We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Easter break!! Highly recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Easter break!! Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife & I stayed at Hotel V Nesplein for a few days over the Easter break and we had a great time. On our first night, we received a warm welcome and were still able to order diner despite our late arrival. We've enjoyed a nice meal at the Lobby the very cool & trendy restaurant from Hotel V.

All the way through our stay the staff has been very welcoming and helpful from advice on Amsterdam and places to go, to making amazing restaurant reservations. We would like to say a special thanks to Ard who arranged for us to go for diner at two very special places Bridges & Rijsel when everywhere was fully booked (including those 2, we tried a few days earlier to book Bridges).

We really liked our room too which was very spacious and with a cool design very much Soho style. We've read some of the reviews saying the rooms are 'cold' and lacking storage, but the one we got was fine for the 2 of us for the long weekend. The bathroom was very spacious too and we liked the Italian shower. In there storage space is indeed minimal but sufficient even with all the toiletries women usually travel with.

The Lobby is a great place for Brunch & Diner (we were not at the Hotel during the day so couldn't experience lunch) and particularly great for drinks in their very confy sofas in the library corner. Compliments to the team behind the bar who definitely knows how to mix great Whisky Sour.

I could go on, but I think you got the just of it, we really had a great time and would definitly come back to the Hotel V if we were to visit Amsterdam again.

Thanks,
Stephane.

Room Tip: We were in room 201 which was very silent. Take a superior room to insure you've got enough spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    127
    23
    2
    1
See reviews for
59
246
19
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I have spent one night at this hotel and it was one of the best hotels in terms of the over all vibe and feel. The staff were extremely helpful and nice and went out of their way to meet my needs. The rooms were spacious and well designed, not to mention the cleanliness. The location was great and close to everything. All in all I would definitely come back soon for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had a really great 2 days at the Hotel V Nesplein. The staff was extremely nice and went out of their way to help in anything we requested. the rooms are well decorated and spacious and have a good flow. The vibe of the hotel is really nice. the location is great, walking distance to all the main sites. the hotel is very secure, you can't access the floor without a room card. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location, walking distance to all main sites, rooms are spacy and very comfortable (expect chairs - modern but not comfortable at all), front desk staff (especially lady named Tara) exceptionally efficient, polite and with many good recommendations. Wi-fi works perfect in all hotel areas. Do not miss the opportunity to have a dinner at Lobby Restaurant, it’s exquisite! Avoid breakfast, it’s expensive, with very modest offer (and not buffet style), and service is extremely slow and confused.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I found this hotel on Trip advisor and booking.com when the bed and breakfast's and house boats all seemed booked. It was more than I wanted to spend but well worth the price. The location cannot be beat. it is in walking distance to all of the sites but just far away enough to avoid the crowds. We were able to walk there with our rolling luggage from the train station easily.
THe decor was very cool and reminds me of a New York So Ho hotel - industrial chic. The bedding is crisp and clean. the wallpaper in the room on one wall was like a pleated fortuny silk. The restaurant is a hub of activity at all times of the day - great to slip away in here for a glass of wine or coffee and hang out on the leather sofa in the back. The staff are all youngish, hip but not too cool to be friendly and helpful with restaurant choices and even a luggage repair shop suggestion which worked out beautifully. they also directed us to a great Chinese restaurant in the red Light district famous for the oysters on the half shell.
I would recommend this as a romantic getaway but also it was perfectly fine for our family with 2 teenagers - I felt comfortable letting them roam out to the Dam and to shop from the hotel

Room Tip: perhaps higher up would be better - one night I did hear some revelers out on the street. Also - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Not my taste. Firstly though the staff are very friendly and efficient in both the hotel and the restaurant. The room we had (comfort) was clean certainly and had good amenities such as bath robe and tassimo coffee maker. Drinking water supplied daily is great. However the decor is gloomy and uninspiring in the room and very very dark in the corridor. Meant to be atmospheric no doubt. The design of the tea and coffee station in particular is poor and I scalded myself because the power point for the kettle is too far from the desk. The mirrors in the bathroom are very high. I am very short I know and the Dutch are tall but even so . I hadn't noticed there is no air con. On the positive the restaurant was busy but service and food were good the night we used it. The location is really great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location. 10 minutes walk from amsterdam central train station. Modern stylish hotel, extremely clean, and comfortable if sparse in style, storage and decor in the rooms but it seems to work. Great bathroom and shower.

Well worth booking the breakfast deal on line as part of the deal as the food is excellent.

The lobby restaurant is the only public space so if you need a quiet place for work etc outside your room it can be difficult at busy times. Wifi however is free and works everywhere in the hotel with no issue

Only niggle is service in the lobby restaurant is a bit hit and miss. Mind you this lackadaisical service is amsterdam wide perhaps because tipping is uncommon. So it's not hotel V specific

Lots of good restaurants within 2 minutes walk. The beer and chicken restaurant 1minute south of the hotel was great.

Overall a great choice if you like casual, busy, younger clientele ( in outlook ) non chain quirky hotels with no stuffiness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi there! Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you had a nice stay, and sorry that you found the service of The Lobby restaurant at times lacking. The restaurant has become very popular and they are doing their best to keep up with the demand. I will let them know your feedback. :)
Til next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.