We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to -12% on our site!
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Great Stay in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Hotel V was recommended to me by a colleague and I would recommend it to others too. The staff is very nice and helpful and the location is perfect.

The decor feels to be right from Restoration Hardware. The rooms are relatively spacious and well appointed. There are a lot of nice small details. Super comfortable bath robes too!

Definitely eat at the restaurant at Hotel V. It is great and frequented by locals. During the day you can use the cozy corner of the restaurant to work or just lounge on the couches, which is nice.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
177
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We ate here .. This was a laid back restaurant. Great food and a great design. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They even recommended places to go afterwards. Overall excellent - would like to stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello! Thank you for the review of the restaurant, but The Lobby Bar & Restaurant has its own tripadvisor profile. This is just for the hotel & rooms....
But we do hope that you stay with us some time!
Until then...
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

What's special about Hotel V is that each and every member of staff make you feel as though you're a guest in their own home. This is delivered through attentive, thoughtful, enthusiastic and friendly service from every single employee. Add to that great design, location and restaurant and Hotel V makes an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
What a lovely thing to write! Thank you so much for the nice review, everyone will be pleased to hear this one, as this is precisely how we want our guests to feel.
All the best!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Had an enjoyable stay here over the weekend and found the hotel and staff to be top notch! Very close to the heart of Amsterdam, will recommend to friends! Food was excellent in restaurant and there was a good selection of rum which was an added bonus for me...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for the stay, and lovely that you loved the rum! : )
Come back again and try ALL of them!!!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked in here last minute, having been let down (an hour before check in) by an apartment booking we had made. Great customer service by Hotel V meant it didn't feel like the ordeal it could have been.

We were in a big suite, with a very comfy bed - only downside was no bath. I have read other reviews about noise but we had no such problem (but this could be as we were on the 3rd floor.

We had cocktails in the hotel bar on the first night and you could tell the bartender took pleasure in his work - he was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about various concoctions he was making and talked us through our tastes etc. The ambiance in there meant we decided to book dinner reservations there for the next evening and the meal was also top notch...and quite reasonable for the quality of food as well.

The location was great as well - within walking distance of wherever you would want to go.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Great that you had a good stay, and that your trip was not ruined by unexpected last minute changes of plans. Sometimes they really work out for the best, right? ;)

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have spent many nights in some poor hotels in Amsterdam over the years; this is the 1st hotel with good size bedrooms, outstanding staff, combined with a quirky (positive) atmosphere. Breakfast was everything you need and the location is very close to the Dam. At last I have found a hotel that is value for money in Amsterdam with a bit of fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
We love that you had a great stay, and only sorry that you had to kiss so many frogs before you found your prince! ;)

Now you know where to stay every time you visit the Dam!

Until next time,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel V Nesplein for 3 nights in March 2014 with my partner. We had an extremely enjoyable stay, after a slight initial hiccup. At the time of booking we had asked for a quiet room on a high floor. Arriving late on the Thursday night we were given room 114 on the first floor overlooking the small square with a bar in the corner, which due to the unseasonably warm weather had many people drinking and talking outside. By 12.30am it had got louder and louder and showed no sign of coming to an end. Apparently the bar had been privately booked for a party until 2am, which would not normally have been the case.

We asked the hotel staff if we could change to a different, quieter room, as we had requested, but as they were fully booked they couldn't move us that night. The manager straight away offered us a free dinner in the restaurant the following evening and assured us that we would be able to move to a quiet 3rd floor room the following morning. He also said he would ask the owners of the bar if the noisier people could move inside. He must have been very persuasive as things did quieten down soon after! The next morning, the daytime staff had all been fully briefed and our new room was ready to move straight into.

I have to say I was very impressed by the way that the hotel staff handled the situation - they were very on the ball. A masterclass in how to treat customers! Far from being annoyed at the complaint, they could not have been friendlier for the rest of our stay. The hotel is clean and contemporary with very comfortable beds. The restaurant is also excellent, with delicious, reasonably priced food. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the square are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.