We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in the heart of Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value in the heart of Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Had a great stay here. Only gripe was the service. It was friendly but incompetent in places.

For example we only stayed 2 nights and had breakfast there once. The waitress got our order wrong, forgot to bring us our bread/croissant basket and then forgot to bring us the bill when we asked for it. The bill was incorrect too but we were in a rush and I couldn't be bothered trying to correct it with her. She seemed more interested in having a conversation with a coworker than with giving good service.

It's a shame too because the hotel was really great otherwise! You shouldn't let this review deter you from staying here (we will stay stay here next time we are in town) but hopefullu the service is a bit better then!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    119
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
235
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel is close to the Old town as well as the famous Red Light District and the Station. It is in a quiet street, so you can sleep without the bustle of the city in your ears.

The hotel is new and very trendy with 'building' theme fittings. Rooms are exceptionally spacious and fitted with everything a traveller needs. Wi-Fi is for free.

The staff is very friendly, helpful and professional at all times. You can rely on them for advice and information.

If we ever return to Amsterdam, our wish would be to stay in the same hotel.

Absolute bliss.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

I LOVED everything about this hotel! The decor was just beautiful. I especially enjoyed the smell of the wood burning fire place in the Lobby. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The location was fantastic - it was in walking distance to all the sights. My room on the first floor was spacious, clean, and quite. The bed was very comfortable and the linens luxurious. There was great water pressure from the rain shower (sounds silly but some rain showers just don't rinse out the shampoo). I appreciated having the in room coffee/tea service. The only issue I had was that the bathroom mirror was hung too high so I couldn't see myself to dry my hair. I look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, and SO NICE to hear that you had a lovely stay! That is the first time that anyone has mentioned in a review the smell of the wood-burning fireplace. :) We also love that smell!
Will take note of your feedback about the mirror! Thank you!

All the best, and see you again soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The hotel is nice, particularly the lobby / restaurant which works well. The food is delicious and breakfasts great. I agree with most of the comments here but (sorry to be the first...) have some niggles:
We had a suite. For the price (340€ a night inc breakfast) we could have picked most of the high end places in town but liked the look of Hotel V.

Whilst the decor is cool and well judged in style terms, it lacks some things which you might not expect but you miss when they aren't there. If you're in a suite, it's nice to be indulged with some luxurious touches to make you not want to leave the room. We wanted to be out and about in town but also to lounge around in our room together and relax. That's what you do in a suite isn't it? Small things like a DVD player with a library to access, some music / iPod dock, a tv with more than the standard channels you get in any hotel, a minibar. Our TV was too slow and a long way from the bed.

If, when looking at the room photos, you are concerned they might feel a bit pared back / stark / hard, you'd be right. Some softer touches could easily solve this.

I could be wrong but it feels like the place has been designed by someone with impeccable taste but not someone who has designed lots of hotels. This is most apparent in the bathrooms which, for me don't work.

Firstly, you don't necessarily get a bath, even in a suite. We initially asked for one but preferred the room that didn't have one. In both, they've spent a fair amount on an expensive terrazzo floor, but the layout is broken into 3 cubicles, all of which are just half white tiled and white plasterboard with sparse fixtures.

Our bathroom had 3 big flapping doors in it which got in the way of each other. There's no underfloor heating so the bathroom was cold. The towel rail is in the shower so can't heat the other 2 spaces which are quite sparse and pokey. I don't know why they didn't just make one nice bathroom instead of 3 little spaces. It could still have been stark, but better put together. Also, because it's broken up into 3 spaces, only one has a window, the other 2 are dark.

The main bedroom was huge but lacking warmth. The heating isn't easily controllable. The bed was awesome.

In the right light you could argue this design is tough love in the name of aesthetics (which isn't always bad). But here, my conclusion was that the room just wasn't well thought through enough and needs more work to hang together well.

Overall, design intent is good but in its efforts to be simple, unfussy, and stylish, it could be accused of forgetting what good hotels do, which ultimately is to make you feel indulged. You feel that on the ground floor, just not in the suite (in our brief experience)

Apart from the above, we had a brilliant weekend and the staff were lovely.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein.
We are pleased that you had a lovely weekend, and we do appreciate the feedback that you have given.
Regarding the “softness” of the room and the bathrooms, we are very busy adding extra items, facilities and features. For instance the missing things you point out like a minibar and a music dock.
The hotel was only recently opened and is still improving every day.
Your suite was the only one that that had a bathroom that was designed with 3 separate rooms, which was something that we could not change when we began building (also the bathroom floors were not negotiable).
So we made do with what we had, but the other suites have one-room bathrooms, so next time try one of those!
Thank you very much again for all of your insight and feedback!
We do hope you find the time to come back again so that we can show you some of the other suites. There are 4 in total, so we hope to see you 3 more times for a comprehensive comparison. ;)

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights this week - had an amazing time! The staff were friendly and courteous and the room was lovely. I hadn't specified a double, and the first night there wasn't one available, so we had a twin, but we were changed to a double the second night, after I happened to mention it in passing to one of the bar staff, who took the time to speak to reception and get it sorted for us.

We ate in the restaurant the first night, and had a lovely meal - great food, drinks, and atmosphere. Highly recommended - well worth it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein, and good to hear that everyone took good care of you!
Hope to see you again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent new hotel with a strong design theme. Had a very small room which faced the opposite office block so the curtains remained drawn most of the time. Room was clean and well laid out. Fantastic location right near Dam Sq, very convenient. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review!
See you again soon at Hotel V Nesplein!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Great room, very trendy and bohemian.

Restaurant is cool, great music and atmosphere, trendy staff.

One receptionist was fantastic (don't know her name but she's part Indonesian), friendly, and helpful :-)

The other never smiled the entire time. That was the only downer from staying at a very cool place close to the main attractions.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein, and thank you especially for the feedback.

We have discussed the smiling issue and have decided to send that particular receptionist back to Smile Training Academy. She will be back once she achieves her Smile Certification.

In all seriousness, it is great to hear you had a good stay. See you again some time soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.