well located. The staff have a wealth of information on things to see and do in Amsterdam away from the usual tourist traps.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A wonderful gem of a hotel tucked away near Dam Square. Wonderful staff, very comfortable beds and a restaurant that was a great destination in itself. I would thoroughly recommend this and would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice, clean, friendly staff, and excellent location!

Could walk to all main sites from this hotel, very quiet during night so no issues when sleeping.

The restaurant looked wonderful, did not have a chance to eat there buy the reviews are excellent. Will recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I agree with all the good things said in the ratings. Great location, comfortable beds, very nice restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. To me the rooms are a tad quirky, no rugs, no cabinet though ample storage space. A very comfortable hotel nonetheless.
The service however is some of the best I have encountered anywhere. I have never seen anyone as helpful, friendly and dedicated as Wendy at the front desk. We arrived at the airport at 09:30 on King's Day. The center of Amsterdam was closed to all traffic and Wendy moved heaven and earth to get us to the second V hotel and have our luggage transferred to the Nesplein for free as soon as the traffic allowed. She personally helped make our trip a smashing success.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great place - central, reasonable and cool. The Superior rooms at the rear (eg 108) are incredibly quiet. The €10 breakfast add on to online bookings is worth every cent. Croissants are warm and buttery, the scrambled eggs are perfect and the juice is freshly squeezed. The bar and restaurant are good in the evening too. Service - especially the front desk - is excellent. Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.