We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #18 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This was a smart choice: new hotel, very good localization, friendly staff, charming decoration. As charming as the city of Amsterdam!
Highlights: the bathroom, specially the shower, free water and coffee replaced daily, the localization- very next to Dam sq but in a quiet street, central to all the key sightseeings.
Only one remark: avoid bedrooms that face the cgourtyard if you have trouble to sleep , specially at weekends, cause it can be very noisy due to the bars.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    100
    19
    2
    1
See reviews for
48
200
16
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

You will not be disappointed by this little gem in the heart of Amsterdam. Fantastic big rooms and the staff .... All young and eager to help in any way. Nothing is too much trouble.
This review would have been a 5 only there was no parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here only one night but if we ever get a chance to return to Amsterdam, we will definitely return. The rooms are a good size, clean, and comfortable. The shower was fantastic with great water pressure. The reception staff are super friendly and helpful. Best of all is the location! It's on a quite street but right in the city center.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at Hotel V Nesplein a month or so after it opened (June 2013). What a great find. Location is ideal. Service staff was excellent. Rooms are comfortable. The bathroom in my room was the size of average room in Paris :-) Breakfast was more than adequate and delicious.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travelled with my wife and had a wonderful experience (our first trip to Amsterdam). The hotel is located in the old city, just 2 minutes away from Dam Square. Close enough to everything (old city, red district, pubs and restaurants) not to find it difficult to get back to your room after the nigh-long party, but far enough to be isolated from the noise of the most vivacious streets of the old city.

The room is not very large but is enough for two people. We requested a king size bed but the room we got had two beds. We requested a room with king size bed which was unavailable, but the staff sheeted them somehow to make them look king size the second day. It has a (17") laptop-size safe which I found very useful for storing my MBP and iPad.

The breakfast is fixed menu (not an open buffet) and may be purchased in advance with your booking (which is recommended because you get it at a discount).

The staff is very friendly and prompt. Always smiling and ready to assist. I don't know if this is the dutch way or just they are like this, but I would rate them among the friendliest hotel staff I interacted with in my trips (and we travel quite a lot).

Room Tip: Book your room well in advance for best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baku, Azerbaijan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I've stayed there for my Birthday and it was nice to find a bottle of Champagne in a room :-)
hotel reception was very helpful, and kind. Nice location, very clean, bed comfortable, clean bathrooms
One comment no proper wardrobe ( just open shelves)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Great rooms. Super comfy beds. Central location, we ended up not taking the tram at all but walking everywhere. Friendly staff. Fab restaurant in lobby with outdoor terrace is full of local winers and diners. Makes you feel like a welcome guest. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsNL, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.