We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel, perfectly located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel, perfectly located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We really enjoyed Hotel V. I love an eclectic design, and this hotel delivers. It's big on personality and uses its space very functionally. The open "closet" looks like it won't hold all of your things but we had no problem fitting everything into the space. The staff were very polite and helpful, and the restaurant was really lovely, especially with the candles lit in the evening. We did not dine in the Lobby restaurant but we had a few beers and enjoyed the surroundings. I would most definitely stay again at Hotel V.
We were on the 2nd floor in a standard room that looked into the office building next to us. The view didn't really bother. I couldn't tell how tinted the windows were so I went ahead and closed the curtains while changing just in case the office workers didn't want to see anything obscene while eating their lunch. We could see the alley below and it was very charming, especially as a snap-shot of Amsterdam both during the day and nightlife.
I would recommend this to anyone traveling here I think it's a great location, we walked everywhere and didn't feel like we missed a thing!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    119
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
235
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We chose Hotel V on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it was a short walk to the Sofitel Grand Amsterdam, where we were to link up with friends prior to departing on a river cruise. On the morning of departure, we easily wheeled our luggage over to the Sofitel.

On arrival from Amsterdam Central station the taxi driver dropped us off at the entrance to narrow Nes Street close to Dam Square, explaining that it would be a short walk to Hotel V and he was right. In fact one of the best things about it is the location on a picturesque, quiet "alleyway" free from vehicles but yet right in the center of town. In fact we walked twice to the Red Light District without realizing it.

The staff were extremely nice to us and the rooms and bed very comfortable. The free WiFi worked well. Being from hot Florida, we appreciated the quiet and cool AC. The decor was somewhat quirky "industrial" modern and the hallways painted chocolate brown with a dark carpet, but the room itself was more neutral in tone. There is a good elevator so we didn't have to lug suitcases up the stairs.

The bathroom was nice. The only drawback was water from the shower would flood the bathroom floor with each use. There was no barrier under the glass enclosure to contain the water. We pointed that out to the desk at the end of the stay and hopefully they will find a way to correct it, since this is a newer property.

We didn't eat there so can't comment on the food, but the dining area looked inviting inside and out. The bar graciously provided us with ice each day. We would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor on Nes St. and faced an office bldg. There were no issues with nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel V has quality comfortable beds and bedding with no carpeting in the room which works for allergy prone people. The room and bathroom were clean with funky furnishings and better quality toiletries. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room had a view of rooftops and a window that opened. The location of the mirrors in the room are for looks and not so much for function as they are placed too high for not tall people. After the conversion to Canadian dollars the cost for non Europeans was a little higher than average however you are guaranteed a nice stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant, friendly staff, and superb pizzas&breakfast! The terrace, in alittle squere, is a pleasure place to stay.
The room was very good, large and confortable, although the air con was too cold sometimes.
Perfect location, near Dam and in a lively street with lots of brasseries and cafés.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very very beautiful hotel…is located in a perfect location near Dam e near Damstraat, 5 minutes to the central station, and in a quiet place…very comfortable hotel with a crew helpful and friendly….very good and very nice the Lobby, the restaurant bar with a very good breakfast. I hope to return one day in this hotel to visit again the Wonderful Amsterdam and its wonderful lifestyle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hotel V is a very cool hotel with fantastic interiour without (as many other design-hotels) going to far and only making it cool for a short time. The designelements in both rooms, reception, bar and lobby is tasteful and gentle and you feel welcome.
I did miss minibar and floor-heating when paying 230 € per night.
The location is extremely central, but I actually prefer other parts of Amsterdam better than this particular area.
The food and bar was excellent and the staff was friendly and relaxed.
When leaving the hotel the rain was pouring and I asked to buy an umbrella. The one that was sold to me was not new, but seemed forgotten by another guest which made me feel a bit cheated during my check-out.
All in all this is a very nice hotel and I doubt anyone that chose it would recieve a bad experience.
I might absolutely come back again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemboke, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Many plus points include excellent location, extremely friendly staff and generous breakfast. On the minus side room airconditioning cannot be regulated by the guest and no mini-bar. Overall very good value for a city hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.