We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Friendly Hotel in good central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to -12% on our site!
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bern, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great and Friendly Hotel in good central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in the hotel and found the Hotel staff very friendly.
The rooms are very nice.
We had a room with a large bathroom. A beautiful rainshower and every day fresh towels. The Bed was just wonderful!! Breakfast was very tasty and sufficiently.
Our Impression was that the hotel was a little to dark. The trendy Hotel is located very central to the Dam Square 2 min. but in a quit alley therfore the designed deep brown colors makes it a little bit to dark

Room Tip: We decided to have a quiet Superior Room on the south side with a beautiful sight in a clean we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein. I guess a slightly dark and intimate atmosphere is what we were going for, as we are not fans of bright artificial light.
See you next time!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    247
    83
    17
    1
    1
See reviews for
39
177
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located in the centre of Amsterdam, literally round the corner from Dam Square. Helpful staff, lovely rooms - spacious and good air conditioning. The only negative is that there is a comedy theater on the same road, so when people are leaving, they are quite loud, but not really anything to be concerned about.

Room Tip: The rooms facing away from the NRC building are better, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights this week and found the hotel to be very comfortable with friendly staff. The rooms are small but have everything you need. The bed was great. Really comfy. The bar is good to hang out in for a beer at night and the breakfast in the morning was tasty. While the location is perfect for exploring the city from, you might need earplugs at night if your room is on the front of the building overlooking the Nes. While the overall soundproofing in the hotel is good (I never heard a thing from neighbouring rooms), you can still here people shouting in the street until around 1am. If you're a light sleeper like me, bring some earplugs and you'll be fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid any noise from the Nes at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein.
We are glad you had a nice stay, and sorry to hear that the people on the street were a bit loud! We do have complementary earplugs for the next time in case you need them! Until then...

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have been very pleased with this hotel, although at first look the room was not exactly what one would expect in a 4 star hotel: instead of a conventional garderobe, the room had a system of racks, made of steel pipe and wooden shelves. However, the bathroom and the room were spacy (plesent surprise in the Netherlands), clean, well serviced, and the bed was really comfortable. There is no minibar, but it did not bother us, as the hotel has an excellent restaurant. Our impression was much more that the place is an upscale Bed and Breakfeast rather than a classic hotel. There is no fitness club or wellness section, but we did not miss it. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly, and - in spite of being only a short distance from Dam Square, it was a quiet place. The restaurant, which offers a small, but excellent selection, has a terrace, and the place is popular to to locals. There are several good restaurants around, but we ended up dining in the hotel in most cases, because it was much less crouded than the other places, in spite of the good quality of the food. I can recommend the place to anyone who looks for a comfortably located place, but appreciates some privacy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and also had a few nice meals at The Lobby! :)

See you again!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Staff were wonderful. Bar was excellent-prices reasonable. Room was basic, but clean, what more do you need. Centrally located-easy walking distance to all the city. If you fancy a snack in the bar, try the biiterballs or bitterballen - hot crispy little balls of heaven.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your review! Glad to hear you liked the bitterballen! It's one of those few Dutch foods that one just HAS to try when visiting the Netherlands!
See you next time!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This beautiful boutique hotel could not have been better!
It is located right in the middle of Amsterdam by Dam square, within minutes or seconds to all of the restaurants, bars, shopping and sight seeing!

The hotel offers NO parking! So plan accordingly! It is located in a narrow street/ alley and has no actual driveway. There are some parking garages and public spaces around, but it is very difficult to find convenient parking. I chose the 'parking service' for about 25 Euro per day. The hotel called them, they came within 30 min, took my car and delivered it when I requested. Perfect!
Internet was free of charge, but we had a lot of connection problems and intermittent service.

Our room was very large and clean and the staff was friendly and extremely helpful.

The restaurant and bar area looked upscale and very nice, but we did not eat any meals or breakfast there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein! So happy that you enjoyed yourself.
But you are so right about the parking! We are trying to let guests know to call us when they are 30 minutes away so that the parking service can be here in time for their arrival. Then there is no need for finding a spot! That might make it easier for you next time.
Also, sorry to hear about the internet! Service definitely should not have been intermittent. We will look into that to make sure it doens't happen for others.
Hope to welcome you back again soon!
Until then, Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-l/02/84/80/b2/hethur.jpg

The hotel seems brand-new, good style of furniture, clean, friendly, with a very good atmosphere.
We had a good sleep at night, the surrounding was quite quiet. The dutch breakfast is ok.
We will choose the hotel definitely again.

Room Tip: the normal room was very good, the shower excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your review! You are right, we are brand new (open March 2013, so only 3 months open).
Hope to welcome you back soon!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.