We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Had to visit Amsterdam on business and we stayed at the V Nesplein.
Great hotel and excellent staff; nothing was too much trouble for the young, energetic staff.
They were also very happy and pleasant to talk to; they really seemed to enjoy heir work.
The room was large and quite comfortable.
The bar and restaurant were excellent, open fire at the end of the bar and the food in he restaurant was good too.
Enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    111
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
225
19
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel V Nesplein to celebrate our anniversary. We were very friendly welcomed by the host at the reception and got an upgrade. Wow! Great & pleasant surprise. Retro designed rooms, vintage chairs, great mattresses on the beds. New and well cared of but with character. Bathrooms sober deluxe, meaning no frills, but nice design, modern classic I would say. Also well thought of, no standard furniture.
Had a cocktail at the Lobby (restaurant/lobby of the hotel). The cocktail menu could be more balanced. Now there were a lot of soda-type cocktails, good though, but I think an opportunity to improve that, because the lobby/bar is a very pleasant place to be.
Breakfast: definitely something to come back for. Delicious eggs benedict, nice bread & jam. Had tea, wanted to order another cappuccino, but the friendly staff was busy. Had to leave already. All n all wonderful experience. Will definitely recommend this to guests coming to Amsterdam. Location great: quiet, in the middle of the centre of Amsterdam, busiest shopping street 1 block ahead.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I spent one night at the V Nesplein - it's a very comfortable hotel, with stylish interiors and rooms, which I found very appealing. We had a great time in Amsterdam, and enjoyed our hotel room very much. Its central location came in handy when we wanted drop off a backpack or change shoes, or just to warm up a bit, we were always within easy walking distance. The staff were welcoming and friendly, even though our apperance didn't fit the usual clientele (young and upscale) very much. Thanks, Nesplein!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pijnacker, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Had a great weekend in this fine hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. Love the styling of the place, very classy & warm but als modern & smooth at the same time. Service was top notch and the spontaneous rum advice at the bar was a nice touch of personal service. The room was clean, a good bed and a fantastic shower. Would surely recommended it to my friends & family. Breakfast was tasteful and very relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful 3 days in the Hotel V Nesplein. We booked the hotel from the location, price, category and Trip Advisor reviews. It is new, spotlessly clean and with very good sized bedrooms, bed and bathrooms. All modcons including TV that also functions as a computer.
All staff were most friendly and welcoming throughout.
The food in the restaurant is superb and moderately priced - its essential to book as the restaurant is frequently booked fully well in advance.
The Hotel is located just off Dam Square and whilst it does not offer any real views the other aspects more than make up for this.
We will most certainly come back to the Hotel and will recommend it to our friends. We were sad to leave.
Peter and Marie, Dublin

Room Tip: We had a lovely room on 3rd floor (top) which is brighter than lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The staff was very friendly and I liked the design both of the lobby and the rooms. The design might not be everybody's cup of tea but it definitively was mine. The room was very clean, had a comfortable bed and was very quiet. In short: I got a new favourite hotel in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Fantastic central location (but still quiet), beautifully decorated modern room, great food in the restaurant and the staff are so friendly and helpful! The bed was ridiculously nice and the bathroom was beautiful. Such a treat to stay here! (GET THE BREAKFAST!!)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 202 which was a suite and it was beautiful but there's no view and quite looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.