We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I had a really great 2 days at the Hotel V Nesplein. The staff was extremely nice and went out of their way to help in anything we requested. the rooms are well decorated and spacious and have a good flow. The vibe of the hotel is really nice. the location is great, walking distance to all the main sites. the hotel is very secure, you can't access the floor without a room card. I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    159
    30
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
317
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Great location, walking distance to all main sites, rooms are spacy and very comfortable (expect chairs - modern but not comfortable at all), front desk staff (especially lady named Tara) exceptionally efficient, polite and with many good recommendations. Wi-fi works perfect in all hotel areas. Do not miss the opportunity to have a dinner at Lobby Restaurant, it’s exquisite! Avoid breakfast, it’s expensive, with very modest offer (and not buffet style), and service is extremely slow and confused.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I found this hotel on Trip advisor and booking.com when the bed and breakfast's and house boats all seemed booked. It was more than I wanted to spend but well worth the price. The location cannot be beat. it is in walking distance to all of the sites but just far away enough to avoid the crowds. We were able to walk there with our rolling luggage from the train station easily.
THe decor was very cool and reminds me of a New York So Ho hotel - industrial chic. The bedding is crisp and clean. the wallpaper in the room on one wall was like a pleated fortuny silk. The restaurant is a hub of activity at all times of the day - great to slip away in here for a glass of wine or coffee and hang out on the leather sofa in the back. The staff are all youngish, hip but not too cool to be friendly and helpful with restaurant choices and even a luggage repair shop suggestion which worked out beautifully. they also directed us to a great Chinese restaurant in the red Light district famous for the oysters on the half shell.
I would recommend this as a romantic getaway but also it was perfectly fine for our family with 2 teenagers - I felt comfortable letting them roam out to the Dam and to shop from the hotel

Room Tip: perhaps higher up would be better - one night I did hear some revelers out on the street. Also - we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Not my taste. Firstly though the staff are very friendly and efficient in both the hotel and the restaurant. The room we had (comfort) was clean certainly and had good amenities such as bath robe and tassimo coffee maker. Drinking water supplied daily is great. However the decor is gloomy and uninspiring in the room and very very dark in the corridor. Meant to be atmospheric no doubt. The design of the tea and coffee station in particular is poor and I scalded myself because the power point for the kettle is too far from the desk. The mirrors in the bathroom are very high. I am very short I know and the Dutch are tall but even so . I hadn't noticed there is no air con. On the positive the restaurant was busy but service and food were good the night we used it. The location is really great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location. 10 minutes walk from amsterdam central train station. Modern stylish hotel, extremely clean, and comfortable if sparse in style, storage and decor in the rooms but it seems to work. Great bathroom and shower.

Well worth booking the breakfast deal on line as part of the deal as the food is excellent.

The lobby restaurant is the only public space so if you need a quiet place for work etc outside your room it can be difficult at busy times. Wifi however is free and works everywhere in the hotel with no issue

Only niggle is service in the lobby restaurant is a bit hit and miss. Mind you this lackadaisical service is amsterdam wide perhaps because tipping is uncommon. So it's not hotel V specific

Lots of good restaurants within 2 minutes walk. The beer and chicken restaurant 1minute south of the hotel was great.

Overall a great choice if you like casual, busy, younger clientele ( in outlook ) non chain quirky hotels with no stuffiness.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hi there! Thank you for your review! It is great to hear that you had a nice stay, and sorry that you found the service of The Lobby restaurant at times lacking. The restaurant has become very popular and they are doing their best to keep up with the demand. I will let them know your feedback. :)
Til next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This is the third time I've stayed here on business and I still cannot fault it. The only downside is that the restaurant is now so popular that you have to book it in advance! To be fair they did manage to squeeze us in without a booking and it is still delicious. Stay here, it's great!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
So happy that you are having a nice time on your visits to Hotel v Nesplein! Next time you make a reservation for a room, let us know if you want to book a table at The Lobby too, and we will do our best to snag you a table in advance! The Lobby is very popular, which is nice, but we also want our hotel guests to experience it as well as Amsterdammers!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel V was recommended to me by a colleague and I would recommend it to others too. The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is perfect.

The decor feels to be right from Restoration Hardware. The rooms are relatively spacious and well appointed. There are a lot of nice small details. Super comfortable bath robes too!

Definitely eat at the restaurant at Hotel V. It is great and frequented by locals. During the day you can use the cozy corner of the restaurant to work or just lounge on the couches, which is nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#8 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 956 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,807 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#11 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,808 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#9 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel V Nesplein 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.