We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to -12% on our site!
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Nice, clean, friendly staff, and excellent location!

Could walk to all main sites from this hotel, very quiet during night so no issues when sleeping.

The restaurant looked wonderful, did not have a chance to eat there buy the reviews are excellent. Will recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    267
    96
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
46
194
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I agree with all the good things said in the ratings. Great location, comfortable beds, very nice restaurant for both breakfast and dinner. To me the rooms are a tad quirky, no rugs, no cabinet though ample storage space. A very comfortable hotel nonetheless.
The service however is some of the best I have encountered anywhere. I have never seen anyone as helpful, friendly and dedicated as Wendy at the front desk. We arrived at the airport at 09:30 on King's Day. The center of Amsterdam was closed to all traffic and Wendy moved heaven and earth to get us to the second V hotel and have our luggage transferred to the Nesplein for free as soon as the traffic allowed. She personally helped make our trip a smashing success.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great place - central, reasonable and cool. The Superior rooms at the rear (eg 108) are incredibly quiet. The €10 breakfast add on to online bookings is worth every cent. Croissants are warm and buttery, the scrambled eggs are perfect and the juice is freshly squeezed. The bar and restaurant are good in the evening too. Service - especially the front desk - is excellent. Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife & I stayed at Hotel V Nesplein for a few days over the Easter break and we had a great time. On our first night, we received a warm welcome and were still able to order diner despite our late arrival. We've enjoyed a nice meal at the Lobby the very cool & trendy restaurant from Hotel V.

All the way through our stay the staff has been very welcoming and helpful from advice on Amsterdam and places to go, to making amazing restaurant reservations. We would like to say a special thanks to Ard who arranged for us to go for diner at two very special places Bridges & Rijsel when everywhere was fully booked (including those 2, we tried a few days earlier to book Bridges).

We really liked our room too which was very spacious and with a cool design very much Soho style. We've read some of the reviews saying the rooms are 'cold' and lacking storage, but the one we got was fine for the 2 of us for the long weekend. The bathroom was very spacious too and we liked the Italian shower. In there storage space is indeed minimal but sufficient even with all the toiletries women usually travel with.

The Lobby is a great place for Brunch & Diner (we were not at the Hotel during the day so couldn't experience lunch) and particularly great for drinks in their very confy sofas in the library corner. Compliments to the team behind the bar who definitely knows how to mix great Whisky Sour.

I could go on, but I think you got the just of it, we really had a great time and would definitly come back to the Hotel V if we were to visit Amsterdam again.

Thanks,
Stephane.

Room Tip: We were in room 201 which was very silent. Take a superior room to insure you've got enough spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have spent one night at this hotel and it was one of the best hotels in terms of the over all vibe and feel. The staff were extremely helpful and nice and went out of their way to meet my needs. The rooms were spacious and well designed, not to mention the cleanliness. The location was great and close to everything. All in all I would definitely come back soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had a really great 2 days at the Hotel V Nesplein. The staff was extremely nice and went out of their way to help in anything we requested. the rooms are well decorated and spacious and have a good flow. The vibe of the hotel is really nice. the location is great, walking distance to all the main sites. the hotel is very secure, you can't access the floor without a room card. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location, walking distance to all main sites, rooms are spacy and very comfortable (expect chairs - modern but not comfortable at all), front desk staff (especially lady named Tara) exceptionally efficient, polite and with many good recommendations. Wi-fi works perfect in all hotel areas. Do not miss the opportunity to have a dinner at Lobby Restaurant, it’s exquisite! Avoid breakfast, it’s expensive, with very modest offer (and not buffet style), and service is extremely slow and confused.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.