We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic New Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel V Nesplein

Save Saved
You added Hotel V Nesplein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel V Nesplein
Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to -12% on our site!
Ranked #17 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
CapeTown,South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Chic New Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I am a big fan of Hotel V having stayed at the Frederiksplein Hotel many, many times. As luck would have it the Frederiksplein Hotel was full which prompted me to try this new offering. The owner Jan has outdone himself. The location is excellent for the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam, close to Kalverstraat ( great shopping ), Dam Square, Negen Straatjes and a good offering of Bistros, Cafe's etc. The rooms are huge by European Standards and it has a Chic yet Vintage Feel. The bathrooms are stark but in a nice way, with a fabulous rain shower. The overall feel of the hotel is decidedly vintage but with a modern twist. So no surprise that I spotted quite a few Amsterdam Fashionistas enjoying the Hotel Restaurant. The Restaurant prices are good value for money - certainly not a rip off and I enjoyed all the courses I had. Hotel V Nesplein benefits from the very friendly vibe of the staff ( same as Frederiksplein ) - They are helpful and seriously knowledgeable about what's happening in Amsterdam. If you want a groovy stay in Amsterdam, select this joint.

Room Tip: I always select rooms on a high floor. I was allocated a corner room which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    95
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
45
190
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel Staff are all very nice and helpful Our room was large and had everything we needed The bed was very comfortable Toiletries replaced each day The rooms and decor are quite unusual
The location is very central We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were impressed by the hotel from arrival, the staff were really nice. We were put in a room with two single beds pushed together so rang reception and said we had booked a double, so they moved us straight away.
Once in our room it was clean and stylish.
The hotel was very central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel was a real find. Very comfortable and courteous staff, in a great location.The rooms were spacious and clean, and the hotel facilities very good. Great find and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Being just off Dam Square, the location of Hotel V Nesplein couldn't be better. The rooms are very minimalistic, think 'new york loft' rather than clinical. Great walk in shower with Rainfall Head. Complimentary toiletries and hairdryer. Everything you could need.

Staff were extremely helpful. Check-in process was quick and efficient. The bar and breakfast service was of an equally high standard. Please note it's more continental then full cooked, but they serve you a choice of breads, soft boiled egg, fruit and cereal, was all very nice.

Would definitely recommend and would definitely return. No complaints.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed three nights in this brand new hotel and on the whole it was a very pleasant experience, slightly marred by the fact that we had requested rooms near, if possible adjacent, to each other and found on arrival that they were on different floors! However the reception was extremely friendly and helpful, as were all the staff, and did the best they could to change the rooms, although in the end this wasn't possible. Despite a few niggles it was an enjoyable experience. It's unfortunate that there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, and although we didn't mind the rather basic shelving and hanging rails instead of bureau and wardrobe I can imagine this might not meet approval with some guests. Beds and pillows extremely comfortable, bathroom spacious with huge bath, good towels and s superb shower. We didn't eat in the restaurant, apart from breakfast ( if you just want a Continental breakfast the Amsterdam Speedy is good value), because there were so many good restaurants around, particularly one little place just down the street. Altogether a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back or the side, as despite double glazing the noise from drunken tourists in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We can't say enough positive things about this hotel. It's so new we stumbled across it almost by accident - the taxi driver couldn't even find it! From the very beginning the staff went way beyond the call of duty to help us with our inquiries, phoning a number of art supply stores to track down just what we wanted. Our room faced a back alley but the wall had been painted green and lined with flower pots to give us something nice to look at. That's just one small example of how well they've looked after seemingly minor details. Dinner was delicious and again the service was impeccable. When you stay there make sure you ask Jan (one of the owners) about his grandfather Nescio, the well known Dutch writer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelv, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel V Nesplein, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hahaha! Did Jan tell you about his grandfather Nescio? Then you got to know us really well indeed!
Once you're in, you're in! Hope to welcome you back soon!

Amanda
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel V Nesplein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel V Nesplein

Address: Nes 49, 1012 KD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel V nesplein welcomes you to the heart of Amsterdam’s theatre district. Located just steps from Dam Square, surrounded by world famous canals, it is an ideal base for visiting the inspiring Dutch capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel V Nesplein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel V Nesplein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.