We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously lucky find - fab new hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, Amsterdam 1012 KD, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to -12% on our site!
Ranked #12 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Ardgour, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Seriously lucky find - fab new hotel right in the heart of Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We didn't realise this was a brand-new hotel when we booked online - we just got a great deal, so to find that we'd also found possibly the perfect city centre hotel was one great big bonus. Fantastic public areas, quirky stylish design, and a location in a quiet street just two minutes from the main square coupled with really helpful, laid-back-but-totally-professional and friendly staff let us know as soon as we arrived that we'd landed on our feet. The rooms did not disappoint either! Cool decor, big shower with great water pressure, really comfortable beds - and decently sound-proofed big windows - win, win, win!

Congratulations on a great place and wishing the team all success in their first summer season.

Room Tip: We liked our room on a higher floor and looking onto the Nesplein.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Wow, what a sweet review! Thank you so much for leaving it.
What can we say- we are happy that you are happy!
Hope to see you back again soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    236
    80
    17
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
169
12
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel, staff were friendly and helpful, and the hotel and rooms were well fitted out and modern. The hotel interior designers have done a great job fitting it out. Location is excellent, not far from the action but on a quiet street. Wifi worked well and the rooms and bed was spacious. Free water was provided every day which was a nice touch.
Only minor negative, the rooms don't have a minibar fridge, which can be a little frustrating. Also the room is fairly dark but looks directly into the office across the street so it's hard to open up all the curtains and let some more light in.
Can't make any comments on the bar or restaurant but it was full both nights we were there so that was a good sign.
Make sure you write down the address because some taxi drivers didn't know of this hotel yet.
Overall, had a great stay here and would recommend it highly. Positives greatly outweighed any negatives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your review!
I will pass on your suggestion of a minibar fridge in the room to the management. Perhaps that is something that we can work on adding in the future.

Kind Regards, and hope to welcome you back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

This new hotel is perfectly located in the old town, in a quiet street lined with little independent theaters just off the busy Rokin. The palace on the Dam square is a mere two minute walk away; the central station 10 minutes. The staff at reception and restaurant is friendly. The interior is an eclectic mix of brownish retro-modern stuff; nice. I was upgraded to suite 202, a large and quiet corner room with lots of windows, large bathroom, retro furniture, a large Samsung tv with internet function, free wifi (fast enough), coffee machine. Nice bed. All very clean. Very good. Difficult to find the airco but I couldn't be bothered too much, it was quiet enough to open one of the many windows. The hotel has no buffet style but a menu breakfast, which was good and reasonably prices (though not cheap). I already liked the other Hotel V (avoid the cheapest basement rooms there) near Frederiksplein, but this is roomier and (even) better located.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
"an eclectic mix of brownish retro-modern stuff"
That is exactly how I would describe it too!

Thanks for the review!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, West Yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home after a three night stay in Amsterdam.

We received a warm welcome at Reception and were offered lots of advise about the city.

Our room was very clean, modern and comfortable. Free wi-fi during our stay which was reliable and fast.

We did not eat in the restaurant as we never tend to do during our city breaks. However we did spend the end of one evening enjoying a night cap in the bar. We found the bar staff both friendly and attentive.

The hotel is located just off Dam Square. Very central and close to all the action but not a noisy location.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Hotel V Nesplein!
Glad to hear you had a good time.
Hope we see you again!
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nahariya
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent 4 nights on this new hotel. We got our room even before the usual check in time because it was ready and after being awake almost 20 hours we could rest a little. Reception desk was extremely kind and helped us all along our stay with whatever we needed. Rooms are contemporary designed ,very comfortable with high end beds and bed linings. It sounds negligible but I found that there where some small comforts that make a difference such as a lot of outlets for charging our tablets and smartphones, and the highly reliable complimentary WI-Fi connection that never failed us. Breakfast was simply wonderful, such a vast choice of possibilities with excellent quality. We decided to have dinner in the hotel restaurant, usually I prefer to go to an outer restaurant but we were very tired. Dinner at the hotel's restaurant was a nice surprise and we were so pleased with the quality of the food and service as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving a review! The entire staff will be pleased to hear that you had a great time, and I will let The Lobby know that you enjoyed your meals there.
See you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel and the attentive staff. Its a good location for good food in the evening and the while city is walkable from Nes.
Funky rooms and nice restaurant make this place a little different from the usual hotel chains.
We had a problem with our TV and the waiter heard us at breakfast. He said he'd sort it and low and behold it was fixed. This is the sign of a well managed hotel where everyone makes a difference.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Glad to hear that you had a nice stay, and especially glad to hear that the waiter picked up on your TV problem. Indeed, that is what we strive for- the entire team working to make your stay better.
Thanks for the review!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We lucked into this hotel because they had not opened when we made our reservations. It is a little bit of a walk (10 minutes) from the Central Station, but when you get there you have a sanctuary to rest in and a bevy of activity just a few minutes away. The hotel is one and one half months old, so the rooms are fresh and new. Our room was modern, spacious by European standards and very quiet at night. The staff was great and we loved the Lobby Restaurant and Bar on the first floor of the building. All in all, it was an oasis in a very fun city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, Amsterdam 1012 KD, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.